Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 SS

Consumer Reviews

2016 Chevrolet SS

$31,664 - $44,184  MSRP Range
2016 Chevrolet SS

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Chevrolet SS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The best sleeper can out there

by Holden Car Lover from Dayton, Ohio on Sun Aug 07 2016

We were back in the market for a car thanks to the VW Diesel scandal. I had decided that I wanted a sedan but also wanted it to be sporty which required rear wheel drive and a manual transmission. Tall order these days in new cars so I started searching used and new. I found the Chevy SS and the more research I did the more I was convinced I wanted one. The SS is actually a Holden Commodore which is build in Australia. Last month Chevy had a killer deal on new SS cars so we bought a brand new one, with a manual trans of course, and love it! Blast to drive yet very few people know what it is. PERFECT! Highly recommend this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate Stealth Mode Performance Vehicle

by Doubletary from Atlanta, GA on Sun Jul 16 2017

Superb performance! Strong acceleration from the LS3 V8. Intoxicating exhaust note! It just begs you to push the revs above 3 grand. Excellent handling, strong brakes, precise steering. Seat comfort is good. Plenty of adult legroom in the front and back seats. It's basically a 4 door Camaro. Dislikes: weak AC, not so grand sound quality from stereo, slow and ancient looking nav system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent machine

by Paqman from Massachusetts on Sun Jul 31 2016

All the power,comfort and style. Comes with a ton of extras. It really is a four door or Camaro. I like the interior it is an upgrade on a lot of past Comfortable and easy to navigate controlsIninside step on it and the engine jumps to life. Huge amounts of power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You enjoy cars? This unknown Chevy has it all.

by Butch from Columbus Ne on Sun Apr 17 2016

Purchased the 2015 Chevy SS. The handling and response is outstanding. The magnetic ride makes a huge difference in what needs you have when driving it. Does not effect the terrific response you have in either mode. Roomy inside with unique styling. Large trunk area and roomy back seat. Safety wise you won't have any problems passing anybody on a two lane and getting around them in time. Or if you are at a light in the left lane and need to get around before the next right turn. Tell it your needs and it responds.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Hidden Gem but with some compromises

by toybiz from San Francisco Bay Area, CA on Thu Sep 01 2016

Cars are such a personal item, as the needs and requirements of one person is not the same as another. That's what makes choosing this Chevy import performance sedan a challenge for some. Why do you ask? For some, how a vehicle is styled is high on the list. For others, room and livability is the deciding factor. Others still, what happens when the gas pedal is pressed gets the top nod. While no one should push their bias onto others, it helps to learn why anyone would by this Chevy SS. For me, my list read like this: Having driven a manual transmission for over 40 years, I wasn't about to give up on getting one more before they become extinct. With less than a handful of sedans that even offer a manual transmission, this was a no brainer. Check. Second, it had to be practical. So no two door coupes for this family yet. This car has four doors, a trunk that can swallow luggage and roomy seating for 5. Check. Third, to me driving is more than just getting from point A to point B. Is the car simply a tool or an extension of my thoughts and will? With rear wheel drive, almost 50/50 weight distribution, and Magnetic Ride Suspension, it is incredible what this 3,900 lbs sedan can do around corners. Check. Forth, and this is probably the most subjective. The Chevy SS will never win any beauty contests or going fast while standing still, to me being able to blend in is more important than standing out. For some, badge envy and looking like an aerodynamic scalpel is important. For me, not so much. Check. Last, cost of entry. Given all the criteria above, unless the car says, M5 or M6 out back, getting one for less than $80k and checking all my preference boxes would be slim to none. There will be those who feel this car should be less than $40k but if one were to get past the looks and badge envy, and really take a few moments to drive one, it will become clear why a select few of us have one in our driveway. What are the compromises my title states? The 6.2 liter LS3 engine is from the previous generation Corvette. Which is a good thing but it is not the latest or greatest. Fuel mileage is on par with other V8 powered sedans built a few years ago but could be better based on what is currently available. This vehicle is actually an import from GM's Australian division, Holden. If you recall seeing a Pontiac (remember them?) G8 or GTO built in the past 10 years, then you have seen a rebadged Holden. This Chevy SS is the Holden Commodore, refitted for left hand drive and rebadged a Chevy. The downside of this? With about 12,000 Chevy SS imported and sold since the 2014 introduction, there could be concerns of replacement chassis parts over time. Conclusion. If you like a low key design, enjoy performance driving dynamics, and some exclusivity . I would recommend that you run, don't walk to your nearest Chevy dealer and experience this rare vehicle before they are gone. (Many manufacturers are closing their Australian manufacturing plants in 2017, this includes GM and Ford)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Styling very reserved, a true sleeper!

by Jeff B from Angola in on Tue Nov 15 2016

When you walk up to car it looks very ordinary until you get in and start the engine. At that point you realize it is not ordinary but extraordinary. The car sounds awesome with the last generation corvette ls3 engine burbling underneath the hood. The car handles way better then it looks. Most feel it handles better then the E39 BMW m5 .I bought mine with manual transmission and would not want it with out. It is a true driving enthusiast car. Well appointed interior ,comfortable seats . My wife said no vette we have children and I could not be happier with my purchase. Law enforcement stare at Vettes ,chargers but don't give me a second glance. Stops great with Brembo breaks all the way around. Couple small things I might change but nothing that makes me regret my purchase. Until you drive one I don't think you can ever know how good this car is. Too bad this will be last year for them. If you want a new one you better hurry.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sheila I've Ever Known

by Christa1918 from Portsmouth, VA on Thu May 11 2017

It's a four door corvette. Enough said. I mean 6.2 liters of rwd fun and space for three rear facing car seats. I mean seriously. You cannot hate this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun I have ever had in car ownership

by Hoobie from SILVER SPRING, MD on Fri May 25 2018

Lets be honest, this is a niche car. It's for person who wants the thrill of a corvette but cannot afford to have a weekend car and needs four doors for the kids. It's a tough sell in this market when there are M3's and CTS-V's to compete against (M5's don't come with a third peddle for some time so I don't include it in my list). And may explain why it is no longer made. But xxxx they got it right - it's everything the other two have but at a more reasonable price. I was presently surprised with the My Link infotainment system. I am able to play my podcasts and skip through the list of podcasts through the touch screen. No fast forward, but I normally do that with my Apple Watch anyway. But again, I need to be honest again - you don't get this car for the infotainment system. You get it for the Power and handling. I got the stick shift which was VERY hard to find, but worth the chase! Anyone who is reading this who has not learned to drive stick do me a favor and ask yourself "do you make love with your clothes on?" No? Then stop driving an automatic and learn to drive with your clothes off, umm well you get my point. I have never had so much fun going to get milk in my life. I will keep this car until the wheels fall off, and if they do I will find someone to put them back on.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A true sleeper

by wolfey from Berwick, PA on Tue Jul 24 2018

We will miss the Holden Commodore, which is what the Chevrolet SS is. The car has tremendous power, holds the road tight and is a true joy to drive. Sadly never was advertised by GM.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Total sleeper

by Lee from Noblesville, IN on Tue Nov 28 2017

This is my second one. Had a 14 traded it for a 16, couldn’t be happier. Interior is up to date, the styling could be better

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1