2001 Ram 2500

Consumer Reviews

2001 Dodge Ram 2500

$598 - $22,518  MSRP Range
2001 Dodge Ram 2500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

15 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Dodge Ram 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

good truck

by dodge driver from on Sat Mar 03 2012

drives very good. lots of power. rides ruff, but it is a hd 2500. would buy another when the time comes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

HO with 6 speed manual, long bed, ext cab

by Redgundogs from Nunda, IL on Sun Aug 27 2017

I got my truck special order from the factory, with the HO Cummins, 6sp manual, fully loaded. I started with 12 miles on the odometer, and am now at 166,060. It still looks like a late model truck. Paint is perfect. I have had trouble with the air conditioner, but that was resolved during the warranty period. The pan gasket was leaking slightly around year 3, also fixed under warranty. There have been NO mechanical issues with it. I change the oil every 7500 miles, and have scheduled maintenance done. I have replaced the batteries twice, brakes (inc. rotors) once, clutch once (and will probably be doing that again in the next few years), motor for the drivers side window failed four years ago, still under warranty. Other than that there have been no issues. I am a freak when it comes to preventative maintenance, and any new noise is found and eliminated. There is rust on both doors, and a bit on the body under the doors. It is otherwise clean. Rather than buy another, next spring I will have proper cut and weld body work done to remove rust, and will replace the doors. With $10-$12K of work, the truck will be like new and ready for another 17 years of use. When I ordered it I thought it would be my last truck. Barring a wreck, I was probably right.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Cummins engine is a gem.

by Brantfurr from Indiana on Sun Jun 25 2017

I've had this truck for 3 years. In those three years, I've replaced the heater core, the dashboard, the transmission, the front wheel hubs, the upper and lower ball joints, CV joints, Pitman arm, tie rod ends, sway bar linkages, and the entire brake system. I've had to put more money into this truck to keep it roadworthy than any other vehicle I've owned... but I just HAD to have a diesel.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great mileage I?m getting 25-28.5 mpg diesel

by DodgeDriver from on Mon Feb 19 2018

I bought this truck mainly to help me move it did that with no problem and it?s been very reliable the whole time I pulled a 16 foot trailer heavily loaded all the way from California without any problem the trucks always been comfortable reliable and it looks good with the new Lakeland cap That I?ve added to it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Work Truck

by Patty from Sanger, TX on Thu Mar 08 2018

This truck, with only 167,320 miles on it, has plenty of life left for a Cummins diesel. It rides great too. Only selling it because we have too many trucks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

excellent truck

by jimmy from El Paso, tx on Wed Feb 02 2011

One of the best and most reliable vehicles I have ever owned. It goes through whatever I need it to and never fails to start and perform.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great gas mileage for a big trck powerful

by dodge diesel fan from tx on Thu Dec 08 2011

made me convert from ford to dodge. Comfortable in the front back seat a little tight. Small crack in dash on all of these trucks. Dodge should have repaired. Strong dependable engine. Excellent mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Bulldog from Detroit area on Sun Nov 14 2010

This is a great truck. Comfort level is right up there with any of the newer luxury trucks yet you are not afraid to use it for work. The only down side is (like with most trucks), when there is no weight in the back, it has way to much power and wants to spin the tires from take off on damp roads.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great for work

by dagarrett222 from orlando, FL on Fri Apr 20 2018

great for work, used this utility ram 2500 for my side business. It is sturdy, reliable, convenient, and gets the job done. I recommend this truck to small business owners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by jmcbtc22 from las vegas, nv on Thu Feb 08 2018

Car met all my needs. Has the power to haul, its comfortable and looks great. This car is a perfect fit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2