Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$3,448 - $17,672  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

10 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong

by webe1959 from St Louis, Mo on Tue May 12 2015

Bought mine literally as it was coming off the hauler. Has the Duramax with Allison transmission and 4wd. Truck still runs great and continues to perform as I need. Tow a 5th wheel 38ft camper through the mountains and am surprised how well it works without an exhaust brake. The tow/haul works just fine only needing to use the brakes in very steep conditions. I hope to see 500,000 or even 750,000 miles with it. We shall see. Best investment I made.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by Amaris from Indiana on Sat Jul 07 2018

It’s not my first truck but is my first 2500hd diesel. It had 228k miles on it when I purchased it. Naturally, buying something used with higher mileage, there’s going to be things wrong that need fixed. 12k miles in owning it and all I have done so far is change the oil. I need ball joints and u joints changed soon. It smokes a little and has an oil leak that will get fixed too, but overall I’m super happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Truck I have owned

by Adam Z from Ohio & Pennsylvania on Tue Jul 04 2017

I have a regular cab with the 6.0 gas engine and a manual transfer case lever on the floor. Truck puts out good power and has a rugged, commanding stance that rivals the other trucks from that year range. I have 116K on it and have loved driving it. It makes the perfect vehicle to haul my tools, trailers, gravel, mulch, wood you name it! The only complaints I have with it are the interior. My particular model was a snow plow prep with all weather floors, bench seat with no arm rest and a very bland interior. However I feel like Chevy didn't put a lot of effort into updating the interiors of these trucks for a long time. Still can't say I am disappointed with my purchase!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent work truck that gets the job done.

by Simon on Fri Jul 14 2017

Great diesel truck that has lots of power and can tow almost anything. Heavy duty suspension is rough with driving dry, but helpful with heavy loads. Seems to be more reliable than Ford Diesels and easier to fix.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Frank from Tumwater wa on Fri May 04 2018

All I would ever buy great reliable truck wouldn't mind a newer one though really the best I've ever had and only truck I will purchase

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice truck for under 10 grand

by Wbruder from Marysville Pa on Sun Oct 01 2017

This trucks 6.0L engine is very strong. Can’t beat GM seats for comfort. The interior is very clean. The ride is very smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great for everything but gas.

by 2 year owner from upstate ny on Sun Jun 20 2010

tremdious power excellant traction great plow truck. built very heavy. will tow anything. seats 6 adults in comfy style. only draw back is mpg. 11.7 mpg best on highway. around town about 9. killer on gas. 8.1 l. if you can afford to feed it you will love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best pick-up around.

by gofaster34 from Northern Indiana on Sat Nov 16 2013

I have owned 2 of these trucks over the years and have found them to be very reliable. Both were 2wd, 6.0 engine, one was an automatic and one five speed manual. The auto got around 12 to 15mpg and the stick gets 14 to 17mpg. I find all the newest trucks incredibly ugly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth my money!

by Redneck from Finksburg,Maryland on Sat Aug 12 2017

I just got the vehicle and it runs very smoothly it's very clean and strong has the 6.0 yes it's a gasser butt I would not want any other truck but this one... I've taken it off roading once and it did very well... I put a new muffler on it flowmaster super 44 and this beast roars like a truck should very deep and loud.. I still have room for more passengers with extended cab and the short bed for stuff

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

OK

by campers from on Sat Jan 14 2012

need a picture looks good drives ok they have a lot of friendly sales people here. I would try and go here for a test drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1