2012 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$10,885 - $43,781  MSRP Range
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

21 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by Mack & Ski from Conway, SC on July 20, 2016

We bought our truck new to use hauling our 40ft 5th wheel trailer. We've taken it on 3 coast to coast round trips and it has performed far beyond our expectations. Rocky Mountains, Smokey Mountains, Mojave Desert, high and low temperatures didn't create any problems. Inside, it rides well. You'd think that you were in a passenger car. Heated seats make you happy you chose that option on cold mornings.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

After 135K of Abusive Miles, Loved it! Bought it!

by DC Gaston SC on July 9, 2017

I took delivery of this Crew Cab 4X4, Z71 6.5 Ft Bed with only 300miles on the OD. After 135,000 miles of abuse as my daily work truck, including Heavy Towing at Max of 95Mph during emergency response for over 200 Miles(and one tank of gas at that speed), 5 years of rabbit take offs, and general abuse, without any failures what so ever, I decided to buy out the lease and take it as my personal truck. My job requires response without fail. This truck never let me down, and has been an absolute joy to drive, and now own......only one more thing to say. "WHAT A TEST DRIVE!!" LOVE THIS TRUCK!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my truck

by Pam from Sherman, New York on June 29, 2017

We bought this vehicle after I have been wanting a truck since I started driving. We found an amazing deal on it, its just a work truck so basic package but the performance of it is amazing. It has the Duramax engine and it pulls a loaded horse trailer without any problems. We owned a 2015 Dodge Ram Hemi and this blows that truck out of the water. I use it as my daily driver as well as hauling horses for a living. Its a phenomenal truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like a Locomotive

by Bob from Cape Cod on May 15, 2017

Owned this truck since new, now has 170K on the odometer. Still has original plugs/wires, brakes and original windshield wipers. (LOL!) 6.2L is bulletproof - still does not burn a single drop of oil. Transmission has worked flawlessly. Had to replace rear differential when new but other than routine maintenance it hasn't given me any trouble at all. This truck would pass for new if you walked past it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great deal!

by Pinball from Sperry OK on November 19, 2017

Great vehicle just what I was looking for amd a killer price! Good condition with all the options I wanted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smoothest driving truck I've ever drove!

by Tibbyz from JOLIET on July 24, 2018

5 stars all the way for comfort, drive-ability, and towing capacity!! I would highly recommend this truck to anyone! Everything I was looking for and more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by bigstu72 from La Grande on May 26, 2017

Great truck with lots of amenities including bluetooth, XM trial, backup camera, 4x4, tow/haul mode, trailer mirrors - everything I wanted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!

by Tom from Tampa FL on October 9, 2012

Love this truck. 6.0L has tons of power for towing. Not great off the line 0-30. However, 30-65 MPH time is great. And both are unchanged when pulling a 6000lbs trailer. Drive it before you buy it. If you think you are getting a sport truck...Try the 1500 6.2L MPG could be better 12 City.19 Highway (after 2000 miles) It not a truck bought for MPG--is it? Dealer was great--If planning any dealer mods get them added added to the deal to save 20-25%

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck thus far, stacks well against others

by E_HILLMAN from Leesburg, KY on January 8, 2013

Have only had truck a little over a month. I have the Duramax Diesel 4x4 Crew Cab LT. Have had Dodge Ram Diesel Trucks of the same spec for the last 10 years prior. This truck does the same job they did and has more power than my 2010 Ram Diesel I traded in. I LOVE how much better the traction is on this truck no spinning or wheel hopping. I towed my 28' Cabin Cruiser boat on rain and sleet roads a couple weeks ago and had plenty of power and felt secure and stable while towing. Sure the truck rides like a 3/4 ton truck but it is smoother than some 3/4 ton trucks I have had but it handles like a car. VERY easy to drive and sticks to the road and curves quite well. Fuel Economy seems better than the last two Dodge trucks I have had. Dual Zone climate control very nice Crew Cab has pleny of room for adults Recommend getting aftermarket underseat storage for rear seat to keep cabin tidy. Exhaust brake works great and even though truck is a automatic it downshifts quite well helping slow you down when bringing a large load to a slower speed or halt. Even when not plugged into block heater truck starts very well on cold days for a diesel. With Remote start it gets even easier and it will be ready when you are. LOVE OnStar and will resubscribe. Dislike (very much so) that customer service is through the Philippines. And wish that GM would see that people that want to buy a truck made in the USA (Flint Michigan) and pay that much to have it also want their customer service to be in the USA. Interior could be better. The displays etc. on my Dodge Trucks were better but the ones on the Chevrolet get the job done and provide some new functionality as well with the OnStar system. Overall a great made in USA truck. The Allison Transmission is known to be durable and I look forward to many many trouble free miles ahead.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

so-so truck duramax 4x4

by ken from el paso tx on July 2, 2013

Great for a work truck because of power, fuel mileage is awful , 12 in town, 15 on hiway, seats hard, no interior storage, info center hard to read, uses 1 gallon of exhaust fluid every 1000 miles. Won't buy another G M product

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3