2015 SS

Consumer Reviews

2015 Chevrolet SS

$30,978 - $40,666  MSRP Range
2015 Chevrolet SS

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Chevrolet SS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Beyond what I was hoping for

by Sports car lover from Gastonia, NC on Wed Sep 16 2015

I got the new SS on Labor day, it was like a dream come true, lots of power, lot's of technology, plenty of room and comfort, better fuel mileage that I expected. I am very pleased with it, the most enjoyable car I have ever owned. Most compliments I have ever got from other people on a new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Executive Express

by Executive Express from Washington DC on Wed Jul 29 2015

I am excited to own the Chevrolet SS (nee Holden Commodore SSV). This is an absolutely amazing automobile at a price that makes a BMW 550i look very, very expensive indeed. I've driven BMW's for many years (and still have two) but wanted to support GM in its nod to the enthusiast crowd in bringing this powerful rear-drive car to the USA. I found a black-on-black one, with the six-speed manual, and it's bloody outstanding. Rave: the performance, of course! The LS3 V-8 is effortless, the loud-ish sounds great (burbles on over-run!), the big Brembos stop you cold, the Magnetic Ride Control is possibly the best adjustable suspension out there, and this big (3900 pounds) car truly handles. It may not be as fast in a straight line as the big Chrysler/Dodge products, but in real life, it's MUCH more usable than those much more primitive, older designs. The SS is miles ahead technologically. Rave: speaking of technology - Automatic Parking, for goodness sake (first and only on a Chevy-badged product)! Sensors all around - front and rear cameras, blind spot warnings, lane departure warnings, cross-lane traffic alerts, forward collision warnings, Heads Up Display (HUD) with multiple pages, mirrors roll themselves down in reverse, 9-speaker Bose audio/nav. Power/heated/cooled seats (3-memory on driver), automatic lights and wipers, it's all here, and it's all easy to use and works well. Automatic climate control and cooled seats have kept me comfy in this big black car even in 90+ degree summer heat. Rave: Styling. Classy and understated, so it has invisible sleeper status. These cars are super rare and few people even know what they are - until they see the performance. I changed from my black on black 330i to the black on black SS - and many of my co-workers didn't even notice... until they heard the LS3! I like flying invisibly, and the SS is absolutely perfect at that. Some of the car mags complained about too much chrome but I don't agree (and it certainly shows up on my Phantom Black car) but of course this is a matter of personal taste. Complaints: Very, very few - mostly nitpicking. Obviously the fuel economy isn't great, but everyone knows that you don't buy big-body cars with big-displacement V-8's for fuel economy. I get 17-20 in mixed driving, which I think is reasonable for what the car is. (For comparison, my 2006 330i gets about 24-26 in mixed driving.) The sunroof auto-opens but does not auto-close, and the two-switch setup (one for slide and one for tilt) is odd to a Bimmer guy, though certainly functional. The rear windows go auto-down but not auto-up. I have noticed a mild shake in the driver's door mirror which I intend to have fixed at the first servicing, but that seems an anomaly - truly, the fit and finish is impressive and the car seems solid and well built. If one wants to be picky, yes- the interior materials still may not be quite up to Audi or BMW standards, but that does not mean they are bad, nor cheap feeling, just not so super-premium like the Germans. GM has really upped their game here: soft leather, nice plastics, contrasting red stitching, alcantara suede inserts on the door and dashboard, piano black and contrasting brightwork etc make the cabin a very comfortable and attractive place to be - and I sit inside this car at least 50 miles every day (now approximately 3000 miles on the clock). Altogether - speaking from a serious car geek and a hardwired Bimmerhead - I absolutely LOVE my SS. It's one of those rare special things that just does everything right. Sadly, in typical GM fashion - build something perfect, then get set to kill it. HEY GM: Keep building the Commodores, even outside Australia! Ladies and gentlemen, your executive express, the resurgence of the E39 BMW M5, is here and it's got a Bow Tie on it. Get one while you still can.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Holden in a bow tie

by Sold on Holden from Miami on Fri Jul 31 2015

If you can't imagine paying 45K for a "Chevy", don't! This is an exclusive import from the GM division Holden - in the land down under - where they've been putting honking V-8s in big sedans, wagons and Utes since Mel Gibson was a teenager! Seriously, the design, build, fit and finish is way beyond any Chevy product I've ever owned. You've heard about the power, but it's more than that - it's refinement. Everything is well designed and put together with obvious care and thought.The only thing you'll miss out on is the fussy controls that the European competition offer, the 27 different settings for every little thing - well, that and the extra 20 large for a smaller, slower car. It's got everything you want and nothing you don't. It's simple and robust, with years of development, but if it does break, just bring it to the local Chevy dealer. Worried about the cost of gas? You'll save it on the insurance, as this is rated as a family sedan, not the hot rod it is. I love my 2015 SS, and as a stick shift driver I am in family car heaven! I can take the kids to school, get the groceries, take a highway cruise, then go to the track on Sunday. Big guys and their big families fit great - no need to buy a truck or SUV to make everyone comfortable. And the kids love the on-board WiFi - they don't have to miss a minute on their laptop on the ride to Grandma's house. Power, refinement, safety, handling, comfort... did I mention Power? It's the total package.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Passion and Excitement

