2003 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$2,192 - $21,020  MSRP Range
2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Duramax 4x4 crew cab LT

by Rick from North Carolina on Mon Dec 19 2011

The truck I purchaced has high miles 224,000. But I have been very pleased with it so far. The injectors will need attention before long and even with that the truck is an excellent value and runs great. It does exactly what i need it to do and gets good fuel millege at 15.8 miles to the gallon. Very pleased with my purchase!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than 6.6 and way better than 6.0!

by Gary from Forest Lake, MN on Tue Nov 06 2012

$1 less per gallon for gas with the towing capacity similiar to 6.6 Deisel. 8.1 LITRE has been a work horse for our horse trailer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2500HD, 6.0L, 2whldr,auto

by BWB from Illinois on Sat Oct 08 2011

I purchased mine new, but now has 40,000 miles. Its design is very impressive. I had two problems with it. 1.) Steering shaft noise repaired at $250.00. 2.) Engine oil leak (rear) repaired at $1200.00. Minor repair: starter motor replaced twice now. I towed 7500lbs thru mountains at 100 degree temperatures at 65 mph - no problems. I have the 6.0L 300hp/360ft lbs of torque. Bigger is always better. They should have rear sway bars installed at the factory. I rated the truck 4.0 overall. But most of its features and performance are extremely impressive. I didn't want to rate it a perfect 5.0. The engine is too loud. I would definitely buy another one with a bigger engine for towing. Still, I commend the Chevy engineers for this work of art.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had it since new.never left me stranded or on the

by Off road cowboy from Dallas tx. on Wed Jun 07 2017

I think it's a great veichcle for work or play.i have towed boats construction equipment and other trucks.i have rescued farm equipment and other trucks stuck in mud.its an overall great truck for all uses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I?ve ever had

by Sunny from Harrisville pa on Wed Aug 01 2018

This truck has all the power and looks you?ll ever need and super comfortable mine even has a built in DVD player and a awesome stereo plus 4 doors

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best driving 3/4 ton truck I've ever owned.

by Peteo from Western Mass on Fri Sep 08 2017

Drives like a car, and hauls a load like a champ. Rugged yet very comfortable interior. Control features are well placed. Good power delivery, and handling is surprisingly nimble. Awesome performance in inclement weather. Snow and mud are "No Problem"! Would recommend to a family member with confidence. The 6.0 Vortec motors are "Bulletproof"! Very popular "Timeless" design. Chevy created a winner with these trucks. PERIOD! Ask anyone that drives one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pick-up Trucks

by Jake the flake from Milford, In. on Wed Apr 27 2016

I have had three of these trucks over the years. The first one was a great truck until it got hit, The second one went 320,000 miles and is still running fine. The latest one seems to be very tight and runs awesome. I would like to have seen better headliners and arm rest's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Bad experience all around

by bow tie guy from on Mon Mar 31 2014

lies, lies and more lies. buyer be ware. This small dealership is only interested in making money that's it. Even the pictures they post is a lie. All the rust is hidden pictures is taken from angels that hide the vehicles flaws. Description is misleading and just down right false.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Silverado 2500 HD Duramax

by G8trdun from Clinton, TN on Mon Oct 24 2011

I was a little concerned buying a 2003 with 180k miles, but couldn't pass up the deal... Truck has performed likes new one. 12.5pg on the highway ( through the appalacians) and 16.5 around town ( nit Banting it either). Runs and hanl Flea great. ( cew cab short bed 2 wd)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid truck,

by Like a Rock from on Thu Nov 11 2010

Every option, this is a lot of truck, will do everything you ask it too. Nice long bed, trailer hitch, well taken care of.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Mustang Mach I and Silverado SS.

Similar vehicles in that both put high-performance fun ahead of high-mileage function for those unwilling to accept bland.

Yet different in that one is a car, the other a pickup.

Those who paused at the Ford exhibit at the Chicago Auto Show realized the impact Mustang still has on young and old, a noteworthy feat for a vehicle approaching its 39th birthday April 16.

The larger and redesigned '05 Mustang built off the same platform as Thunderbird continuously attracted a ring of admirers at the auto show, many of whom could be heard engaging companions with "I remember when . . . " stories.

Though a new Mustang is coming, Ford opted to bring out a limited edition... Read More