2004 Stratus

Consumer Reviews

2004 Dodge Stratus

$667 - $5,575  MSRP Range
2004 Dodge Stratus

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

32 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Dodge Stratus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very happy with purchase

by Snert from Little Chute, WI on Wed Sep 29 2010

Just got done putting over 500 miles on this car in two days. Gas mileage came in at 29 mpg driving highway speeds. I have got the SXT model with a 2.4l SOHC engine, automatic trans. This engine has got real good power for a 4 cylinder. Front seat interior comfort is good, controls laid out within easy reach. Alot of equipment which would be options on other cars in this range are standard.The only draw back is the back seat room. If you have kids it would be fine, adults a little tight. For child seats LATCH safety anchors are well placed. Trunk is roomy for a coupe. So far I am very satified with the purchase.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING CAR!

by chris from NY on Mon Feb 20 2012

Great car over all.. Its underrated and over looked some times.. But trust me when i tell you that you will NOT be disponted!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, totally got my money's worth

by Silver from Texas on Fri Apr 10 2015

I bought my 04 Stratus SXT new and drove it daily for over 10 yrs. I put this car through the paces and it rarely disappointed. I had the 6 cyl engine, got decent mileage. I only ever had two "big" problems with this car (over 10 years!!). One was a cracked piece for the radiator and then I had a blown fuse (after 8+ years). It happened a few more times, particularly in cold weather. Just kept some in the car to change out. It did develop an oil leak, but not bad enough to justify the cost to repair, so just added oil more often. This car was hit a couple of times, but with a few repairs to the body continued to perform like a champ. The interior had started detoriating and the headlights were in need of replacing just due to being outside for 10 years. Normal wear & tear after nearly 200K miles. If you can find one in decent shape, would be a great car for first time driver. Not full of technology, just a solid car. I'm sure by now most of them have seen better days, but I don't think I ever regretted owning this car. Was a little sad to see her go.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, kept me safe

by Lucky! from Mountains, NC on Thu Dec 17 2009

We had the 2.4 sxt model sedan for 5 years. It has given us no major mechanic problems, just new breaks and tires and a weld to a crack in the exhaust manifold til 83,000 miles. Ride comfort was good (I'm 6'5" so it cant be great for me unless it's a BIG car...)and the handling and performance were great, especially on tight twisty mountain roads in NC. Fuel efficiency was OK...getting low to mid 20s around town and the highway in the mountains. I've read some people had paint fade issues...no such thing with us, it looked great still. Anyway, yesterday I had a head-on collision with a Saturn of similar size, our combined speeds were about 40 mph at collision. I walked out with some muscle aches in my back and neck (that's just in all crashes) and some carpet burn to my forehead where my head met the roof liner. Apart from that I am fine- the safety systems of the car (I was using the seatbelt and the airbag deployed) obviously worked very well to keep me safe. Overall I am VERY sad that this car appears to be totalled...I doubt with the extensive body damage it will be repaired. I really do recommend this car for someone who wants good performance and adequate gas mileage in what is now a very affordable second hand vehicle (Not speaking about mine in particular!)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VERY DEPENDABLE AND ECONOMICAL

by REV. from AMITE CITY, LOUISIANA on Wed Jun 26 2013

I'M VERY "HAPPYGLAD" WITH MY RECENT PURCHASE OF MY 2004 DODGE STRATUS. AS I SORT TO PURCHASE A RELACEMENT VEHICLE I APPROACHED THE DISCISION WITH AN OPEN MIND AS TO THE TYPE OF VEHICLE; THUS DODGE WAS MY CONCLUSION.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

excellent driver

by big jim from texas on Sat Feb 23 2008

not sohot with four banger engine but sn excellent driver and good mileage on regular gas-I would buy another if this one ever wears out

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, makes you feel completely safe inside!

by Romain from Palo Alto on Fri Jul 12 2019

A car with every thing you need, good value for that price range. If you like Sedans, I think this is more than a decent pick. I had a great time travelling with it, feeling comfy and perfectly safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Phoenix from RI on Thu Sep 07 2017

The R/T version of this car is sporty, comfortable and fun to drive. The 5 speed manual shifts nice and smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for what we paid for it

by AC from Wilkes-Barre pa. on Tue Mar 05 2019

We needed a spare car..found it on craigslist for$1200..took it for a ride and bought it on sight...has the V6.. it has xxxxx it has 111,450 mi. on it a little rust..i like it so much i made it my daily driver..1 note it was well maintained and i plan on keeping it that way...like with any car if not taken care of they turn into junk soon..this 1 will last me a long time..it has made us a great car..very happy with it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but not easy to work on yourself.

by CertifiedBasshead from Vincennes, IN on Mon Apr 09 2018

This car seems solid, it has a nice sound for a 4-banger, and doesn't seem too unreliable yet. If you need a roomy, reliable car as your grocery-getter and daily driver, I recommend. If you like working on your cars yourself, and prefer not to always take it to a shop, sadly, I do not recommend for a DIYer. I mean, the battery is in the quarter panel in front of the driver front tire well, so, not even easy to replace a battery, that's a snapshot. Also, if you meet another car on that corner, it might not end well for the battery... Runs and drives well. I use high-mileage full-synthetic oil, and I use Lucas Oil products, because so far they have never let me down, but have gotten me out of so many pickles, so I run their additives in my tranny, engine, and power steering, as preventative maintenance. (No this is not an ad for Lucas, I just recommend, as preventative maintenance is often more effective than when the problem is already big enough to be noticeable.) The A/C even still works after a low-speed collision with underride (I rear-ended a 2010's-ish Dodge Journey, and, as IIHS puts it well, the high cost of mismatched bumpers...) So, overall, I'm happy. I like to work on my own cars, so that's the only part that I don't really like about this car, is that Chrysler seems to want you to take it to them, because they have made it almost as difficult as possible to work on yourself. Oh, and, letting people know, it might take getting used to, as, not a bad thing, but the larger, not-so-sensitive steering ratio and rather comfortable, soft suspension does kinda give it the floating feeling, like the handling of a boat. In all, great car, for a family that isn't too car-savvy. But if you like to work on cars yourself, might I recommend a Crown Victoria or Impala, or other mid-to-full-size sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2004 Dodge Stratus

The technical term is mid-cycle freshening.

That means with the next-generation Stratus not due to arrive until the 2006 model year, it’s time for Dodge to use cosmetics to touch up age marks on the old model.

And that means new front fascia and grille treatment as well as some equipment upgrades to make Stratus a bit more appealing as it awaits eventual replacement.

We tested the ’04 Dodge Stratus SXT sedan, which, along with its cousin Chrysler Sebring (Transportation, June 29), will undergo a remake for ’06 when it switches to a new platform developed by Mitsubishi.

To cut costs, Chrysler called upon Mitsubishi, in which it owns a controlling interest, to develop the... Read More