1999 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

1999 Dodge Dakota

$69 - $8,953  MSRP Range
1999 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

My first and only kind of truck!

by mechanic with a good truck from Richland, NY on Mon Mar 21 2011

In july of 2009, I bought my 2wd dakota V6 sport and I am now forever a dodge man. at the time it had 80k miles on it and i now have it up to 106k. If you take good care of it, it makes one heck of a truck wheather it be for hauling heavy loads or just getting from A to B. It may not be the best in the world for winter driving because it's not a 4x4 but if u keep good tires on it and put about 300lbs of weight in the bed, it can't be stopped. annother thing i like about it is the exterior styling with the way the fenders stick out. It kind of reminds me of a truck from the 1940's. Being a mechanic, i have also found that the dakota is very easy to work on (if you ever need to). i have needed to replace a few parts here and there but that is to be expected when it's an older, higher mileage vehicle. Just take the time to change the oil whenever necessary and this truck will last for years and years. Everyone I know who has or has had a dodge dakota no matter what year it is, has them at 200k plus! Anyways, the point I'm trying to get accross is that this truck is great and I wouldn't have any other.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and great performance for its class

by Logan from Coeur d' Alene Idaho on Sat Aug 26 2017

This midsize truck does everything you would want. It handles like a dream for a pickup and accelerated much faster than other vehicles in its class. Plenty of bed space and winter driving capability.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first car

by someone from nicholasville, ky on Tue Apr 25 2017

i has lasted for ever cause i got it with only 100,000 miles and now it has 350,603 miles on it. if you get one make sure that it is an manual

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best trucks I've ever owned

by Blessed from Oak Vale,Ms on Sun Jun 18 2017

Owned vehicle for 17 years it never put me down on the side of the road. Also very low maintenance over the 17 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge Dakota

by tpcarson from Kokomo In on Tue Aug 22 2017

One of a kind,fun truck gets alot of looks,could be used for everyday use or just cruise on the weekends,not a nicer one out there

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very good truck for the money performance was gre

by tpcarson from Kokomo In on Thu Aug 31 2017

would buy another one if I had the room to keep it indoors,a real nice truck for anyone looking for a fun truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck and longest lasting truck I've ever own

by Captain America from Presque Isle, Maine on Mon Apr 23 2018

I bought this truck used in 2007 with 59,000 miles on it. Now, in 2018, it has 212,000 and still runs and drives like a dream. This truck is tough. I have swamped it, hit a moose at 60mph, severely overloaded it, towed with it, driven it all over the place, off road, on road, this truck does it all. I have done some maintenance over the years, and finally had to replace the original clutch at 195,000 miles. The 4wd is awesome, and very reliable. After hitting the moose, I walked away without a scratch, and still drove the truck for a week before putting it in the body shop. The moose didn't fare so well. It's starting to get rusty now, living in northern Maine, but that's everything around here. It gets 16-22mpg with the 3.9L V6. It's a work truck, run around truck, and is never empty. It tows very well, and is great for pulling cars and bigger trucks out of the ditch in the winter. Excellent snow handling. I love it and would own another in a heartbeat. Would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

have had better trucks

by meatpacker from LARGO on Fri Jan 25 2013

A good shape heavy duty dodge truck, runs fine but gas milage is not something I am crazy about. Paint job seems to be the standard Dodge paint job for that year, outer coating is peeling.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck!

by Georgie from West Monroe, NY on Thu Jul 29 2010

My Dakota has 85,000 miles on it and I haven't had a lick of trouble since I bought it. It's the Sport model with a six cylinder engine. The exierior is in great shape with the exception of the rear bumper which has rusted severely. I plan to get a chrome after-market bumper next spring and then it will look like new.The paint is still great and there is no rust anywhere except the rear bumper. Gas mileage is about 20mpg overall. It has served me well thusfar and I hope to keep it forever.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It was my first car

by Truck Enthusiast from Virginia on Thu Nov 28 2013

I might be kind of biased, just because it was my first car, but this is a great truck. The exterior is nice and the interior is very cozy....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Dodge Dakota

Dodge trucks are on a roll. First it was the Ram, with its Peterbilt-like front-end; then came a revised Dakota, playing on the same look that made the Ram such a hit.

Discarding the old slab-sided look helped Dakota sales pick up, and several additions made for 1998 continue for 1999.

The Dakota has the usual assortment of truck options. Trim levels include Base, Sport, Plus, SLT, SLT Plus and R/T. There's rear-wheel drive or a part-time four-wheel-drive system. Next comes regular or club cab, short bed (6.5 feet) or long bed (8 feet).

Next are engines. Starting with a 120-horsepower, 2.5-liter four-cylinder which can only be anemic in a vehicle that weighs in at 3,557 pounds. Next comes... Read More