1997 Suburban

Consumer Reviews

1997 Chevrolet Suburban

$99 - $8,011  MSRP Range
1997 Chevrolet Suburban

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Chevrolet Suburban?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

1st vehichle

by FoxyMph from Robertson County, TN on Tue Dec 20 2011

First transportation of my own. Love the space considering I'm a 5'10" female. Plus extra room for when I move... Only had 3defects when I bought it but nt bad for the price. I love trucks & this was a nice starter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1995 Suburban

by DT from Maine on Wed Jan 29 2014

We've had ours since new. 2WD, 240,000 trouble free miles including traveling back and forth from Georgia to Maine once a year for ten years and towing an 8000lb boat. V-8 engine is hella strong. 40 gallon gas tank and the mileage is moderate. $140 to fill the tank but we get 500 miles range. Short haul driving I'll go for a month or two between fill ups. Thus I can internet-find the cheapest gas prices during my travels. AAA Visa card gets you 5% cash back on all gas purchases as long as you put $500 on the card each month. It helps in the long run.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love it

by montoyas from texas on Sun Feb 10 2013

i love this truck but after haveing it 15 years its starting to break down on us one problem is my moms ex husband stole the key so its burning out parts and it waste alot of gas considering we live at the very edge of town and our job on the other side of town

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power house

by GET SOME from on Mon Jul 18 2011

All the power you will ever need in a small sleek high performance machine. Also great handling and exquisite braking, but if they do just so happen to fail you have the weight to go through any smart car in your way

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Was Good Value

by Archie from Upsate NY on Mon May 28 2012

I used it for towing a boat and hauling people and stuff. Great interior space. 4WD great in snow. Had 150K miles when I traded it in. Only problem was it was rusting from underneath. But that was after 16 years in upstate NY. The real killer for me was milage. Overall was 12-14. When towing even less. Traded it for a new VW Touareg TDI that gets 29pmg highway and tows #7500.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

200K+ Comfortable Miles

by dogemuffins from Novato, CA on Wed Jan 17 2018

While the interior is a little outdated by 2018 standards the 1997 Suburban is still a very comfortable place to spend time. I'm looking forward to moving cross country with this vehicle next year. 5.7L V8 has plenty of power available at expense of fuel economy. With a 42-gallon gas tank it's spendy to fill up but you can't beat the capability of this vehicle. Even loaded up with stuff or towing, it's got plenty of power for merging or passing. Reliability is excellent, biggest repair was the fuel injection assembly at about 212K miles, and the air conditioning doesn't work consistently. The engine, transmission, etc. are still original beyond regular maintenance. Repairs are easy and affordable, and parts are dirt cheap and available everywhere. Biggest complaint is braking power on the 90s Suburbans doesn't inspire confidence. It's not that the brakes suck, it's just that the pedal feels squishy and it doesn't stop as quickly as the 2000+ Suburbans. Drive a 1999 and a 2000 and you'll understand. This isn't a problem unique to this particular vehicle because I've owned half a dozen of these trucks and it's really the only downfall of this platform.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT

by Ozzie from Hixson, TN on Sun Aug 06 2017

One of the best purchases I ever did love the back doors which opened sideways the most confortable ride I ever had specially if you have children and go on long trips

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by Shorty from Six, UT on Fri May 19 2017

I love it, good to go for long drives, fits all kids and still has lots of room. Has lots of power in them

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1997 Chevrolet Suburban

A weekend on the road with GMC's Suburban gave me a better understanding of why people love these things so much. It is the quintessential cruiser, capable of reeling off 400 miles without a hiccup, or a stop for gas.

And, it did so with all of the comfort and convenience of a full-on luxury sedan.

I've always found the Suburban's size to be a bit daunting around town. I mean, how many people really need seating for nine? Yet, here we were, just my wife and I, with all of this unused space, ready to log nearly 800 miles in two days. Even though this baby is bigger'n Dallas, it rolls down the highway effortlessly and never really feels cumbersome, despite its long, 131.5-inch wheelbase, truck chassis... Read More