Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1998 S-10

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chevrolet S-10

$230 - $7,810  MSRP Range
1998 Chevrolet S-10

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

keeps on keepin on

by slow driver from san jose, ca on Sat Feb 27 2010

basically a good vehicle. not fast. less than average amount of power especially in the higher elevations. reasonably good fuel economy. falls apart slowly, 3rd door handle broke twice, seats are not awesome, since 98 replaced alternator, exhaust system with catalytic converter, oil leak repaired and with 167,000 miles it still seems to be doing well.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Truck We Have Owned

by Wenster from IL on Fri Dec 28 2007

The truck Rides nice.....bought it in 2000 used Great condition.....STILL RUNS LIKE A CHAMP! Four wheel Drive Works Great!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable little utility truck

by Small town woman from Douglas County, Oregon on Wed Feb 08 2012

My husband bought this truck in 2000, having owned an older model before that. We used it for everything for the first 7 years we had it. It was cheap to keep and cheap to run, and the interior styling and transmission were more like a car's. Then he passed, and now I use it as a utility vehicle - dump runs, taking the dogs out for fun, and for everything when my main car is not usable for whatever reason. Have spent little money on repairs, just ordinary maintenance. It gets about 22 mph city, 30 or more hwy. I don't use it for road trips because the ride isn't particularly conmfortable. However no way would I sell it as long as it runs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this litle truck

by J from Fl on Sat May 31 2008

Low on power!!! but like the gas mileage !!! If you want to tow (give it up) This truck coul'd not pull A tea-bag out of a cup But over all it's good basic transport. It halles more then you think it will in the bed. This truck is just a small car with a bed on it. knowing what it wuz prior to buying it. A'm happy whith what I got for my money. Good baisic little truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bow tie man

by Bow tie man from L.A. on Sat Mar 10 2007

Best truck Ive ever had. Owned many s 10 s in the past. They just keep getting better with time. Woul buy another s 10 in the future.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned for 10 Years

by Chevy Fan from Cincinnati, Ohio on Sat Jul 05 2014

I've owned the 2.2 liter five speed manual version of this truck for ten years. It is dependable and reliable and mine has 175000 miles on it. As long as you keep up on the oil changes and maintenance this truck should easily run 250000 miles on the original engine and transmission.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome little truck

by Jacob from Austinville,Virginia on Tue Sep 05 2017

I got this truck as soon as I got my drivers license. Like any teenage boy your gonna be rough on vehicles and the s-10 did great. Even so much as when my little brother got his license he got to drive it too. I recommend this truck to anyone they run forever

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Truck

by Rollin' Stone from RI on Sun Apr 15 2007

Great Truck, plenty of power with the 4.3 litre V6, LOTS of room, for a "small" truck, with the extended cab.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Realiable Vehicle

by compact truck owner from Dracut Massachuttes on Fri Nov 25 2011

its just been the best Vehicle Ive ever owned. it does anything a full sized truck can do and fits into any area that a large truck can't get into I wish Chevy Kept the model going.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun truck

by old guy from western washington on Thu Dec 12 2013

this truck is just fun to drive. It has all of the options an old guy could ever want including a C.D. player and a separate tape deck! It's definitely a "go anywhere" machine and the bucket seats are very comfortable. access to the cab is easy with the truly adjustable steering wheel. Am looking forward to the roll out of the Colorado P.U. next year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Chevrolet S-10

When we think of trucks, we think of cowboys, not high school kids who want a status vehicle or moms who are sick of minivans. That's why the 1998 Chevrolet S10 with the ZR2 sport performance bundle is so appealing. Even though it's a compact, the S10 honors the true nature of that most American of vehicles with a practical, workhorse spirit - plus it can handle an offroad workout with ease.

Despite its merits, Paul argued that a Ford or Toyota truck might be a better choice. Here's why:

He: OK, put me on the spot right from the start, huh? My point is, if you're simply shopping for the best-built compact truck, I'd stop first at a Ford or Toyota dealership. All right, I've got that off my chest... Read More