1998 Astro

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Astro

$826 - $7,814  MSRP Range

Review Score

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Chevrolet Astro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Astro Great Family Car, But Brakes Warp Too Fast

by Yakima Clipper from Bothell, WA on Tue Feb 28 2012

Had my 1998 Astro from 1999 to 2012 and put 115,000 miles on it without it ever letting me down on the highway in an out of the way place. Never even had a flat. Pulled an 18 foot boat with it and it does just fine with the exception of one thing. New front brake discs would only go about 1000 miles before warping, creating a pulsing brake pedal and pulsing stops. Other than that a great car. Lots of room, will carry a good load or seat 8. Two back seats come out allowing 4 X 8 sheets of sheetrock or plywood to be carried flat. Generally quiet and comfortable on the road. I really enjoyed owning it and can recommend to others with the exception of the brakes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Van

by Van Man from NY on Thu Sep 17 2009

I have owned 2 Astro vans, and each one ran without issue for ten years or more. The gas mileage was good too. The only minor issue I found was handling in snow. But when weight was in the rear it handled better. Our family lived well with these vehicles between traveling and soccer runs it did its job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

3rd ASTRO/SAFARI will miss them

by Astro/Safari from Wisconsin on Sat Mar 29 2008

This is my 3rd Astro/Safari and I have to say I am going to miss them. My first was a RWD and got stuck a few times and the last two were AWD which is amazing. I used them for intents not desingned for i.e. pulling 3000# boat hunting etc. and they all held up great. Head gasket went on current one but at 136000 miles so I can't complain. Exterior held up great on all. Only minor mechanical work. I actually used mine as a camper. Removed seats (heavy) and put a queen sized mattress in the back. Heat/air, lighting, radio, storage. All the luxuries of home. Just put my supplies in a tent. That way I could bring my boat camping. I love it and only reason I am parting with it is that I am getting a bigger boat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Van

by David from Indianapolis, Indiana on Tue May 04 2010

My father owned one and so do I. They run great and are excellent for long distant family travel. And with the recent rain they are high enough they dont get stuck in high water. Love the van, would buy this one but i already have one..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Runner!!

by Keep on truckin! from on Wed Jan 07 2009

I have had three of them and they work and run great! Great gas mileage for a truck!!! Heat gets hot in seconds!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Stay away

by Disgusted Astro Owner from Idaho on Thu Jun 12 2008

Do not buy late 90's Astros. They have have design flaws in the fuel pump which is in the gas tank. It will cost you about $1000.00 to repair by the time you pay a tow truck to take it to a garage. I bought mine used with 97k miles. Another 10k miles and TWO original Chevy fuel pumps have gone out. I found out that this is a common issue with these vans. Some people have even chiseled access hatches under the rear seat to allow easier access to the fuel pump when it goes out. The first words out of the last tow truck drivers mouth were "did the fuel pump go out?" Now I'm afraid to drive it. Anyone want an Astro - cheap?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

worst truck i have ever owned

by chevy hater from md on Sun Dec 21 2008

bought used 1500 5 months ago for part time job.it has been in shop three times now.gm should have gone out of business years ago.....stay away!!!!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very dependable. But a little limited on legroom

by DLane from Utah on Mon Jul 24 2017

This is a good band for dependability the engine has a lot of power there's not a lot of room for your legs being 6 foot tall I found this to be a little bit limiting but overall it was a very good van.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1