2000 Stratus

Consumer Reviews
2000 Dodge Stratus

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

8 Reviews
2000 Dodge Stratus
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

9 years and still running

by car lover from Somewhere in Mexico on February 18, 2009

Well, my parents have purchased a Stratus SE with 2.4l DOHC engine brand new in late 99. Since then it has been running great even after 90000 miles. This car has proved to be very reliable and it had needed only tires and brakes replacement as well as the common dealer services. No tranny or engine problems so far. Since 2008 I have been using this car as my transportation to college and it proved to be very economic, fast and still reliable. Before this car I didn't trust in Dodge cars but after this one I have totally changed my mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Dodge Stratus (2.0L)

by Wrench from Las Vegas on December 31, 2008

I bought our '00 Stratus 4-dr/gold, 2.0L in '03 with 103,000 miles on it for only $4300. It now has 193,000 and still runs great! A fantastic value. The 2.0L engine was last made in '00 after five years, so nearly all bugs were worked through by Dodge, to include the head gasket. Very comfortable car. 2.0L engine does not have lots of power which is exactly what I wanted since this car was driven by our three kids to/from high school and college. Only repairs in last 5+ years have been transimission solenoid pack ($700) when it wouldn't come out of 1st gear one day. Also had freeze plugs changed (leaking) and had timing belt and water pump changed since they had access at same time ($900). Overall there has been minimal maintenance. Engine is still smooth, but transmission shifts hard every once in a while. Today, they are changing oil pan gasket and crankshaft sensor due to leaks. Other than that, it should be leak free and ready for our last child to take it to college. Also switching to high mileage Mobil One synthetic oil. Overall, very pleased with reliability, drive, and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Car For Those Needing Work and Play

by Technology Equipped Stratus Two-thousand (TEST) from University Place, WA on November 5, 2006

I have had my used 2000 Dodge Stratus SE for one year now I must say, I feel great about its performance, styling, and handling. I do recommend performance tires of 205 on 14 or 15 inch rims. The cup holders are not the best designed features of the car. When holding containers, the shifter gets in the way once placed in park and when cornering, the drinks can tip over. The cab-forward design and shorter front end makes parking the car interesting. I had repark several times because I came up short of the parking barriers. When parking, the car seems to glide into any space with ease. The car wants to 'roll like an autobot' once you press the accelarator. The brakes hold well, but I recommend upgrading to performace. When making turns the car is very responsive and seems to have a better understanding of the road conditions. I recommend the 2.4l DOHC as a well balanced car in terms of speed, manueverbility and performance. The one thing that is hard is actual maintainence. The compact engine compartment makes it differcult when replacing certain hoses. Still, I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a good performer.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great value car

by dave from hawaii on July 2, 2006

if can get out of the "box" (toyota honda) you find great cars very nice price -save big this one is in nice clean runs great

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

windshield glare

by magnet from annville, pa on August 22, 2008

i love the car but have a real problem with the sunglare on the windshield to the point where it is sometimes dangerous. i drive directly into the sun coming and going to work every day. there have been several times where i have had to pull off the road because i can not see and often do not see walkers or bicyclists until i am on top of them. i even bought good polarized sunglasses in hopes that would help. i would sure love to hear any suggestions someone might have. other than that the vehicle is the best car i have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable. Sporty. Economical. American!

by Buy American from Sacramento, CA on June 26, 2007

I purchased this car in 2001 with only 17,000 miles on it. It now has over 116,000 miles and this American vehicle is still going strong. I have been pleasantly surprised at the reliability this vehicle has given me. I have done no major repairs to the vehicle to this point, only routine maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Avoid at all costs.

by Tnipper07 from Georgia on May 12, 2018

I owned a 2000 model and at 92k miles, everything fell apart. Literally the mirrors fell off of it. Just a car to go from point A to point B.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Same power as the first day I bought it.

by MattTheGreat105 from Harrington Park, NJ on November 13, 2017

Perfect car for being gas efficient and still having all the power you could want. Extremely comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1