2004 SSR

Consumer Reviews

2004 Chevrolet SSR

$13,758 - $29,718  MSRP Range
2004 Chevrolet SSR

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Chevrolet SSR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCK

by COOKIE from nevada on Wed Jun 06 2012

This year truck can use regular 87 octane and can perform great. I have ridden in them and they are a hoot and fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool wheels

by Olds Guy from Bethlehem, PA on Mon Jan 16 2012

So far, so good. Enjoyable to drive and get lots of comments too. Can carry a 4 x 8 piece of plywood too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great vehicle, runs great

by chevyguy from Port St Lucie Fl on Tue Dec 04 2012

The best car I have had for pleasure driving. I have never had a problem with anything on the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is an excellent entry level muscle car.

by AZSSR from Chandler, AZ on Tue Jul 18 2017

This car was my first "muscle car". It's a dream to drive. This car has plenty of power and, with the paint job, gets noticed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head Turner..very reliable..beauty!

by Brooksie from on Sat Jun 03 2017

This car meets all of my needs and have plenty leg room. Rare car...top down or up, it turns head everywhere I drive..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The only hard top contervible p/up produced in the

by Bono Boog from Dallas Tx on Sun May 20 2018

A unique, collectable classic that is very functional, with modern options, in todays world. Very comfortable compared to other sports cars Also, much much safer with the ladder frame and the extra thick sheet metal in the body panels plus it's extra weight . It's gross weight is over 2000 lbs more than a Vette.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun truck I have ever drove, gethis lots of l

by Mrgoodfoot from FL on Mon Apr 09 2018

This is one fun truck to drive, everything works, power retractable top. Reliable, has power , sounds great. Gets up and runs with the big dogs. Lol

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Come the SSR Fanatic's

by CaptEric from Greenville, sc on Wed Sep 05 2012

I reacently purchased a low mileage 2004 SSR in Ultra-Violet (purple). it took approx 2 months of hunting to find the right truck. This is a neat ride that turns heads wherever it goes. A classic retro style and a convertible pickup truck plus the color make it an eyecatcher. The interior is comfortable but poor placement of the door armrests, side bars and height of the doors present a challenge for arm postioning. While the interior is classy and retro it could have benefitted from a little more attention to detail from GM prior to production. Poorly postioned clips on the driveshaft tunnel for the cupholders, the one in the dash does not securely hold a cup, difficulty in getting the coin tray open and no place to hold a cell phone etc. Performance is adequete- it is a 4 speed auto with a a 300 HP V-8. It has get up and go. Newer models - 05/06 came with the LS-2 Vette engine at 395 hp w/ auto and 400hp w/ a 6 speed manual. Biggest disappointment is the tires- GM's fault since they are the ones who spec'ed them for the SSR. Eagle RS-A's- no treadlife, poor grip and they wear like junk. Trying to find something decent that matches brands and types is a bit of a challenge but info on the SSR fanatics website does provide additional insight along with Discount tire who seem to the best experts for assistance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Coolest car I have ever owned

by bob from Canton, Michigan on Thu Apr 30 2015

Slingshot yellow, gets all the looks. I have owned many Hot Rods over my life time, but the SSr is the best. The best thing is you can take it to a GM dealer if you need any repair, Try doing that with an old Hot Rod. Worth every penny. They are really not that expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ya gotta want it!

by Phogstr from Jacksonville, Fl. on Mon Nov 07 2011

It's a head-turner (yellow)...especially with the added rear spoiler and side graphics ...but it's HEAVY..requires at least 91 octane - I use 93...and I'm lucky if I get 15 mpg! I also added a K&N high-flow air intake...magnaflow exhausts & had a dyno-tune. I'll probably keep it for 12-18 months...then trade again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2