Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Viper

Consumer Reviews

2008 Dodge Viper

$30,803 - $89,055  MSRP Range
2008 Dodge Viper

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Dodge Viper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking and performing car I have ever owned.

by zbgy1 from TX on Fri Mar 30 2018

I love this car. I was going to buy one 9 years ago but bought a corvette instead. I wish I had bought the viper then now that I own one. The Viper can put more power to the ground than any other car I have owned. The exhaust note is awesome. The styling of this car is unbelievable and more of a work of art than a car. The car accelerates hard and you had better have the the wheels pointed straight or it will get sideways. The only cons on the car is its a little difficult to get into and limited rear visibility but it’s handling,stopping power and acceleration make up for its short comings.This car may not be for everyone but for a true sports car enthusiast to me its the perfect car .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

will kick your a**!

by Snake owner from Texas on Mon Apr 04 2011

Wow the car is extremely powerful and if you dont respect it you will be bite by this snake. Acceleration is crazy and it stops on a dime. Handling is great but you will occasionaly loose control if you floor it. This car is not for drivers who are weak at heart! The cockpit is tight and will take time to get used to but puts you in the racer enviroment. Will give you a lot of stares and thumbs up but will sometimes bring too much attention lots of people will like to toy around to see this beast perform (usually kids) but you will need to be descipline. Overall great performing car pretty tricky at first but you will get used to it. Not really a daily driver more for the nice days. Great looking car can stare at it for days and this is the funnest vehicle I have owned. Be careful and enjoy the ride in this beast!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This Viper has Fangs

by grumpit from Georgetown, TX on Tue Dec 25 2012

When the Viper Coupe (GTS) was reborn in the SRT10, I was wowed by the styling--it captures all the aggressive 'charm' of the original, but takes it to the next level. From the beautiful and functional vented hood, side-exit exhaust to the rear difffuser. As a piece of sculpture, it could take pride of place in any art gallery. But in reading the reviews, I was disappointed to hear about the lack of edginess in overall driving to inprecise gear selection. All I can say is that I found the complete opposite to be true. The Viper has venom in its fangs! The tune allows uneventful driving in neighborhood traffic, school zones or Walmart parking lots, but give it some throttle and you had better be on your game. As for gear selection, I found the short-throw shifter to be precise with never any fear of selecting the wrong set of cogs. Sure, the transmission is a noisy box of cogs, but nothing to spoil the fun. I won't deny the interior is somewhat understated, and could probably have stood a little more work, but this is a driver's car for sure, and everything you need is there, making for a decent cockpit to pilot this rocketship. Thank goodness for the adjustable pedals, allowing my 6' 3" frame a workable driving position. There is a ton of headroom, but it still requires someone of my height to slump down in the seat a little to see traffic lights or overhead road signs. Seat-lowering kits are available if that becomes too much of a chore. If you want a sporty grocery-getter or chariot to the local golf-course, this is not the car for you. The trunk barely has room for a dozen golf balls, and getting in and out requires a deep breath and a plan for the less athletic among us, but the Viper was never built for that. If you want a car that can give even the most accomplished driver the chance to test their limits, the Viper will deliver. And, yes, I know the Corvette has its admirers, and the Z06 or ZR1 will give this Viper a run for its money on the racetrack, you will never get more attention and positive comments than if you pull up in this car. Despite the excellence of the 2013 model (and who couldn't love the underhood or in-car shots) for me the 2008-2010 Viper Coupe is the perfect marriage of aggression and beauty of styling and performance, with more than enough power for most mortals. Although it could have benefitted from the traction control of the new model!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Highs and Lows of Gen 4 ownership

by DrewGwin from Herrin, IL on Wed Jan 04 2017

There are so many positives to list I could talk all day: the acceleration, the agility, the stopping power, the seat comfort, the STARES you get from everyone. I own a 2009 ACR and it is simply amazing! The only feature I don't care for is the electronic throttle position (I prefer cable). Other than that, this car is beyond fun. If you ever try to buy one here are things to check: car cover and bag, owners manual, air pump, TIRES. And be careful not to floor it when the tires are cold. You will be lucky to avoid the wall if you do.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beast!

by Viperman from on Mon Apr 10 2017

Best car I have ever owned. Vipers are a beast on the road. Very comfortable once you get in. Not built for the bigger people. 6.3 is the tallest u would suggest.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW!!!!!!!!!

by nich from orlando, florida on Thu Jul 26 2007

this is a good car to have on the road. it has good handling with lots of horse power. the top speed is about 200mph. alot of torque in the car for two people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good car

by nick from orlando,florida on Tue May 08 2007

this is a good car to have on the road and its really fast. the top speed is about 200mph. you might want this car to have for a while. its a cool car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most powerful car I have ever driven .

by SteveC from Washington NC on Sat Jan 07 2017

This car is not for the weak hearted. Nailing this car from a 20 roll will have you paying a lot of attention with the heart beating going crazy. I'm a Mopar guy so when I wanted a sports car this was a no brainer. It gets just as much attention as the 1970 440+6 Cuda convertible I owned previously.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Dodge Viper SRT

by ngnear1989 from Omaha, NE on Thu Apr 05 2018

This is one extremely fast car that draws attention where every you go. It's a pure enjoyment to drive. One of the best priced Vipers on the market. At this price, this car will not be around long as the temperatures increase. I really enjoyed having this car but I have out grown the car show phase of my life.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2008 Dodge Viper

Say the words "Dodge Viper" in mixed company and you're sure to get a few words back, some of which I can't repeat here. The word that comes to my mind is "respect," ranging from respect for Dodge's audacity in producing this model in the first place to the respect required when driving one of the most powerful, fastest cars we have tested.

The Viper SRT10 is the least driver-friendly car we've evaluated in the sense that a racecar set loose on a city street can be very unfriendly if you don't leave the Big Gulp and cell phone behind, know what you're doing, and pay close attention at all times — the word "coddle" isn't in the Viper's vocabulary. That said, the 2008 Viper is more livable than... Read More