2009 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

$9,652 - $22,176  MSRP Range
2009 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Avalanche

by Katherine from Pescadero, Ca on Wed Jun 03 2009

I've had an assortment of trucks through the years but the Avalanche is my all time favorite. Bought it in '08, so far have around 13K trouble free miles. It's sturdy comfy leather seats, excellent sound system, accurate handling and retractable steps make it pleasant driving. I haul a horse trailer with ease though parking can be challenging at times. Plenty of power, not bad on fuel (including flex fuel) and drives so much like a car I can get carried away. Handy bed opens into the back seat where you can haul long items like pipe or lay the rear seats flat and take a nap. I love this truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest and most reliable truck I've owned

by Bill from Chiefland Florida on Thu Jul 01 2010

We love our Avalanche. The ride is great, as well as the handling and fuel mileage. We average over 20 Mpg on the hiway, and 18 around town/combined. The turning radius is tight, and all-around performance is everything we hoped for and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle

by From car to truck from Mandeville, LA on Wed Oct 07 2009

I got my avalanche in January and I've put 30,000 miles on it already! It rides smooth and sits up high, compared to my previous cars. This truck is amazing, it's great for traveling, and comfortable for adults. I wouldn't buy anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loce My Avy

by Nick Vette from Golden, CO on Sat Aug 29 2009

I really do love this truck. Incredible styling and comfort. I have the LTZ with 22" wheels and it is a real looker. I have added additional wood trim to the interior to better emulate the EXT and added some chrome pieces to the exterior. I get compliments on this truck all of the time, most people hink it is the Escalade EXT. Save your money and just by the Avalanche, more bang for the buck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Avalanche

by Vinny from Buffalo, New York on Sat Sep 22 2012

The truck is great styling, comfort, it is everything I thought and more. I intend to hang on to because they are not producing them anymore.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big fan

by Guy from Stamford ct on Sun Jan 20 2013

Love the truck! GM needs to relaunch line! Would recommend to anyone looking for luxury, performance and a truck for your gear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

by Dad's truck from Fort Waynt, In. on Mon Mar 12 2012

The Chevy Avalanche has come a long way from the days of the Tonka Toy look of the gen I to the sleek, dare I say "Sexy" styling of the gen II's. The ride of my LTZ is amazing. Well to be honest it is so smooth it's almost boring. However the interior comforts make this one very nice ride. Now to be fair , it's not a Cadillac or a luxury SUV. But I am amazed just how nice this Bowtie sporting truck really is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Why I traded in a perfectly good 2009 Avalanche

by Avalancher from dallas, tx on Wed Jan 30 2013

It was an LTZ with less than 50k miles. Would have kept it except that the Avalanche model has been discontinued by GM in 2014. Had to get the 2013 while I still could.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort a pick-up can't match

by Beachbum from Annapolis, MD on Tue Mar 27 2012

i had been going back and forth between a quad cab pick-up and the Avalanche. Soooo glad i picked the Avalanche. Rides like an SUV and has a watertight covered bed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

smooth Bow-Tie

by ninety-nine percenter from Cincinnati,Ohio on Tue Feb 14 2012

Simply Marvelous! Majestic,sturdy,provocative,Quite Nice! Trim level determines your tastes for ambiance. A pleasure to drive, a Hall-of Famer on the highway!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3