1997 Intrepid

Consumer Reviews

1997 Dodge Intrepid

$852 - $3,956  MSRP Range
1997 Dodge Intrepid

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Dodge Intrepid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Dodge Intrepid

by Intrepid Owner from Bryant, Arkansas on Fri Nov 19 2010

Bought it new in 1997 and I still have it to this day. It been a great car. It has about 198,000 miles. The only thing that went wrong with this car is the basic things like the starter, ETC. I plan on keeping it for a little while longer. But the hard part is trading it in for another car. Because its been such a great car. I would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Performing, Great Value

by Erik in KC from Kansas City, MO on Fri Jan 15 2010

I've owned my Intrepid for about 4.5 years, and it is a great-handling, great performing large American car. The 3.3 litre is a strong engine, and everyone I've talked to who knows engines said if I take care of it it will last a long time. I've had to do a some repairs, but you have to do that on any 170,000+ mile car. Its a champ, and I plan to keep it a few years longer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars ever made

by Cody Davidson from Merrill,WI on Sat Feb 11 2017

I've owned my intrepid for about 2 years. It has the 3.3 liter engine. It has always been very reliable. Only had to replace minor things like the camshaft positioning sensor and the radiator. Just a little over 250,000 miles and still going on the original engine and transmission. I love the exterior and interior design. This car has held up good over 20 years. My next car will be another intrepid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dodge in the Nick of Time

by Vintage Car Enthusiast from Allentown, PA on Thu Apr 15 2010

I purchased this vehicle from an ad that I found for another car I saw, when I got it to the car was sold. The seller had another car and sold it to me for a very reasonable price. it has a few repairs that need to be made but it rides nice over all. The seller was great to me and I would recommend this car seller and his cars to others.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've had.

by Alex from Cincinnati, OH on Tue Jun 16 2009

This was my dad's business car and I inherited it in high school, driving it for three years. I had the ES with the 3.5L V6, and it was the best engine I've driven with. There weren't many luxuries on it (no sunroof or leather seats, etc) but everyone who rode in loved how comfy and roomy it was. Plus, I easily got about 28- 30 mpg on the highway. It also had a massive trunk and huge amounts of legroom in the back. One drawback: it was a boat when it came to parallel parking, but I loved my Beast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just Bought !!

by Rachel knows cars from Burlington, IA on Thu Jun 15 2006

i just bought one. it is a beautiful purple /plum color and handles very nicely though the 3.3 V 6 engine in mine could be better i'm not at all complaining. It handles nicely oh highways and city roads. But mine wheres out brakes fast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One GREAT car

by Mopar Muscle Fan from Greenville, OH on Sun Nov 09 2014

My parents bought it used in 1999 and have it to this. It has been handed down to me and it still runs like a dream. 109,700 miles (all city miles) and hasn't quit for anything. Ignition switch had to be replaced and a couple hoses here and there but still runs great. Wouldn't think twice about hopping on the interstate and driving across the U.S and back. This car is a mini tank on wheels. My dad got t-boned a couple years ago at about 10 mph and there was a small chip in the paint!! Structurally sound! Highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Valued Car I've Ever Owned

by Mechanic and Gear Head from Riverton, WY on Thu Feb 28 2013

I make my living buying restoring and selling cars. I first bought a 95 Intrepid with the 3.3 to fix up and sell. Later I bought my 97 Intrepid with the 3.5. I used it to run around town in alternate to my diesel, I got 30+ MPG for 100,000 miles. I then got a new run-around car and added a twin turbo setup with an intercooler and the engine has held up to the extra stress wonderfully. I would recomend this car to anyone, it's safe, comfortable, reliable, and can be fast if you want it to be!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

1st Car! Drove really smooth.

by Excalibur87 from Winston-Salem, NC on Sat Oct 21 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this vehicle. It's been the most important thing in my life. Can't get anywhere without her.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1