Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$4,742 - $21,250  MSRP Range
2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun Truck!

by Free Willy from Philidelphia, PA on Thu Apr 02 2009

I have larger off road tires on my 2500HD and a snow plow during the winter! This is the best truck with a proven design and simply does what it needs to do! and performes as well as you could "ask" have a truck perform. A side from my gas milage(because of the big tires) I LOVE MY truck and have been succesful in overloading it by about 1300 pounds! w/ a cap(filled with bags of animal food and other stuff!) this truck out performs all!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

beat truck ever

by AaronB from Breaux Bridge,Louisiana on Sat Aug 05 2017

This vehicle is the most reliable one i have ever had the pleasure of owning. I would most definitely purchase this vehicle again given the chance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck I ever owned.

by Chevy Silverado Fan from Dallas, Texas on Thu Sep 16 2010

I am a proud owner of a 2004 Chevy Silverado H/D 2500 extended cab. Excellent performance both with and without towing. Very reliable and comfortable. I really appreciate the room extended cab has to offer. Shop around and you will find owning one of these to be a great value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Shes been good to me

by mybuddybo from Texas on Tue Mar 27 2012

I love this truck, however I find I don't really NEED her just wanted her when I bought her. It's a 4x4 crew cab diesel fully loaded, and while I truly enjoy the riding up high, mudding, and climbing hills with no problem, I truly do not enjoy the fuel bill. :'( She is a luxury TRUCK and was treated as such. Many moves, pulling loads WAY over the recommended limit and LOTS of off road driving and never so much as a squeak......until recently. Her first hub gave out and when I get it repaired she will be traded in on a new Buick Regal GS. I will buy another GM or chevy truck in the future, but this time it will be because I NEED one. Hey the closer one gets to retirement the more he might find himself hunting, fishing and buying large toys ( boats, fith wheels, 4 wheelers etc.) So in short if u NEED a truck and a good one, this is the one to get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by James C from Cedar Rapids, IA on Tue Apr 18 2017

I was looking for a 2nd vehicle, a truck for pulling camper and boat as needed. The Silverado 2500HD fit the bill perfectly. Nice looking, comfortable and enough power to do all the towing I need.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RV Towing at its best

by pixelchip from Arizona on Sun Oct 18 2009

We used our 2500HD LT 4WD Extended Cab Diesel with Allison transmission almost exclusively for towing our 10,000-pound 5th wheel RV. The drive train and engine are extremely robust, with uphill pulls a real pleasure (passing some passenger vehicles!) and a comfortable, quiet, very controlled ride on the highway when loaded. Fit and finish are very good, the only detractor was early reliability problems with hydraulic and electrical connections that inconvenienced us enroute. One connection problem disabled proper transmission operation, and the instrument panel had to be replaced under warranty after portions of it (speedometer included) stopped operating. This poor level of quality is unacceptable for such an expensive vehicle. Once those initial problems were fixed, however, this vehicle has been trouble-free.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have ever owned

by 55Buss from Canton Ohio on Sun Jul 04 2010

This is a full tilt 3/4 ton truck with every option. The 8.1L engine is the best for towing and working in the woods. Had only minor issues with the memory seats

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 chevy silverado 2500 (gas)

by silverado owner from little rock, AR on Thu Sep 17 2009

i bought this truck so i would be able to pull my old truck around it is an awesome truck it is very powerful though it helps to open up the air flow in and out on it to get what you really want ive pulled a few heavy loads and its as if it isnt even there the only problem ive had was caused by previous users which resulted in many electrical problems and a few interior part problems othrewise this is a great truck very dependable and a great investment

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice 4x4

by diesel power from winters,tx on Mon Jul 16 2012

extreamely clean nice lifted 4x4, duramax engine has plenty of power and the allison auto smooth firm shifts

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have owned

by Diesel Driver from Nashville, TN on Sun Dec 21 2008

At this point it is at 260,000 miles, Awesome truck, put a Edge tuner and it is a WOW truck. The Duramax is AWESOME

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3