Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Neon

Consumer Reviews

1999 Dodge Neon

$1,257 - $2,341  MSRP Range
1999 Dodge Neon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Dodge Neon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

not the best but sure is close

by NeonDude from Va Beach, Va on Fri Nov 10 2006

I recently purchased my 99 neon used, with 89,000 miles for way less than blue book. Everyday it starts, runs great and gets me on a long trip with much less gas than my former 2005 chevy cavalier plus it actually rides better. The best thing about this car is its pretty simple to work on, and gets about 415 miles to a tank of gas on the highway! Its by far the best car i``ve driven/ owned, but its definately one i would buy again if i have the chance. This particular car is a 99 Dodge neon r/t sedan with a 2.0 DOHC engine and auto matic transmission.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by JeremyH from on Mon Jan 23 2017

I used to make fun of people who drove Neons, until I ended up with a 99 Sport 5-speed. Very fun to drive. One of the best cars i've ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great commuter/weekend racer

by Blue Streak from VA on Thu Feb 21 2008

Okay, it's not a true sports car. But the Neon R/T is a great budget racer, especially if you're into the sport compact scene. I've owned two Neons: First a 98 Sport with an automatic, then, later when I caught the racing bug, a 99 R/T with the 5speed, which I modded out with basic engine bolt-ons. These cars are immensely fun to drive and handle like go-karts with basic suspension mods. There is a lot of aftermarket support as well as enthusiast websites devoted to the Neon. I was particularly amazed at how reliable the R/T proved to be. It took me 2 years of drag racing the car on weekends before something finally broke. (PSA: If you're going racing, invest in a limited-slip differential) And there is a certain guilty pleasure in running door-to-door with a stock Mustang GT at the track and then getting 28mpg on your way home. :)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Neon R/T

by Diesel580ck from Florida on Sat Dec 12 2009

I had a 2dr blue with silver stripes R/T 5 speed. My only complaint with the car was at 80mph it was turning over 4000rpm. On the interstate with a performance exhaust it grew very tiresome. The little car still got great mileage even spinning high rpm. It handled like a go cart, off the line acceleration was a little lacking because of the 2.0L DOHC's lack of low end torque but once the engine got wound up to over 3000rpm it was fine, you just have to launch hard.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

On rails

by Cornering is everythng from Marlboro, NY on Wed Jan 13 2010

188,000 miles on my '99 Neon ACR. Super flingable - handles like it is on rails, awesome brakes, 14-sec. quarter miles, and 32 MPH. What's not to like?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first car

by i love my neon from Duluth, MN on Sun Oct 02 2011

I love my 99 neon sport! this was my first car (after the one my parents let me use). i have had no major problems with this car. i love it! its fun and small, and super easy to do your own work. i have done the breaks and oil with little prior experience. I live in Duluth mn and i have had no problems with the steep hill sin the middle of blizzards. :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Owned Car

by Javi from Monterrey, Mx on Sat Apr 21 2007

Very good car, many after market products are available. Customization is very easy. Overall, it's a very good car... :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun and cheap

by 4drturbo from Olathe, KS on Thu Mar 30 2017

I have owned many Neons from SRT-4's to base 2nd Gen automatics, to 2nd gen R/Ts. But my little 1999 Neon Coupe DOHC with a 5 speed transmission was a blast to drive. I got mid to high 30's mpg and during the summer months I got over 40 a handful of times. Car weighs only 2400lbs and has the 150hp/132tq 2 liter. Manual windows, manual locks, only 1 rear speaker worked due to previous owner removing the front speakers. I owned the car around 4 years and had no major mechanical problems and it had over 180k when I sold it. Previous owner did put a new cylinder head in it along with timing belt/waterpump/tensioner and all that jazz. So it was set to go another 100k miles. Car handled very well and is known to dominate the front wheel drive naturally aspirated 4 cylinder autocross class. Thef act they can be picked up cheap is really nice. I sold mine mainly due to safety. They do horrible in crash tests and it had me a little worried on my commutes to work and back. The T-350 transmission shifts so smooth. Can rev up to 7200rpms stock. You can also get an aftermarket PCM or Mopar performance PCM that raises the rev limit to 8k! Not bad at all. Very easy to work on and parts are very cheap.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car all new parts

by Great time to be the car owner from Delavan wisconsin on Mon Sep 17 2018

The car met new parts all engine parts new parts ?. Good Shape and good runner.and good shape and I ? the car all ?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1