by BenNeb from Atlangta, Georgia on Sat Oct 31 2015

Ive own many different cars in my life time from the American made such as Chevrolet to the foreign made such as Porsche. This Chevrolet SS lives up to the hype, it's comfortable for a man of my height (over 6') and have the power to haul my passengers without breaking a sweat when it reaches a hill. Ive found it to be very exciting when I'm alone and being a bit aggressive and that its a "SLEEPER" does not hurt it either. Id highly recommend it if you're looking for a car with power, style and attitude....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TRUE SLEEPER

by SSSHHH from Moriarty,N.M on Fri Jul 17 2015

I purchased my 2014 SS new, August 2014. Closing in on one year and every thing I had hoped for in a performance sedan, is this car! Tight, well built, strong, truly an amazing automobile. 415 horses, just waiting to be released. You can feel them the moment you push the button on the dash for start and the car moves you with its first rumblings, gurgling as a first response to the driver saying "lets do this!" Ease on to the street, pick a direction, then step into it...this sleeper comes awake! If not for the massive rear tires and well engineered traction control, You would just sit and spin, but in an instant, your head jerks back and in under five seconds, the heads up display lets you know 60 mph has come and gone. Agility? you bet! performance on par with BMW's 2003 M5. Brembo brakes, six speed auto or standard...its all here. all the options come standard as well in this car. from blue tooth to XM. Power seats, dual zone AC, heated and cooled seats...the car even parks its self! do yourself a favor, check it out. drive it. If you want unique, don't want just another car that is churned out by the tens of thousands? this is it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not Disappointed

by Dave from Edwards, CA on Mon Mar 16 2015

Own the 2015 which is extremely well equipped. I drive it as a daily commuter. New for 2015 includes the Manual Trans (Optional) and Magnetic Suspension (Standard). Perfect for the person who loves the drive without the stigma that comes with the looks of owning a Corvette, Camaro, Dodge Charger/Challenger. This is a 415 HP monster. Don't pay ins prices for a coupe/sports car either. I like the option of taking the kids to school and then hauling butt to the Post Office! Honestly my recent trip Los Angeles to Vegas was a pleasure. If you've ever made the trip you know the hills suck and are brutish on a cars engine. This had the power and torque needed to seamlessly and effortlessly coast up hills without torturing the engine. I didn't notice any downshifts. You will NOT find a better suspension system in any vehicle from any manufacturer even in this vehicles price range. The Dealer isn't making money off you when you buy this.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Replacement for my C6 Corvette

by Pleased driver from Bismarck, ND on Tue Oct 28 2014

I was looking for a fun vehicle to replace the Corvette but could be a daily driver. This is the perfect solution! Very drivable and very sporty! It does not turn the heads the Vette did but it does jerk heads from those who notice something "different", such as the Brimbo brakes or the lack of badging. I enjoy explaining this vehicle to enthusiasts with wide eyes and admiring smiles! Even the wife enjoys the surge of power during passing and I'm averaging just under 21 mpg over the first 7000 miles. Get one soon!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dream car but!

by Flyty215 from Fort Washington md on Sun Jun 11 2017

Dream car purchased man im happy car is everything and more endless options stuff u don't need but cool to have lol looks awesome drives great gets lots of looks and the whats kind of car is that gm did a great job but i think car should be a little more aggressive looking and they also tuned the 6.2 motor down when it could easily be rated at 450-470 hp stock and exhaust could be more beefy but it it what its is car sucks alot of gas but overall if u are chevy guy who doesn't like the typical dbag type camero or corvette this the car for few bolt on parts it should be great test drive and experience it for yourself

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect four door Sedan

by aeardley from Washington, UT on Tue Apr 18 2017

Let me just say I love this car!! It's pretty much the perfect performance sedan. By far the best car I've ever owned. It strikes a great balance of luxury, speed, fun, practicality, and price. The SS is just as at home taking the kids to school as it is running hot laps. If you are planning on getting one you should only consider the manual six speed transmission. The automatic ruins the experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car for the money

by kwesley1 from Arlington, Tx on Sat Dec 23 2017

I recently purchased a certified pre owned 2015 Chevy SS sedan and I love it!! This car has good power and a lot of amenities that my 2009 bmw 528i doesn’t have nor any of my previous bmw’s have had in them. Chevy did a good job with the production of this car. I really love the power and comfort of this car for a 4 door sedan. Great job to Chevy. A true 4 door corvette!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2015 Chevrolet SS

Editor's note: This review was written in January 2014 about the 2014 Chevrolet SS. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2015, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2014 Chevrolet SS is about as close as you can get to buying a four-door Camaro, but with the added benefit of a high-quality interior and a decent-sized trunk.

When Americans are tasked with coming up with things that are uniquely Australian, a few things come to mind: Crocodile Dundee, Foster's beer, kangaroos — and maybe Outback Steakhouse, for those who are really unfamiliar. High-performance, rear-wheel-drive super-sedans don't usually show up... Read More