Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 S-10

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet S-10

$1,193 - $10,061  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet S-10

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

20 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I have owned

by Arizona girl from Arizona on Fri Apr 09 2010

I purchased this car new in 2002. I drove it for 8 years(just sold it) and never had a problem with it. It was a very reliable truck. I am happy I purchased the V6 4.3 L.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It IS "the most reliable car I've ever owned!"

by GMRetiree from Ohio on Tue Jun 17 2008

Base model...32,000 miles...body still perfect, even the paint still is glossy..after 6 years of NE Ohio winters w/salt. Never had a mechanical problem or any problem period. 5 speed manual gets EXCELLENT fuel mileage for a small truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great trucks

by Plum Puddin from Louisiana on Mon Jun 30 2014

I don't understand why GM quit making the S-10. I have two of them, a 2002 and a 2003. That little 2.2 liter engine is a HOSS and the fuel mileage is great. One of my trucks has 29,000 actual miles on it and the other has 129,000 actual miles and I've done nothing except change the oil, lube and put new brakes on!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Found treasure

by AZracer from Gilbert AZ on Sat Apr 14 2007

Just purchased a 2002 Chevy S-10 LS pickup with Xtreme package. Older truck, yes but very sharp. With only 32K miles it runs and handles like a dream. It may not be as refined as some of it's Japanese competition but I was able to find a sweet deal. The competition often holds it's value too well, making a used purchase less attractive when compared to buying new. Lots of options available

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable! S10

by Jasper from Arizona on Mon Jul 31 2017

Overall Great truck good on gas reliable and fairly priced. perform well for there size. can Tow with no problems! Chevy made a strong One!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect homeowner p/u

by bunghole from manchester nh on Sat Sep 22 2018

Used for towing jet ski, trips to home improvement store for supplies, trips to transfer station to dispose of items, junior moving van, and plowing driveway

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by TTCamino from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on Wed Apr 16 2014

This is a Crew Cab 4x4, plenty of room inside for 4 or even a Babys Car Seat. Quiet inside, also rides smooth. Plenty of power for the Hills here in Pennsylvania, i do not pull anything with it. If you have ever had a GM Truck you know that the brakes are not "Sensitive", you have to push a little on the pedal. Not a problem, just a statement. This is a Great Reliable Truck with the 4.3 v6.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Im still own this 2002 S10 great power no issues.

by rober from California on Sun May 13 2018

buy this 02 S10 new 0 miles and today after 16 years with me is still the powerful engine that was when I had 0 miles, what a pity that they stopped producing it would buy another S10.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by kphillips7 from Burton, Michigan on Tue Jun 13 2017

Somewhat easy to work on, all the parts I can still buy brand new for it. Such a bargain for the amount of Truck I got.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hardworking Utilitarian Truck

by Pete from NJ on Fri Jul 14 2017

One of the last true "compact" trucks sold in North America, my 2002 2WD Chevrolet S-10 has not failed me once. The venerable 4.3 Vortec V6 is a tried-and-true power plant that although unrefined when compared with modern vehicles, it is extremely reliable when regular maintenance and care are provided. The vehicle interior is spartan, the way a true work truck should be. There are no heated seats or adjustable pedals here; my S-10 is equipped with the "GM Poverty Package" which can be summed up as cloth seats, rubber floors, AM/FM stereo, and “power nothing”. The interior is comprised of the Fisher Price-Grade plastic that many 1990s through early 2000s GM vehicles were known for but that is not necessarily a bad thing in this application. Interior pieces while rock solid to the touch will stand up to the punishment that most work-focused owners will dish out. There's plenty of cab space for smaller people (I am in relatively good shape and under 6' in height). However, larger drivers may want to opt for a base model Silverado or Sierra solely as to have some room to breathe. The bed is by far my favorite part of the vehicle. As stated earlier, this truck was produced before compact trucks were injected with steroids so the bed is at a convenient, relatively low height. It is convenient and easy working off of a tailgate that is about waist height versus a new truck with a chest high tailgate height. If you can find a nicely maintained used model with the 4.3 Vortec it will take care of you for years to come.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2