2002 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

$1,429 - $11,957  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

30 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great truck

by davendodie from colorado springs on Thu Oct 20 2011

our experience with the avalanche has been overall great. it is a very roomy and versitile truck. the removable bed covers are a great feature when hauling items that would otherwise be exposed to weather or thieves. the interior is is very nice. I rated the interior a 4 because i believe GM could have used better materials (wood) for the trim on the Z71s and Z66s. The drivetrain of the avalanch is very reliable however the front axle seals have to be replaced about every 30,000 miles GM should revert back to the straight axle for the avalanches (and other truck) that have the off road package.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CHEVROLET IS ON TOP!

by Z71 from 732 on Sun Nov 30 2008

absolutely love it., went from a Chevy to a Cadillac and traded back to a Chevy and i bout a 89 firebird for a project car, absolutely love my Avalanche Z71. excelent commuter, off road, hauling truck. handles all conditions amazing with the optional auto 4WD, 4Lo, 4Hi, 2hi push button selection, snow mud rock climbing, back wood trails etc.. gas milage not so bad with an installation of a K&N Air system. wont trade it for anything else on the market. when it finally gives up the ghost ill buy another one. except maybe the Cadillac version, Escalade EXT. its the same thing just fancier. AMAZING TRUCKS!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all 'round vehicle on the market.

by IDstud from Rupert, ID on Thu Sep 29 2011

Bought a 2002 2500 Avalanche about 4 years ago when I discovered my Tahoe withthe 5.7L had a hard time pulling my Toy Hauler. The Tahoe would pull drop to 6mpg and would struggle to get to 50mph. The Avalanche uls at 80mph and gets 10mpg all day. Very versitle and the best tow vehicle I've ever owned. I average 12 to 13mpg highway and 10 to 12 around town. I guess it's not bad considering I have 496 cubic inches under the hood. Plus the cool factor. Wish they still made it in a 3/4 ton with the 8.1L. Guess since they don't I'll have to take care of my '02.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've ever owned.

by Elwagi from Northern CA on Tue Sep 06 2011

bought it new, just upgraded to newer model same color smae everything. Now I have 2 great Avalanche's and I will sell my first one to someone who can see the value in the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 avalanche 2500

by rb from wisconsin on Mon Dec 22 2014

by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. I agree with the person that said he had to take care of his 02. GM doesn't have any thing that will compare now. 245,000 miles going strong pulling 12-13000 lbs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Utility, Keeps on running..and running...

by danner from Denver on Sat Nov 11 2017

This vehicle has been a reliable performer. Capacity for cargo and hauling is fantastic. We put the rear seats down and opened it up all the way on many occassion to move items that otherwise would have required a moving truck. And there's SO MUCH more you can do with an Avalanche with after market fittings.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Finally went to Ford

by Works to support GM from Texas on Mon Dec 10 2012

Loved this truck when I purchased it new. Had several common problems while under warranty that GM had service bulletins on, steering, clatter on intial start, frequent burn out on daytime driving lamps. Also had issues with a sensor causing a stall on acceleration and rear end noise that were not common problems. GM shut off my OnStar when they went from analog to digital phones, you would think they would have wanted to upgrade for free like the phone companies did, considering what I was paying them to maintain the service...I suppose business decisions like that are why my money had to be used to keep them in business! Went with a Ford Raptor after being a GM customer for years. Hey GM, good luck with that Volt!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Happyhondacamper from Franklin,va on Tue Jan 23 2018

Bought new and kept for 17 years. Other than tires and batteries I never had to do anything to this vehicle. It's like the Timex watches it goes and goes and goes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

l love my avalanche

by Z71 Avalanche Northface from Marysville, Mi on Wed Apr 06 2011

best full size cross over money can buy. 5.3 vortec lots of power low end and at highway speeds for passing sunday drivers and stock 4x4 stance is very capable and comfortable to drive all year long.. plastic side panels and bumpers are great for protection against runaway shopping carts and weak or lazy people that cant control there own car doors... If you get a chance to buy one do it you wont be disappointed even with high miles like 150,000+ great truck/suv lots of room even for passengers taller than 6 feet tall in the back seat...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good to me so far

by 02 northface owner from Boston on Fri Oct 20 2006

E-Brake problem common on all chevy trucks including this one. Dealer handling it at the very end of warrantee period, so I am happy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Are you ready for a UUV? I am. Bring on the Chevrolet Avalanche. Never mind that the designation UUV, which stands for Ultimate Utility Vehicle, is grandiose. Never mind that the commercial featuring the poor schlemiel asking for change for a dollar is obnoxious. And never mind that the vehicle's given name, Avalanche, is rather inauspicious for something that's capable of fairly serious mountaineering.

The thought that went into this machine, and the brilliant execution thereof, shows the design talent that's imprisoned within the halls of General Motors.

Anyone who owns a home and can't afford full-time staff appreciates the value of a pickup truck. It would be great if you had the money and... Read More