Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 S-10

Consumer Reviews

1999 Chevrolet S-10

$721 - $8,329  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever

by JW from KY on Tue May 12 2009

I have a 1988 s10 2wd i bought when i was 16, i am now 28 and i still have the truck and drive it weekly. it has jus shy of 600,000 miles on it and still has same motor, has never been rebuilt. the trans has been replaced but i have really beat on the truck and hauled stuff that most people would use a 3/4 ton for. i will recommend anyone to buy a s10. they are very much worth the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

by mlsouth from Arkansas on Sun Jun 14 2009

I have the 2.2 4 cyl. step side, and it is one of the most reliable vehcles I have ever owned. It has 150,500 miles on it and at least the much more to go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value

by Average Driver from Lees Summit, MO. on Fri Nov 20 2009

I have the 4.3 liter, 4x4, X-cab. Bought used 7 years ago with 22K miles; now have 95K. Really like the truck, but it's had it's share of problems... Replaced catalytic converter, ball joints, idler arm, water pump, oil cooler lines, left wheel bearing, and the brakes. The float on the fuel gauge is bad but haven't replaced it yet. Oh yeah, the seat adjuster handles for both seats have broken and I'm looking for replacement handles. May sound like a lot of problems, but considering that it's a work truck and I don't baby it, it's not so bad. Runs and drives great, doesn't use oil, and gets good gas mileage (18 city, 22 highway.)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck

by The Bandit from on Thu Jul 30 2009

I have owned two s-10's and they were better then any other vehicles I have ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Okay truck

by Dimeowner from Morristown, TN on Wed Feb 06 2013

I own a 1999 s10 and it was an okay truck up until about 156,000 miles. By then I had to have a new fan clutch, it was fine for another 4k miles, then had to have a water pump. Drove for another 10k miles then I had to replace my blower motor, my heater coil, AC Relay, and 2 of the 3 switches on the inside of the vehicle, dash is falling apart, drove it another 300 miles and it needs a new fuel pump, drove it for another 3k miles, had to replace my clutch and slave cylinder, drove it another 500 miles and it spun a rod bearing and is going to need a rebuild or new engine. If you need a dependable vehicle with minimal mechanical issues a S-10 is not for you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gets me to Work on Time Everytime

by Rich from Pittsbugh PA on Wed Mar 18 2009

Great truck No issues used for work and side jobs never left me hanging got a smal exhaust prob right now but in 3 years only prob I ever had besides normal maint like brakes and oil changes I run mid grade gas and use castrol gtx Oil Very Depandable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great first car

by iloves10s from on Sat Feb 28 2009

These cars last forever. I've had one for 4 years and never had trouble. They also look great! Great for new drivers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Design For The Time

by Vernon from Houston from Clearwater, FL on Mon Nov 02 2015

The 4.3 Vortec is very reliable, surprisingly powerful, and smooth, My truck was purchased new in 1997 and now has 200K on the odometer with under $2000 in repairs. No problems for the first 140,000 then it needed some repairs, being I like the car to run well and it has been such a great car, I went all the way and replaced the front end suspension (very affordable), fuel pump, water pump, radiator, a couple of sensors, a couple of gaskets and the a/c compressor. The paint is in great condition and no problems with the interior (except for the seat handles and 3rd door handle which was under $20 to repair. I I think I will keep it for another 200,000 miles..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good truck

by john262 from topeka kansas on Wed Dec 06 2006

iv had this truck for almost 8 years an has 200,000 miles with little problems . bought it used with 32k for 13 k spent 2k for repair off an on way down the road . its an awesome truck , 4.3 2wd 99

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST RELIABLE VEHICLE I EVER OWNED, AND ECECONOMIC

by MIDNIGHT from phila pa. on Sat Aug 11 2018

EXCELLANT, MUST DRIVE TO APPRECIATE, STARTS UP EVERY DAY NO PROBLEM, GETS GOOD GAS MILAGE, RIDES LIKE A LIMO, HAS NEW BATTERY, BATTERT TRAY, TUNE UP, FRONT AND REAR BRAKES, NEW FRONT ROOTERS, NEW BRAKE LINE AND FLUID, NEW AIR CLEANER, ENGINE OIL AND FILTER, TRANS OIL AND FILTER, LUBE, TOPED OFF REAR GEAR OIL, NEW WIPER BLADES, NEW INSPECTION. $2,900.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Chevrolet S-10

The 1999 Chevrolet S-10 Xtreme was so disappointing, it reminded me of Gloria.

She went to St. Mary's Academy, a black all-girls Catholic high school in New Orleans. I went to St. Augustine, the counterpart for boys.

I had a crush on Gloria. She was pretty, hot and tempting, and she liked me, too. We had a date--a school dance, one of those events where nuns and priests walk around keeping male and female bodies apart. Didn't matter. Gloria winked, smiled, nodded and squeezed my hand in a way that only a teenage boy could love.

... Read More