NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2014 Equinox

Consumer Reviews

2014 Chevrolet Equinox

$8,377 - $18,261  MSRP Range
2014 Chevrolet Equinox

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

195 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Chevrolet Equinox?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new car

by dj from Southern WI on Thu Dec 26 2013

I have the LTZ AWD 2.4L and love it. No Hwy trips yet but in the city I get 22mpg. The navigation is easy to use but was pricey. The lumbar support was a big plus in comfort. Also love being able to set the memory for 2 drivers and 2 passenger settings. Mine did come with the panel that covers the space between the seat and storage area. (Adds more storage space.) Pushing the back seat forward seems to take more effort than it should and can only be done while standing outside of the car. When all the way back there is an amazing amount of leg room. Plenty of leg and head room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Found the perfect car for me

by NowAChevyFan from Minneapolis, MN on Mon Mar 13 2017

I was searching for an SUV and drove every make and model in town before realizing that Chevy had a great contender at a great price. Wish I would have gone to the Chevy dealer first. The only issue I had is the heater fan went out two weeks after purchase and not covered under remaining (power train) warranty. Drove this car from FL to MN and loved it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BETTER THAN THE CR-V

by Dougie from Ottawa Ontario on Thu Jun 05 2014

Had the top of the line 2012 CR-V and the Equinox beats it hands down for comfort and the added extras. The GPS on the honda was described by reviewers as basic and compared to the Equinox it sure was. Having the digital speedometer which changes to MPH or KPH is very handy and not available on the CR-V ( is on the basic civic figure that out ) Mileage seems on par to the CR-V but my Eqinox is only front wheel drive compared to AWD on the honda. Overall I will take the Equinox any day and it's several thousand cheaper and better equipted.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exception Performance

by Jim from Wisconsin on Thu Jan 16 2014

Purchased 2014 AWD Equinox LTZ last month. Extremely pleased with the vehicle & the dealer. Upgraded to Larger engine, obviously M.P.G. not as good as with the 4cyl. Also own a 2013 Equnox FWD with the 4 cyl. so I have driven both vehicles extensively. Both are great, but the 2014 LTZ is an exceptional vehicle. Performs super in ice/snow/wet conditions with the AWD. Highly recommend this product !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Ride

by SGermaine from Summerville, SC on Sat May 06 2017

This is a good car. It's great on gas for a vehicle of this size. I love the economy mode as it helps increase mileage even more. My 6'2" son can sit comfortably in the back seat. A very smooth ride. Only downside is the ability to check the battery. I had to go back to the dealer because of the battery's location. No auto parts store could get to it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great overall SUV

by Caska from Lake Bridge, LA on Wed Jan 01 2014

The Chevy Equinox is the best I love everything on it especially how it drives gets me the greatest performance bought a four cylinder reasons because wanted more better fuel economy gets over 32 mpg very happy not paying more on filling up. Has all the nice features to it there is plenty of backseat room for 3 passengers enough room for support. Great handling smooth engine power (4 cylinder) effortlessly acceleration. Electronics are excellent I'm a 6'4'' person headroom is plus with a sunroof that was added no problem getting in or out great SUV machine...Quality has changed so much on these love my SUV so much power for a little crossover. Reasonably affordable highly recommend purchasing a Equinox. I own and drove a 2005 Malibu compared to what I am driving now the Equinox isn't nothing like an closed to be 9 year old car after years ago this new car has definitely grown from first early model of that year first introduced. Have a bigger family I'm a uncle, grandfather, stepfather, father in law whole family has been getting in it everybody loves he Equinox on loaded everything all the bells and whistles includes a navigation/Bluetooth like a living room on wheels really!!!Really comfortable ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Nhkc from on Wed May 03 2017

If I had to do it over again I would have gone with the v6 versus the 4 cylinder, though the smaller engine is surprisingly strong for its size. There are a lot of bells and whistle for the price. If you have a family I highly recommend this car. The only complaint I naught have is the lack of truck space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

we love our 2014 equinox

by adele from hemet ca on Thu Apr 13 2017

we just purchased a 2014 a month ago with 40k miles on it. so far our favorite car ever! so much style and comfort!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable SUV and good value

by IwannaZ from St. Thomas, VI on Tue Jul 18 2017

Owner for 1 year (AWD). Pros: Great on hills, reliable, good acceleration, nice stock stereo sound, roomy trunk, good legroom, tire pressure indicator, oil change indicator. Cons: Hate the automatic shifting implementation (button on the side of the shifter), the A/C settings randomly change when turning the car on sometimes, Bluetooth is phone only no music, could use bigger breaks for better stopping. Overall, I like the styling, and it's a great, cheap SUV that's reliable and has some great amenities for the money. It can handle steep hills, has lots of legroom for passengers and with the seats folded, it gives you ample room to transport what you need.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nox purchase

by emilyort73 from Brandenburg, KY on Tue Dec 10 2013

I recently purchased a 2014 Chevy Equinox from Logan Whelan at Tony Brown Chevrolet in Brandenburg, KY. I previously owned a 2012 Nox. I received new features with my upgrade such as heated mirrors, sunroof and a back-up camera screen. I get great gas mileage (27 so far) and am very happy with my purchase. I was pleased that this dealership actually chooses to offer an basic extended motor/transmission warranty at no additional cost to the customer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20

Our Take on the 2014 Chevrolet Equinox

Editor's note: This review was written in January 2013 about the 2013 Chevrolet Equinox. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2013 Chevrolet Equinox is a capable crossover with a sliding backseat that can flex and grow with your family, draping occupants in an interior that's more luxurious and spacious-feeling than many of its competitors.

When climbing in for the first time, my 10-year-old daughter exclaimed, "Mom, this is the coolest car ever! Can we pretty please keep it?"

Shoppers can choose between front- and all-wheel drive in any of the Equinox trim levels, which include... Read More