Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$1,733 - $17,349  MSRP Range
2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

10 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Friends bragged about theirs

by Dieselpro from SC on Mon Jun 28 2010

So I bought one and will never go back. Hands down the best truck on the market. Unbeatable, best truck in comfort, reliability, and it looks mean. Can handle anything you throw at it and more. I can pull 7 tons, set the cruise at 60mph through the mountains and it never has to downshift, just goes. Hardly noticed the load. The Duramax is the quietest diesel out there. And the Allison transmission is about bullet proof. Will never leave you stranded. I've crawled up 60% grade in 4wd, didn't slip at all. Was like it had Velcro for tires. Excellent truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best old truck i've had

by 8.1lmonster from Bristol,TN on Wed Jul 06 2011

rides smooth,more than anuf power with 8.1L vortec with 6 speed manual. perfect for towing and hauling. one of my co workers has a 2006 ford f 250 6.0 L power stroke we tested our trucks head to head and in payload my chevy could haul more and didn't raise up in the front and didn't drag the ground in the rear with a trailer loaded down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wasn't sure what to expect.

by SirGeddyOfLee from Fort Smith, AR on Thu Nov 02 2017

2001 Chevy Silverado HD2500 LS with the 5 speed automatic Allison transmission and the huge V8 8100 Vortec. Had my heart set on trading my 2009 Chevy Silverado for a Tahoe, but found this little gem. Was not in the best shape cosmetically, and has had a few tweaks to it. The stock exhaust has been changed, and now has a shorty shotgun style that has a low hum at 50mph. She has a laundry list of things that need to be replaced and fixed, and was driven hard. However, despite all that, she still has plenty to give. The MPG is about the same as what my 2009 was given me (14CITY / 19HWY) and she does run a bit hot on the long commute (3 hours drive.) As far as towing, I am not sure. Signs have pointed that she was pulling 5th wheel duty for a while (custom rigged trailer connections)so I am sure she could tow anywhere from 10.5k to 12,000 lbs easy. All and all, I am very impressed despite the hard mileage she has had (almost 200,000) and I hope that with some TLC, she will be able to do that, and more.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toughest truck I've owned!

by Morris the Super Truck from Forest City, N.C. on Fri Aug 08 2014

I have hauled 3,000lbs (seriously) of scrap metal in this truck, and this vehicle really did well! And the 6.0 engine moves this ride with power and style. The truck has a utility bed with a lift gate. It has been THE BEST investment in a truck I have ever made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Silverado towing machine

by Silverado deisel 2001 from Dayton Ohio on Wed Apr 11 2012

The 01 Silverado diesel is a great towing vehicle. I would recommend it to anyone who needs true power combined with realibility.a

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever

by B-man from Myerstown pa on Tue Jan 16 2018

Love this truck, I take this Chevy 2500 all over on hunting trip and could not be happier with the way it drive's and never causes trouble.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck i have owned... period.

by RAZ Lawn Care and Landscaping from on Thu Jul 28 2011

I drive a 2001 Chevy Silverado 2500HD with the BEASTLY 8.1 big block and the 5 speed auto Allison tranny. bought the truck with 25k miles on it. I get better gas mileage in the city and on the highway than i did with my 2005 Ford F150 with the 5.4 which only had 38k miles on it. both trucks are/were very well maintained. I got 12 mpg city and 14 highway (not towing) before i did any modifications to this truck. After installing a cold air intake a more open Cat back exhaust and a programmer, i now get 13 TOWING a 3000 pound trailer in the city and 15 highway. The basic stats were more than good enough but i always try to get fuel economy. at 340HP and 455 FT LB torque stock, it was an animal. after the 3 simple mods i am getting 403HP and 572 ft lb torque. more than enough power to blow away any diesel. i love this truck just wish it was a little fancier looking likealtoona, PA the new trucks are.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Transfer case is a big issue

by eifeldude from Rapid City on Tue May 03 2011

These trucks (1998-2004)are plagued with transfer case issues. It is a known issue for GM. The problem is, is that the internal pump knocks a hole every time you shift from 2h to 4h (push button model) from the inside to the outside of the case and leaves a small hole. gear oil drips out almost undetected and then causes the transfer case to fail. for 99% of people it is too late and the NP 263HD transfer case is a write off.There is a service tech on this, and also a fix but GM refuses to pay for it. Another issue with this truck is that they all tend to burn a little oil, and this is considered somewhat normal operation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

the exhaust. bolts suck

by paul from panama city fla on Sat Jul 08 2017

Pulls great but the rear end chunk slips their is not enough corrison protection. Exaust bolts break.and i fell gm should have a recall on them iread on line that a lot of 6.0 and 5.7 trucks have this proublem. Makes me want to buy a ford.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first truck ever purchased was a great value

by Werkeatsleep from Orlando,fl on Tue Apr 25 2017

Truck is in great condition and dealer I purchased from was easy too work with and honest about everything

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1