2006 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

good truck for the money

by truckerjohn from San Antonio, TX on July 31, 2010

I've had no problems so far. The truck tows my horse trailer like it isn't there. The transmittion has a push button setting that is great for the hills,and is easy to use.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have owned so far.

by IGO1320 from Orlando Florida on November 14, 2010

I have owned this truck since new in 06. I now have 119K miles on it. I had a couple of issues early that were covered by warranty (belt squeak, bad blend door actuator, EGR replacement), since those problems I had a wheel bearing go out in the front (started making noise in a tight turn). No other problems, everything else has been normal maintenance. Truck has never stranded me or failed to start. I have pulled up to 28,700 LBS with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All Around Winner

by Sean from Portland, Oregon on May 10, 2017

I love my Chevy Silverado HD. All around you cannot beat this truck. It performs and drives nice doing it. The Duramax is reliable as heck and the Alison Transmission is bullet proof. After 12 years of ownership it is still my daily commuter and my work truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT!

by CJ guy from Elizabeth Co on November 25, 2015

I love this truck. I use it to pull my Jeep up to the hills. Never any issues other than normal wear and tear. Last of the manual trans. The low first comes in very handy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power, Reliability, and Gas Mileage

by Giza from Beatrice, Nebraska on June 18, 2017

Getting this pickup with the 6.6 Duramax (LBZ engine) has been my dream vehicle since high school. Bone stock you can tow just about anything the average person would and most farmers, get around 16-18 mpg in town and 19-20 on the highway, and have a respectable amount of get up and go capability. Get a simple $300 tuner (read the tuner reviews, their are good and bad tuners) and you will have an absurd amount of pulling power you'll probably never have to use all of, get around 18-19 mpg in town and 21-24 mpg on the highway, and be able to break the back tires loose at your own convenience with minimal effort. Other than the average "oh there is a tiny oil leak" I have never had any mechanical issues with this vehicle. If it is 10 below 0 or 120 outside, the truck always starts up. As for ride quality, it is a 2500HD pickup designed with the purpose of hauling ridiculously heavy loads. That being said, I found that it rides better than my grandfathers 2008 Silverado 2500HD and my old 2009 Silverado 1500 Z71. It has the ride quality you could easily live with. Interior is "adequate". I say this because while it's not special or fancy or have that "wow" factor when you get in. It's on par with every other pickup of its generation and it's very durable. After 11 years, everything works, no symbols are scratched off of buttons, no trim is missing, the headliner is still tight with the ceiling, the light bulbs all work, no loud shaky or squeaky pieces of trim, their is 1 screw in the side of the seat that works its way out once a week that I can't get to tighten up but other than noticing it as you get in and out of the vehicle it doesn't do anything. If I were to recommend any upgrades to this vehicle upon purchase, they would be 1) Simple tuner like a FlashPaq 2) High output LEDs to replace the reverse lights in the tail lights

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great For Off-Road

by Redneck Chevy from Galesburg Il on August 9, 2011

I have had this truck for 2 years bought it used put a lift kit on it plus new tires and it is all around great for both towing and off road so its 2 in 1 in my book

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good for Weekends

by MutherTrucker from on November 30, 2011

i bought this truck brand new and was just perfect with the 6.6 Diesel and use it for towing my racecar and going camping on weekend it is a great truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2500 hd fan

by Mr get it done from Santa Cruz on February 12, 2017

super reliable and low maintenance!!!! I have 220k miles on it and still runs strong I'm definitely keeping it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck!

by Sgooch12 from Lubbock, TX on May 17, 2017

Great truck...most reliable Chevy model they made. I owned this truck for a year and never had an issue. Powerful truck and road great. Fun rig!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort and power for towing

by mt_spud from Bozeman, Mt on April 26, 2011

Lots of power for towing with 6.0 L gas engine and tow package, comfortable leather interior, plenty of interior room, crew cab easy to get in and out of front and back, great sound with the Bose premium system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2