2006 Ram 2500

Consumer Reviews

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

$9,779 - $30,455  MSRP Range
2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

27 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck I ever owned.

by mrpoppy from Pike County Ky. Energy capital of America. on May 1, 2011

I am 69 Years old and I have owned trucks since 1964. This the best I have had, and is very reliable. It starts every time even in zero weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most powerful truck I have ever owned

by DANNYB from RIO OSO CA on November 14, 2017

This truck is perfect for all of you needs, It has all of the power you will need, plenty of room for your friends or family, reliable, looks great

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Falling Apart

by Walking to work on July 31, 2017

The Cummins diesel is the only thing that hasn't broken after 75K miles. I bought this truck new, and I have maintained this truck to the recommended dodge maintenance specs. since I brought it home. The Transmission started slipping at 65,000 miles, no longer goes into 2nd or 1st gear, driver side front bearing is going, leaks fluid like a British motorcycle, air conditioner has died twice, and currently does not work, outside air temp. reads -40º (in Florida), rear windows intermittently do not roll up, window trim is warping and coming off, windshield wipers sometimes decide not to turn off, clear coat and paint are fading and chipping, the truck squeaks and rattles like it has 300K miles on it... and I'm sure there is more good news to come.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge RAM 2500 hard to beat!

by Beaver Creek Cowboy from Salt Lake City, UT / Salmon, ID on December 12, 2009

With over 100,000 miles on my truck it still look, pulls and runs like it has 1,000. Had a recalibration of the computer to allow my temp to display correctly when it was new, but has NEVER been back to the dealer for any repairs! I change the oil and grease it every 10k and commonly pull loads on my gooseneck in excess of the trucks capacity... the RAM just keeps on trucking without a complaint! I click off 18 to 21 mpg empty and 12 to 14 mpg pulling. I doubt you could find a better engineered/built truck on the market today! I bought my first Ram 2500 in 1993, put over 350k on it, my second in 2003, put over 130k on it and they just keep getting better... keep up the great work Dodge!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Diesel Truck

by RAM Truck Lover from San Martin, CA on June 4, 2012

I bought a used 2006 Dodge RAM 2500 Mega Cab 4x2 Diesel truck. This is an awesome truck. I am getting 25 - 27 miles to the gallon around town and 30 miles to the gallon on the highway. I love this truck. Towing is amazing. 7000lbs and I get around 21-22 miles per gallon. If you want an excellent truck go Dodge. I found my truck on cars.com

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Beast

by Dr Dan from New Orleans, LA on April 30, 2014

The 5.9 liter Cummins Diesel is one of the most efficient, long lasting and reliable engines ever built. If I keep it under 70, I get 23.4 mpg on the highway (about 19 in town). It does need to run long (60+ miles) at least once a week. Interior is only average but much improved over earlier models. This truck is a beast...built for hard work. Don't buy it if you want it for dating! The ride is rough. The features are basic. If you need a great pulling truck that gets amazing fuel mileage, this is your truck. With good maintenance, the engine will last 1/2 - 1 million miles. Cover the seats and when the interior starts going bad, let someone replace or fix it! The 5.9 Cummins will outlast any of today's new trucks.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins

by Justin M. from Barre, Ma. on September 29, 2016

A couple years ago I bout an '07 Ram 2500 Diesel and absolutely loved the truck. Don't get me wrong, there are quirks with the 3rd gen Cummins trucks, like injectors, front end issues, rust around the rear wheel wells and electrical gremlins from time to time. But if you know these trucks, they're an absolute gem. You can make tons of power with the 5.9l Cummins and there's a ton of aftermarket support for them. These trucks are meant to work but you really need to keep up with regular maintenance. Oil changes, fuel filters, etc. so much easier to work on than the Powerstrokes or Duramax's. I've had a couple vehicles in between but really missed having a diesel. So I found my current '06 and I'm in love all over again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gas or Diesel, can't go wrong

by Snowman from Cleveland, Ohio on May 4, 2011

Get ready (as with any 3/4 ton or larger truck) to replace all ball joints, front bearings, tie rod ends, and shocks between 80,000 and 95,000 miles. Other than that, they rock!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Issues with vehicle

by Harley from Austin, TX on March 5, 2013

McCloud Automotive sold me the truck with Bad front brakes and broken front tie rods. Cost me over $900.00 to repair. Only had the truck 2 weeks. Went to get it inspected and had to get all of this repaired. Do NOT use this dealer in Killeen, TX

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worse reliable,tieRods,wheelBearings,steerinSoleno

by no2500 from on January 7, 2017

Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins is horribly unreliable. Tie rods, wheel bearings, steering column solenoid. And worst of all, when the batteries go dead, the ECM gets fried!! 2 grand to fix!!! Get rid of your Ram 2500!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Just as smaller passenger cars and practical-sized sport-utility vehicles are making a comeback, Chrysler Group brings forth the Dodge Ram Mega Cab, a pickup truck that's the approximate size of a hotel lobby.

Maybe the Chrysler crew has it figured out. Lately, it has been making money while American rivals General Motors Corp. and Ford Motor Co. have been shedding jobs and manufacturing plants.

The all-new 2006 Mega Cab's bread-and-butter is a back seat area where even three huge adults can spread out in open space one normally associates with a stretch limo - a whopping 68.9 of the nearly 134 cubic feet in the tested Ram's interior cabin was dedicated to back-seat comfort.

But the Mega Cab is so... Read More