2009 Colorado

Consumer Reviews

2009 Chevrolet Colorado

$4,973 - $18,357  MSRP Range
2009 Chevrolet Colorado

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Chevrolet Colorado?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

09 SPORT/LT3 CREWCAB FAST RADO!!!

by LO-ROD from Oahu, HI. on Thu Mar 26 2009

Great truck!! I traded in my 04 chevy avalanche to get this new toy. Me and my family are really glad we did. The right size for me, wife and two children. Small enough for my wife and powerfull enough for me... Really like the updated technology that this truck offers vice my 04 ava. So far, really good in gas mileage and reliable. Putting the truck to go use as my daily drive and also to have fun on the weekends doing some AUTO CROSSING in HAWAII thru the SCCA....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2009 Chevrolet Colorado

by Smiley from Mexico, MO on Tue Apr 14 2015

This has been a good truck so far. After changing the oil and adding "Seafoam" to the second tankful of gas, I got almost 23 mpg. I am having some troubles with fault indicators. But a GM service repairman assured me these problems can wait until I can afford to have them corrected. I enjoy the five speed manual transmission, which I've had on my two previous vehicles. The 2.9 L engine is a little under-powered for my taste, but the I'll take it with the good gas mileage. I like the pewter exterior color, and the charcoal/grey interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Drive

by golf enthusiast from Michigan on Fri Mar 08 2013

Very satisfied with my purchase. Good milage and has plenty of pep. transmission is smooth and shifts down easely with climing a hill or passing.Interior is comfortable and controls are easy to see and operate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this truck is like a rock

by coloradoman from mystic,ct on Tue Aug 16 2011

i bought a used 2009 chevy colorado crew cab z71 4X4 truck is awesome came with inline5 3.7 truck has plenty of power also came with optional 17" wheels truck looks fast sitting still and the cab is roomier than other makes/ model

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Colorado

by FROSTY from Breckenridge, Colorado on Sun Aug 28 2011

Great Truck!!! Performs well even at 11,000 feet elevation in the Colorado Mountains! Drives like a car, not a truck. Towing capacity of 5500 lbs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

D

by D from on Thu Jan 14 2010

I have tortured this vehicle which is a 5-inline. I go off-roading a lot. I definitely recommend the Z71 trim. It has amazing suspension. There is a lot of power so you have to develop a steady foot during the winter months. However with a steady foot this truck is unstoppable. you can go through nearly any terrain. I have survived trails that Tacomas and Frontiers could not complete.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Pickup

by Really Deal Colorado from Casper,Wy on Thu Aug 15 2013

Purchased a 2009 Colorado 2 weeks ago(actually identical to the red one in photos) 44k V8 Z71 and all I can say is that it has been awesome! The power in this little pickup is great and the ride is ok. But that is to be expected with the off road pkg. Live in Wyoming and grew up in Colorado. Snow is right around the corner so crossing my fingers that this truck won't let me down. I owned a 2008 Tacoma Sport Package 4x4 a few years back and loved it as well. The ride is smoother in the Tacoma and if it had the bigger motor I would have went back to it. Happy with what I have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good deal.

by Joe50 from Reidsville, Ga on Fri Dec 08 2017

So far everything I expected plus some. We bought it with some reservations due to the fact it had 100,000 miles. But it runs like a new one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Powerful Best Handling Truck

by bandit from Orlando,FL on Fri Dec 11 2009

Most Powerful Best Handling Truck I have ever driven! And I have driven Many trucks. The Handling Is superb and will run circles around any other truck. The powertrain with the V8 option is the way to go with its 300hp and 320 trq. It is hard to go wrong with that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoy my truck

by Gena from Ft. Myers on Thu Dec 14 2017

I really enjoy this truck. It's a crew cab, rides like a car and is comfortable. Has the great aspects of a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Chevrolet Colorado


For the 2009 model year, the Chevrolet Colorado took another step toward becoming the Silverado: It added a V-8.

There were a few more changes to the Colorado, though I'm not sure this "little" truck is really that small anymore.

My test model arrived with a crew cab, the $1,300 optional 5.3-liter 300-horsepower V-8, enough room for five people, a full-size bed and more features than a lot of cars. There were heated leather seats, a sunroof, XM Satellite radio and a $34,000 price tag.

While I believe there's lots of room for small trucks in the market, I have a tough time understanding why a consumer would spend this much money on a truck with fewer capabilities than its full-size brother and few real... Read More