2005 Suburban

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Suburban

$2,291 - $11,883  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Suburban

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Suburban?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck I have ever owned!!

by Traveling Man from Middletown, Delaware on Sun Jul 20 2008

I traded in my Expedition for this and I love it. The only slight drawback is the MPG. But when you need to tow a 33' foot travel trailer, this is the vehicle to own. Keep the tires inflated properly and change the oil regularly and add a fuel injector cleaner at every oil change and you can maximize your mpg on this vehicle. I average 12mpg pulling my camper and 17 around town and 21hwy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Suburban is the Best SUV

by TB car from on Mon Feb 27 2012

Suburban is the best full size SUV on the road today and in the past. Have owned 2 since 2000 and what a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Manic Best Truck!

by 2005 Chevy Suburban 2 RWD 5.3 V-8 Vortec from Machesney Park,IL on Fri May 07 2010

I'm 4th owned suburban since 1973,1980,1999 and 2005. It always plenty cargo roomy what i need big furniture fits! also family and friends 9 seats . It is powerful Vortec as always!. I purchased Used suburban only 38K lowest miles and fablous low price $15,900 so i grab it !. I can keep this suburban till until over 150k or more !.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

05 SUBURBAN

by BD from Dallas TX on Thu Jul 01 2010

I just sold this 2005 suburan z71 2wd for $11,000. I put 153,000 miles on it and other than 3 sets of tires, a battery and a $150 on new U joints I didn't spend a penny on repairs. Changed the oil/filter every 4k miles and did a transmission flush and change every 50k miles. It still had original brakes with half the pad left. Great vehicle. It was my 4th suburban in 12 years and the other had similar history with minimal to no problems. Now in a 2010 denali xl - we'll see in 4 or 5 years if good luck coninues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I would purchase this same vehicle again

by TroyB from Bowie, MD on Thu Jul 12 2018

Chevrolet really out did itself with this vehicle. It is really reliable and I have driven it for 13 years. I have a buddy with the same vehicle with 350,000 miles. Only routine matienance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Big Mormon Wagon (BMW)

by DAD from Show Low, AZ on Tue Jul 03 2012

This is my second Burb. Love every bit of it. Long trips have become enjoyable and fun. The DVD is a huge asset with the kids. All leather for easy clean-up. Plenty of power to use when needed and its not afraid to tow. Suprisingly agile considering the size of the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

From one Suburban to the next

by RT Cheez from Canton, OH on Thu Jan 25 2018

I bought a 2005 Suburban to replace my 2001 Suburban. I have owned the 2001 since 2003 (when it had about 40,000 miles), and it now has over 300,000 miles on it. The engine and transmission have never had major repairs (or even minor for the tranny), and still run like new. The body is just getting tired and starting to rot. I just picked up the 2005, and it has just over 100,000 miles. I should be good for another 200,000 or so! I love these trucks. The 5.3 V8 is an awesome engine, and the 4WD has taken me more places than you can imagine. Buy one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car Great Deal

by Dunechef from Troy VA on Sun Nov 17 2013

Best overall large SUV out there good gas mileage, reliable, comfy for driver and passenger, large cargo capacity

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable

by MsJN from Brandon, MS on Thu Jun 21 2018

This is a comfortable vehicle. It is very roomy. It has a lot of amenities, like a sunroof and DVD player to help entertain family on road trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No Substitute

by Hockey Dad from Detroit, MI on Fri May 18 2007

My 2500 with 8.1L has approx. 22,000 miles on it. Even mix of highway and city driving. MPG is significantly lower than printed- I'm getting 11/14 city/highway. Expect even lower with spirited driving. By far the best road-trip vehicle ever. Quiet, stable, powerful, comfortable. Did some heavy comparison shopping before purchasing this- used excursion: too loud, diesel to sluggish around town, not as comfortable interior. new expedition EL: no 3/4 chassis, too anemic. No other comparibles- don't even mention the 'armada', the GVWR listed by nissan is laughable- why they don't get called on those numbers is beyond me (plus there's no storage). Tows a 9000lb travel trailer perfectly. Worth every penny Chevy charges.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3