2005 Astro

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Astro

$1,969 - $8,245  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Astro

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Astro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Too bad they stopped making them

by Steve W from Kansas City on Sun Mar 07 2010

In the top 2 best vehicles I've ever owned. I put my Chevy Astro through tens of thousands of miles every year for 5 years on a delivery route and enjoyed the dependability so much I bought another for my wife as a family van. I wish they still made them

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What a Versatile Van Should Be

by termag from Michigan on Sun Nov 03 2013

We have owned 3 of these going back to 2000 and besides some minor problems with our first these are just good tough workhorses. Put over a 1OOK on all of em. With a little normal maintenance the 4.3 engines last and last. Sold our last to a friend who has 225,000 miles on it and still going strong. Why companies quit making proven vehicles like this drive me nuts.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I own this one

by Truckin'Gal from East Tennessee on Wed Feb 13 2008

While it is good for carrying people and/or stuff, I find it uncomfortable to drive. I am long legged and don't have alot of room or a place to put my big feet. The wheel hump is right where I'd tend to try to rest my left foot which puts my knee into the steering wheel area. While I'd recommend it to shorter friends, tall people should test drive carefully. Sure wish I could go for a pickup but I can make do and dream...ha ha.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Bought 2 Astros

by Cuz from Naples, Florida on Wed Dec 13 2006

I ordered a 2004 LT, and last year I bought a 2005 LS. Love the ride and especially the rear wheel drive and the towing capacity. I looked at several other models before buying the Astro. I don't like front wheel drive. Sad that GM stopped making the Astro. It's got a proven record for over 10 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great van , I would probably buy a new one today .

by bob from on Thu Feb 09 2017

So farrrr so good , no major problems . I have a 2005 , ( last yr made) .Bought it used in 2006 with 28000 mi on it , now has 120000 .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good workhorse

by Pool Man from Cross Roads, TX on Fri Jul 26 2013

I have driven my 2005 Astro cargo van for over three years and loved it. The V6 is very powerful, even when over loaded it gets up to highway speeds with ease. The sloped hood allows for great vision on the road. The van was very reliable. I only sold it because my business outgrew it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable and versatile vehicle.

by mk71396 from conroe tx on Mon Apr 10 2017

great for work or family. have been driving astro vans for years. use them for towing vehicles for my business. no problems.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great headroom

by Like the large minivan from Cleveland, OH on Sat Nov 29 2008

I'm disabled, and this is the only vehicle with the headroom for my cart. I can get out, reach the luggage rack, and can hold myself up to walk to the back, and get my cart. Even the Dutch doors are great, they don't knock me over if it's windy. Add AWD,and it can't be beat. Could get a full size van, but then you get 10 mpg. The Astro, or Safari, is the perfect ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This 2005 was the last year of AWD.

by Vantastic stealthier from Lake Tahoe, California on Thu Mar 15 2018

Affortable, dependable and AWD ....doing a conversion with lift, fabracated bumper/grill and camper interior. Rare option for 2WD Vans! 4WD conversions very expensive. In high demand for van underground.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1