2008 Suburban

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Suburban

$7,659 - $20,071  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Suburban

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Suburban?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

No more minivans for me...

by docjgw from Davenport, IA on Thu Jul 29 2010

Just bought a used 2008 LTZ with just under 30,000 miles and have had it for about a month putting on 3, 000 city and highway miles. So far, I love it. Lots of room (have 4 kids), good handling for its size and good ride comfort. Its loaded with about everything including the chrome package. Beautiful exterior and interior (gold/gold leather). Its great on long trips because of the interior room, quite ride, and DVD system. So far have averaged a little over 13 MPG (has the smaller V8). The only negatives so far are that the nav/DVD/radio system can be a little confusing and difficult and that MPG is not too great (but that is expected with a vehicle this size). For a family, this is a great vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This SUV!

by Nana from Texas on Thu Oct 16 2008

Love this SUV especially for long trips which we take often. The heated seats are wonderful if you have aches and pains like I do I Love the sunroof, GPS, radio, seats, DVD player I just love my Suburban! The gas mileage is ok for such a large SUV. Our kids and grandkids can go with us even with a baby car seat. Get the captain seats in the second row so you can move around back and forth from there to the back seats when traveling and put your feet up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best SUV

by Many SUV's from Southern Indiana on Sat Dec 06 2008

The ride, the room, the quietness is all very apparent in this vehicle. I have had a Range Rover, Land Cruiser and Cherokee but none of them compare to the Suburban. It even does great in 4 wheel drive! I am looking forward to many "comfortable" trips in the Suburban!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very reliable truck

by Terrell Audi and suburban lover from Detroit,Mi on Wed Feb 07 2018

This truck didn't even ride like most big trucks do had a nice glide ride to it and the motor use to get down every time you hit the gas

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love IT!!!

by Happy Grandma from McDonough, GA on Sun Jun 12 2011

Don't know what to say except that I love it. My previous 3 automobiles have been Tahoes. I wanted more cargo room as well as being able to have more passengers so we began looking at the Suburban. After a year long search and lots of research we purchased a Suburban. It is loaded with room enough for all my "stuff" and my grandkids. I Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

06-08 Junk

by Cutdisc from Cleveland, OH on Sat Jun 17 2017

This was my 3rd Suburban (and currently have my 4th) so this isnt a Checy OR a Suburban knock. At 75K had to get hub replaced while out of town on a holiday weekend. 5K later the other went. Fuel evap sensor two times. Sound system stopped working, Idled horribly. Had a front axle leak. However, most discouraging was having the top end of the engine needing rebuilt at under 100,000 miles. Believe it was at 88,000. That is uncalled for in any vehicle now days. The two prior Burbs I owned TOGETHER didnt add up to what I put into that one and I only had it two years. My '02 is still out there driving around without any major mechanical failure. Do not recommend buying these year Suburbans.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by suburban momma from on Tue Apr 19 2011

This is the best car I have ever driven hands down. The only downside is the gas mileage. It's an 08 so there have been a few minor cosmetic issues but while under warranty...taken care of

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle. Nice Ride.

by Suburbia from Baton Rouge, LA on Tue May 17 2011

I have enjoyed my Suburban .. it is a great vehicle with a nice ride. Very comfortable and the leather is nice. Gas mileage is approximately 15.5 per gallon .. in town .. not too bad for an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WORTH the MONEY

by igg1na from Phila on Thu Mar 07 2013

Having owned a Tahoe with 106k ( accident TOTALED it). I was a bit leery about coming up into the newer bodystyle, and TOYS, the NAV package takes some getting used to. I was blown away at the Suburban ( having driven OLDer models). I purchased the Z-71 package and HAVEN'T looked back ! ! ! Should have made the jump SOONER. ALL around FANTASTIC vehicle, ( wife was SOO IMPRESSED she wants one. As for the MPG... USE SUPER Unleaded, you WILL see a difference in performance & MPG. I cannot stress how PLEASED I am with this truck... ALL ACES... this BEAUTY is a BEAST ! ! ! And an eye catcher in BLK with the GREY 2 tones. I LUV it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned.

by Chevelle71 from Midwest on Wed Mar 29 2017

The Suburban is amazing. Ours has the DVD in the back for the children and it keeps them entertained on the road. Lots of power, and room. Recommend to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Chevrolet Suburban

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2008 about the 2008 Chevrolet Suburban. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Do you have more than two children and a need to tow? Then the Chevy Suburban — which was redesigned for 2007 — could be right for you. While the large and in-charge SUV won't win any fuel-efficiency awards, it does the job it's intended to do — haul a lot of people and a lot of stuff — very well.

The Right Tool for the Job
I would never encourage someone to buy an expensive, fuel-thirsty vehicle if they didn't need it. If someone wants... Read More