2003 Ram 3500

Consumer Reviews

2003 Dodge Ram 3500

$5,837 - $25,673  MSRP Range
2003 Dodge Ram 3500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Dodge Ram 3500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

RAM 3500

by RAMROD from INDPLS, IN on Tue Mar 16 2010

I FOUND THAT THIS TRUCK IS NOT A RACER BUT A MULE IT WONT WIN ANY RACES BUT IT WILL PULL A HOUSE OVER. I LOVE MY MULE!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

heavy duty truck

by shooter from pa on Sat Apr 09 2011

only complaint is the u-joints on the front axle at the hubs seem to wear out at @70,000 miles and after market replacements get about 20-25,000 mile. just put factory part on hopefully they will last like original.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability ten stars.

by Tron from CA on Wed Oct 30 2013

Bought this truck for work not for the looks but fell in love anyway. She had 50k when I got her, I'm about to hit 190k drives just the same as when i first got her over 6 years ago. I have replaced the water pump and the power steering pump nothing else, other than regular maintenance. Very easy to work on, lots of room. Jack knifed in a blizzard, had to replace the driver side doors but no injuries. I promised her I will slow down when it's snowing. I used tow a trailer about 200 miles daily. Not once has she broke down on me. Her only weakness is her trans. After driving for a good while I have to accelerate a bit for a smooth shift. This is something that has happened since I bought her but her tranny still going strong. If the trans ever goes out I will convert to manual or just up grade.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Difference between life and death

by N/A from on Tue Mar 06 2012

After owning a neon I was not very happy with Dodge. However, after having an accident with this truck I take that statement back. Even even hitting a cement divider on the interstate, we walked away with no cuts or scratches and even drove the truck back home. When we took a closer look at it we found that the damage was mainly cosmetic; the frame had only a few scratches. This truck saved our lives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for towing!

by good_dog from Indianapolis, IN on Sun Jul 16 2017

This truck is a workhorse! We bought it to tow a travel trailer that was quite a load on our previous truck (Ford F-250). We knew the Dodge was had the highest towing capacity of any truck of similar size so decided it would be a good choice. It doesn't bog down at all with a load - still gets great mileage and even rides a little smoother with the trailer on!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

24 valve 5.9 crewcab dually

by Candyman on Wed Feb 14 2018

Could handle anything I could put it thru %4400 lb oof white marble. Great stereo systemll Nnever had a problem batteries even lasted 11 yrs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the most powerful trucks I have driven

by texaskreek06 from San Angelo, Tx on Mon Oct 29 2018

This truck has power. It can pull quite a bit. It runs smooth and feels like it had been maintained perfectly since it was now. The interior and exterior are also very clean.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2003 Dodge Ram 3500

One week it's tooling around in a Chrysler Crossfire.

Another it's scooting about in a Chevrolet SSR.

In between there's the joy of a Mustang Mach 1, a Corvette coupe and a Viper SRT-10.

But then it comes time to pay the piper and a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500 Quad Cab 4x4 SLT fills the driveway--and that's fill as in "to the brim."

Oh, well, this too shall pass.

In fairness, the penance could have been worse. Not only has the heavy-duty Ram pickup been redesigned for '03, it also has been tweaked to provide surprisingly good road manners for a blue-collar type craft.

The Ram 1500 was redesigned for '02 and the heavy-duty models underwent surgery for '03, though basically adopting much the same... Read More