2001 Prizm

Consumer Reviews

2001 Chevrolet Prizm

$264 - $4,552  MSRP Range
2001 Chevrolet Prizm

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

19 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Chevrolet Prizm?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by Chevy Prizm from Sterling Heights, MI on Wed Sep 09 2009

I drove the car for 6 years and never had any problems. It is very reliable and fuel efficient car with great handling especially in the snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great everyday car

by Lsi from New York, NY on Sat Jul 30 2011

I've owned this car for almost two years, in which it has run excellent...very quite ride...decent power for a car in this price range...fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simple transportation, dependable, LSi features

by Roz the Prizm LSi from Lexington, KY on Sat Apr 11 2009

Bought used 2 years ago with 52K. Now around 87K. Only repair outside of regular maintenance items has been heater blower (incovenient, but didn't make the car unusable). Fuel economy is a consistent 33-35mpg no matter how driven. Drives like a little car. LSi has features of a midsize that are awesome (upgraded stereo, cruise control, power windows/locks, moonroof).

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid vehicle

by Happy Prizm Owner from Ankeny Iowa on Sun Feb 12 2012

Purchased 2001 Lsi in 2004. Now has @90,000 miles. Biggest maintenance problem was air conditioning failed two years ago and had to be replaced, but that was a comfort issue not mechanical. Still has a very modern look. Not as comfortable for big people or those with a growing family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

my chevy

by collosita from Noth Bergen. NJ on Mon Nov 25 2013

I bought this car brand new,good size,easy to use,properly mantained since 2001, now 59,000 miles later I am having issues with the motor RPM,on the last 3 months I have spent over $1000 on repairs. Main issues with the vibrations or low idle speed when engine is warm and I stop at traffic lights. Last change was thespeed idle control unit.Even now after the change the motor vibrates just the same or more. Need HELP.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

OK

by Joja from New Jersey on Thu Jan 02 2014

Simple A to B car. Not too comfortable, but will get you anywhere. My car has 140000 miles on it and engine has been running great.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 chevy prizm

by carguy from Yorktown Heights NY on Fri Apr 03 2015

Have owned a few prizms. They are affordable, reliable, and fuel efficient. Base models have features found in premium model corollas for less cost. Parts readily available at low cost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Former Prizm Owner

by Prizm fan from Dallas on Tue Apr 08 2014

This is one of the best vehicles for your buck that is still on the road. I don't know if this one has been taken care of but the one I bought was taken care of fairly well and I would still be driving it had it not been for my brother bugging me to let him buy it and finally gave in and bought a Camry. I have also owned a Corolla and the Prizm is exactly like th Corolla except it has a Chevrolet emblem on it! Great car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Drove it for 15 years - died of corrosion

by Upstate NY from Ithaca NY on Fri Feb 17 2017

I drove this car for 15 years, in Upstate NY . Used very little, it had 76 412 miles on it when it had to be junked. Despite it close kinship to the Toyota Corolla, the car contains different components, all of which disclosed themselves by failing prematurely . At 33 000 miles the air conditioning compressor failed. At 36 000 miles, the pivot bolt (part of the serpentine belt tension system) broke and to extract the broke part in the cylinder head the engine had to be lifted up. The exhaust fell down at 39 000 miles - on the way to a wedding , no less. The front rotors warped every 30 000 miles or so. The Brake lines failed, catastrophically, at 54 000 miles (a salt trapping design weakens both lines to the rear at the same point mounting point so when one line blows out the other goes at the same spot). I had a total loss of brakes - save a weak hand brake At 55 000 miles the speedometer failed (the cause was failure of the line between the computer and the speedometer). At 58 000 miles the ABS failed. A new DELCO unit failed within 3 weeks (The Corolla ABS is entirely different from the Delco 5). at 73 000 miles the catalytic converter rusted through at the front flange. By the time it was replaced it was a $ 1000 bill . At 75 000 the brake lines failed - again. At 76 000 miles the gas tank started to leak - the straw that broke the camels back. Basically, this is car that can not be driven in an area with road salt . It's corrosion resistance is abysmal. The only good parts in it are the Toyota made ones. The engine, save the pivot bolt, is fabulous. The horn, too, because that part is made Toyota. Salt or not it lasted Very clearly, GM took the cheapest suppliers for components for the Prizm This Prizm is NOT the same as Corolla. In a climate like the Silicon valley the car would probably last. In Upstate NY, electronic and mechanical units unshielded from salt spray below, led to numerous and sometimes life threatening failures (The polymer shield for brake lines to the rear has periodic inch sized openings making it a perfect salt trap - an idiotic design)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

noisy but quite dependable 30-35 mpg regularly

by car enthusiast from Augusta, Maine on Sat Jan 06 2007

Good, cheap car, dependable and economical, seats could be better. excellent handling for an economy car. Great brakes. I had to put a clutch in it at 60K when I bought it, but it was probably abused by the previous owner as it was a leased car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2