2005 SSR

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet SSR

$12,291 - $38,443  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet SSR

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet SSR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Stylin

by Kruiser from Arizona on Fri Jun 22 2007

Great highway cruiser with plenty of style. Very cool. The retractable hardtop is quick and easy to operate. The cargo area is secure and water tight. Right after buying the SSR, we took a 3000 mile road trip and averaged 20.6 miles per gallon which is better than the rating for the vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sold a Corvette for SSR and glad I did....

by Captvtwin from League City, Texas on Tue Dec 21 2010

Best all around sports car I have ever owned. Performance of a sports car and hauling capacity of an SUV....and TOPLESS!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bike transporter

by ric1076 from PA on Thu Jul 21 2011

I had a BMW M3, which was a great car but the trunk is too small for my road bike even w/ the front wheel removed. So I wanted another performance car that could accomodate my TREK bike. I looked at many models from several companies, read the +/_ reviews and chose a low milage SSR. It's not as fast as I thought it would be because it's so heavy. Also with so much weight in front, handling is not in the BMW league but is certainly much better than average. Brakes are excellent as well. Moreover, it's a very comfortable ride over PA's very pot holed roads; the seats are superb. The Bose sound system is terrific as well and the fold down top is still an amusement when it's warm out. The A/C works well also. in sum, we're very happy w/ the truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool Car

by Sports car enthusiast from Cool, CA. on Tue May 29 2007

A Cool Car look that is fantastic styling excercise. The fold down top is over-the-top. The all aluminum V8 is great and keeps the front end from being too heavy.... better front-rear balance. The automatic is a bit clunky. The heaviness is overcome by the power and pick up is great.... I have an SRT-10 (Viper 510HP) engine to compare with it. More like a car than a truck but if they say it is a truck then its a truck (but not really). A work of Art it is. -Richard

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car, serves many purposes for me

by L. from El Dorado CA on Mon Dec 03 2007

I use this car all the time for fun and work, the pick up is a great space for me since I do a lot of shopping and gardening. Fun to drive and so far no trouble at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SSR Buying Review

by TT from VA on Mon Sep 22 2014

Cars.Com provided an excellent selection of cars available nationwide. Opportunity to compare vehicles / prices / mileage / colors / options from the comfort of my home. Narrow the selection process down to just a few cars and then economize my time when I decided to look at them. Process was painless and provided the opportunity to select exactly the vehicle I wanted. Great website.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sporty car I have ever owned

by Sandra from Lincoln Park, MI on Sun Apr 23 2017

My father bought this truck brand new SSR 2005 I received it a month ago when he passed away, he had 220 miles on it, so it is like a brand new car 12 years later, we had to have a new computer module, tires, battery, and headlights from it sitting in garage so long but love this car/truck!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Retro Look With Modern Corvette Power

by Hal's SSR from Hollywood, Florida on Thu Jun 22 2017

A really cool convertible with classic looks and plenty of trunk room! I've had lots of old classic cars that were a pain to restore and maintain with few modern conveniences. This one is the best of both worlds (old and new). It is comfortable and gets lots of attention!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impractical? Then by a box!

by 808 local from Honolulu Hawaii on Sun Jul 08 2018

If you want square, not for you. If you are looking for practicality, not for you. If you are into 50?s hot roding, being of independent out of the box don?t give crap what others think mindset, this may be your ride. If an LS2 engine in a convertible retro truck doesn?t scare you then look no further.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SSR

by wayne from San Diego on Tue Jun 06 2006

Nice car, fun to drive, handles well, quick, smooth, well built, and reliable. Great with the top down very little wind noise or buffeting, Bose system is great, electronics are good, sound is better that any MB or BMW i've ever heard. wished it had bluetooth phone, a nav system, and a ipod hookup.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2