2012 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$3,437 - $38,149  MSRP Range
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

71 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

LT is the best bet

by tab from Canton,OH on Wed May 23 2012

The LT trim is very sporty.Holds the road. Very smooth ride. Turn radius could be better. Bridgestone tires are very good. Much better than Goodyear AT or ST. 18" wheels ,Z71 shocks give this truck a very nice ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Silverado 1500 2012 LT

by JacknApes from Brentwood, CA on Tue Jul 24 2012

Purchased this slightly used current year Silverado regular cab LT truck from local dealer. The 20 inch tires definitely add style and the LT version a nice upgrade from the standard WT. If gas is not an issue, this is an excellent value for 25k. I only wish Chevy had made the surround front bumber real chrome steel instead of chrome colored plastic. Disc brakes instead of drum brakes in the rear would have been better as well. Over all 4 stars.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, but not great

by Mike the disappointed from Somerset, KY on Mon Nov 13 2017

The truck size and functionality is very good. However, I believe they are over priced. But these days, what vehicle isn't? Trucks are the worst. The 5.3L is the SMALLEST engine I'd recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Greatesst amount of options

by Trucker from Kansas City, MO on Tue Sep 04 2012

The Silverado offers the greatest amount of options of any truck in its class. You can get a truck as plain or as dressed up as you like with options like cooled seats and a sunroof.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Silverado LT

by Shortremover from Pineville, NC on Thu Oct 10 2013

Only had this truck for 2-months but so far it has exceeded my expectations. Comfortable with plenty of power. No regrets with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great upgraded silverado

by jimmy2ems from Alexandria, VA on Sun Aug 26 2012

I bought the 2013 ltz. Comes with a great stereo package. Onstar is a plus. The auto-shifting rear view mirrors lets you look at the curb near your rear tire. A stellar innovation. Should have opted for the rear view camera with radar but it wasnt on the one i bought. The suspension is good for a truck with 18s. For the price, its a good upgrade to a regular old chevy 1500 silverado. I give Chevy a 5 on the LTZ

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck i've owned to date.

by TXTechFan from Lubbock, TX on Mon Nov 27 2017

I've owned many trucks. Ford, Dodge Chevy. They all have there pros and cons. But the newer Chevys just look tough. and they have the muscle to match. Great towing power and the bed on the extended cab is about a foot longer which is just enough to get all my supplies in with the new tool box I installed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just purchaced it used

by KennyK from Muskego, WI on Wed Oct 18 2017

This truck was what I was looking for. It drives great and has plenty of features that I like. I plan on keeping this truck for a long time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Silverado

by Black Pearl from Chula Vista on Thu Mar 23 2017

Bought this vehicle with low mileage and was skeptical about the gas because it's such a big truck. I have to say it's doing very well considering I drive 46 miles a day. I went from a KIA Optima to a Crew Cab 1500 Silverado and I wouldn't go back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this truck

by JR from Fort Dodge, Iowa on Thu Mar 16 2017

Really like this truck. Exactly what I wanted. Have ability to accessorize and make it the vehicle I want. Pros Like the 4WD and room in the extended cab. Cons gas mileage and dark color makes me clean often but that part of the fun. (Looks sharp after Wash) Able to watch videos online on how to do just about anything on this vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500


Photos by Mike Magda

Configured as an attractive and adept personal pickup, the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ 4x4 offers an appropriate measure of luxury and convenience without gadgets and commercial themes. The downside is an understandable compromise in capability.

This "image pickup" appealed to many non-traditional truck buyers in the days of reasonably priced gasoline and a steady economy. Although demand is down, it still offers the working-hero persona of a four-wheel-drive truck, the versatility of a four-door crew cab and the comfort of a Chevy Tahoe. These buyers don't care if the cargo bed holds a loveseat but not a sofa with the tailgate up. It will still transport the family and... Read More