2003 Grand Caravan

Consumer Reviews
2003 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

25 Reviews
2003 Dodge Grand Caravan
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love My Dodge

by pioneer granny from Virginia on October 24, 2008

I love my Dodge. There is one thing I don't like is that the floor on the passenger side is always wet. All in all it has never left me standing. I would buy another one, but will not trade this one for anything.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Family Truckster

by Family_of_6 from on May 18, 2009

Hey, this minivan has done it all from pulling the pop up camper, to hauling 5 bikes on a hitch mounted bike rack to hauling: lumber; 4'x8' plywood pieces, 4'x10' drywall pieces (back door open on that one), a washer & dryer; two dishwashers. It has been to tailgating parties, across Lake Michigan in a ferry boat up into Canada for skiing and down to Washington DC all with a family of six. It has 80,000 plus miles on it and it is still going strong. I would not do any of this family travelling without that back seat DVD player, however.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

feels like driving a japanies van

by Sammy from ontario, Canada on July 1, 2007

I like the smoothness wile driving this van...I have dodge grand caravan sport 2003 and I love it, it is for sure something to keep for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

AWD is great in snow

by Grand Caravan Owner from Clarence Center NY on January 29, 2010

Bought this used with 83,000 miles on it. Have replaced the steering rack ($1000) and serviced the transmission (a quick learn because of hard downshifting) along with other smaller repairs. The AWD is superb in the snow, too bad they don't offer it anymore!Nice van,my third Dodge Caravan.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most versatile comfortable minivan ever

by mrs.smith from indianapolis, IN on May 20, 2017

I have owned this car for 14 years and even though I have purchased a new car with better 'ratings', I still mostly drive my Caravan. It is versatile, can be used for passengers or cargo, is comfortable, easy to drive, good vision with lots of windows, good gas mileage especially for the space, not cramped, hauls kids, dogs, people, building materials, etc but still plush on the inside. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Only problem - can't tow a camper. If it could, it would be perfect. No major failures and has 196K miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Grand Caravan SE

by Satisfied customer from Kenner, LA on June 3, 2006

My 2003 Grand Caravan SE has been very reliable for the 3 years I've owned it. It's never been in the shop for any major repairs and I've never had to leave it overnight. I would recommend Dodge Caravan to anyone who wants reliability and a great value for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not bad for the price.

by Camdendocks from Nebo, IL on July 21, 2017

The van seats 7 and is very roomy but the problems ive had is that the roofing always tries to start coming down as these vans age. Can have high mileage and still drive smoothly. Overall reliable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Family/Utility Vehicle

by Devildog from tennesse on August 7, 2008

Though this vehicle is not rated as a utility vehicle, it has been used for many utility style uses.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Better than the newer models.

by Ron from Arizona on December 16, 2017

A good family vehicle. Many videos on YouTube on how to fix and repair. I wish the front had regular shocks instead of the struts.(no alignment needed for shock replacement) My van is fairly quick and gets decent MPG. It looks better than newer Dodge vans and from what I hear it is more reliable. Good in the snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

questionable reliability and value

by automaniac from Seattle, WA on August 4, 2009

Although fully-loaded with features and an attractive used price, the 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan eX we purchased used in 2004 with 22K miles has had more than enough visits to the repair shop to guarantee this is the last Dodge/Chrysler vehicle we'll be buying. The items we needed to have repaired included an "electronic brain" that blew effectively not allowing the car to start and drive or have any other features, such as windows, etc. operate. Luckily, this was an item covered by the manufacturer's warranty! Body hardware integrity is lacking, the car rattles and shakes worse than a '89 IROC Camaro convertible crossing railroad tracks, and it recently has developed what might turn out to be the dreaded Caravan "transmission shudder of doom" (which means the transmission is likely going to tank on us)! The van only has 60-something thousand miles on it now! The spouse and I have resigned to driving this thing until it pukes, however, we both figured that'd be maybe 200,000 miles. At this rate, we may be lucky to get it to 80,000. Fuel economy in the city is laughable - sometimes gets down to 11-13 mpg! Road trips on the highway (60-70mph) nets up to 19-20mpg. We paid in the neighborhood of $23,000 for this van which had a MSRP of over $35,000. I am doubtful now whether it is worth $8,000 now, even in great operating condition. But here's the good stuff: the kids like the DVD player, my wife likes sitting up high to see over traffic, the power is enough to get us up and over hills and passes on road trips, stereo not bad for a factory stereo, folding seats offer a lot of flexibility with cargo options, the roof rack is handy, and the looks are not dated even after Chrysler redesigned the minivans a couple years ago.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3