2002 Stratus

Consumer Reviews

2002 Dodge Stratus

$851 - $5,123  MSRP Range
2002 Dodge Stratus

Review Score

3.7 out of 5 stars

3.7

20 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Dodge Stratus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car ive ever owned

by rabbit from west mifflinm on Sun Mar 03 2013

love my car 11yrs never stranded.Good on gas. comforable. great looking car, low milage. has been so dependable through the rain and snow. still dependable after 11ys.Able to transport my grand children to school. my other grandchildren like driving it also.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it! great cost for what you get!

by Wish it was a mustang... from Iowa on Wed Aug 31 2011

I've had this car for 2 months now and i love it! although it doesn't have the power i would like to have in my car, its comfort, style and value have made me love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Bang for the Buck!

by Stratosphere from Irvine, CA on Sun Nov 14 2010

We bought our 01 Stratus RT Coupe used from the dealer with about 18K miles on it. We have had no mechanical issues whatsoever and currently have 78K miles on it. I love the power and sound of the Mitsubhishi built V6 engine. My wife and I love the style of this vehicle and we get compliments from everyone. We were concerned about buying a 2dr due to limited seating and trunk space, but this car surprised both of us as it has plenty of rear seat room and a huge deep trunk. We actullay fit a 42" Plasma TV in the box in the trunk and we were able to close the trunk lid. Great car for the money!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best starter car ever

by sparky from chicago, IL on Sat Jul 18 2009

bought this car for my son as his first car have had no mechanical problems other that normal wear. he drove this car about drove this car about 500 miles a weak for three years. he felt it handled well in all weather conditions. nice sporty car for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Followup Review

by Ron from NJ from on Fri Nov 28 2008

This is the follow up review of the car purchased in 2006 with 90,000 miles on it. As of now, the car has 135,000 miles. It's still running strong. Except for a motor mount recently replaced, I've never had to do any work on the car rather than regular maintenance (e.g., tune up, timing belt). Every feature still works fine. This is a great car for low-budget buyer who intends to keep a car for long.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

nothing but trouble

by teacher to be from Natick, MA on Sun Feb 07 2010

My mother purchased our 2002 Dodge Stratus new. It currently has under 60,000 miles on it and we have had nothing but problems with it. The transmition has had to be compleaty rebuilt. Car needs alignments on regular basis. Cam shaft had to be fixed and 2 ball joints. Interior lights/ dash lights constantly shudder/blink. Very confortable and spacious. Great pick up. Good options. BAD GAS MILAGE!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

The car lasted me 3 days.

by Amber from Las Vegas, NV on Thu Feb 28 2008

Well I would love to save money but I would at least want a car that lasts me longer than 3 days. I had it for 3 days then one day it started to jerk... I couldn't go over 20 mph without it stalling.. I took it into a mechanic and they told me they couldn't even finish a diagnostic. They did say it obviously had to be a serious transmission problem. I had no warranty but I told the dealer they HAD to take it in. So they did and then said, "Oh it's got too many problems." We cancelled the paperwork and got rid of the car. It only had 60,000 miles on it too!!! The brakes were horrible too. Basically this is a really bad car since the previous owner took really good care of the car and it STILL died prematurely. Please. Do not get this car. Dodge Stratus and Dodge Intrepied aren't reliable. Please do your research and pay the extra for an import.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

money pit

by Bailey from Vernon, CT on Wed Jun 17 2009

I bought this car in 2006 as my first car. I drove it for about two weeks before the computer chip connected to the transmission gave out. That cost about $2000 to repair. That was the most costly problem, but it certainly wasn't the only one. since then, the washer fluid sprayer has fallen off, the anti-freeze container is cracked (causing my engine to literally freeze three times while I was driving), the bumper fell off for absolutely no reason, and the tire fell off not once, but twice. I am a safe driver, and there is no reason all of these things should have happened. Obviously Dodge nor the dealer took any responsibility for these problems, so I paid full price to repair everything. Overall, this is a cheaply made car that ends up costing way more than its worth. Otherwise, its decent on gas and its really attractive looking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Car

by Jack from on Fri Apr 04 2014

When going fast car shakes. Tire popped in a week. The panel is broke on the car. The gas goes by quick.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Read this

by THE TRUE from on Sat Feb 27 2010

This Car has motor problem,smoking volve cover gaskit... smell like oil smoke really bad if you stay on the gas while driving..."Run it" and u will c wht im tlkin about!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2