2012 Colorado

Consumer Reviews

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

$6,969 - $22,333  MSRP Range
2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Chevrolet Colorado?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck!

by Bklynroad from New Jersey on Fri Apr 27 2012

Have had pickups both from Nissan & Toyota in the past. Those trucks offered a good ride ride & a good price. Nissan dealers will try to nogiate with you. Toyota dealers play hard ball with pricing. Test drove both the Nissan Frontier and the Toyota Tacoma & I test drove several times the Chevrolet Colorado and bought it with no regrets. Did not feel overwhelmed by the simple layout of the Colorado compared to both the Nissan & the Toyota. The accelaration in the Colorado felt quicker than the Toyota Tacoma. The Nissan was quicker. I do not need to win the Dayota 500. My needs are met by the Colorado 3.7 LTR engine. The ride is firm & not harsh in the Colorado. The seats are comfortable with the lumbar support & the standard sound system in the crewcab more then meets my needs. Add the personal audio link & you can use your I-Pod. The folks at the Chevy dealer were great & did not try to close me on the spot as the Toyota folks did. I got a great price along with a great ride from the Chevy folks and do not have any regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Made in America with American Heart

by Truck Driver from Lehigh, PA on Wed Mar 20 2013

This truck is the best value on the market today. I have been averaging close to 22 mpg on the highway with the 3.7 ltr engine.. 16.5 mpg on local driving. This truck is cheaper to insure due to the Onstar service that GM gives the buyer for the 1st 6 months. Had this truck for over a year. I do not have any regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice 4WD truck!

by PM from Vermont on Fri Feb 03 2012

I love my truck! It gets me through all kinds of snow and mud. I get 18 mpg around town and about 23 mpg highway. In 4WD I get about 16 mpg around town and 20 mpg highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

American Made with More American Parts

by Mid Size Trucker from New Jersey on Sat Nov 10 2012

Chevrolet has the highest amount of American parts of any midsize pickup truck made in America today. This is the best value for any truck made in America. Toyota dealers make their trucks out to like the BMW of pickup trucks and thus keep the prices high., Toyotas have cheaper sheet metal & they have numerous problems that the dealers try to hide. The Chevrolet Colorado outshines the Toyota Tacoma in being a good honest pickup truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love these things

by Bill Ski from Torrington, CT on Thu Mar 23 2017

This is the second Colorado for me. The first was a 2005. After 130,000 miles and nothing other than scheduled maintenance and normal wear replacement which is to be expected, I traded it in February 2017 for a used 2012 with only 38,000 miles. This is so far proving to be another great one, and I fully expect that after 130,000 miles on the clock I'll be out looking for another one. There is a good reason these are scarce in the pre-owned lots. I love these things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Truck all around!

by Windsurf1 from Fairfax Virginia on Thu Apr 23 2015

4WD Extended Cab 5 cylinder engine, Z71 package. This has been so far a great truck with no issues. I mean nothing wrong after a little over 2 years. Also hauls a 4000 lb camping trailer around pretty well for its size, and its off road ability is excellent. Its also a really nice looking truck in its proportions and it handles well. No complaints except gas mileage when pulling a trailer but that's to be expected. Otherwise decent mileage for a 4wd mid size truck. Id buy it again and highly recommend it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Little truck convenience with a big truck room.

by Gina Truck Gal from Pueblo, CO on Sun Apr 08 2018

This truck lets me travel like a big truck with all the bells and whistles, but doesn't make me feel like I'm driving a tank. Lots of room in the back seat so that passengers don't feel cramped, but it still fits in my garage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck for great price

by Gilley from Plant City, FL on Mon Apr 10 2017

I have owned my truck for two years and have not had to do any major repairs to it. Has 85,000 miles on it and still runs strong. I do a lot of driving for work so its reassuring to know that i have a reliable truck to get me around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good & Honest Pickup Truck

by Bklynrd from New Jersey on Tue Apr 24 2012

Bought a 2012 LT2 Crew Cab. It does not have factory extras that some of the other makers are forcing on their buyer.(eg: wheel locks, carpeted mats, door sills, etc) Had room to bargin for a price. This is a pickup truck the way it should be. If you want heated leather seats, navigation systems, etc, then maybe you should buy a car or a SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice value......good fit for everyday use.

by Spyder from on Sun Aug 12 2012

Practical, for general hauling. Ride is nice, gas mileage could always be better..... but then it is a truck. I find the interior and exterior a bit dated and understand there will be changes for the 2013 model. All said, the truck is a good value and I like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4