Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2014 500e

Consumer Reviews

2014 FIAT 500e

$6,365 - $10,429  MSRP Range
2014 FIAT 500e

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 FIAT 500e?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nice little car

by nomo gas guy from Woodland HIlls on Sat Dec 21 2013

This is the 3rd electric car I have owned. All have been charged by our solar panels. 1. MINI E 2. Nissan Leaf 3 Fiat 500e I think the 500e is the best of the three. Loads of fun to drive. Super inexpensive to own and drive. 80-90 mile range fully charges in less than 4 hours:)))))))

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super low maintenance!

by Classictruckman from Chandler, Arizona on Sat Sep 16 2017

With 90 miles of range on a charge, it meets all my daily local driving needs, for pennies. Costs me about $1.65 to charge from empty. Only real maintenance is air in tires, and the onboard 12v system battery, other than that, just plug it in and drive it. Very comfortable, great quality and features, and a tremendous value in a used vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2014 Fiat 500e Sport w/ moonroof

by AC from Chandler, AZ on Mon Jul 17 2017

1st time electric vehicle owner. Pickup from 0-45 is outstanding because of the torque, electric engine all power immediate. Reviews say handling and pickup better than standard Fiat 500, on par with turbo Abarth version. Feels like it! Small car good for 2 adults and gear. Perfect in city car or daily commuter. 85-100 miles per charge depending on how you drive it and if you use air conditioning. Obviously air-con and hills will drain battery faster. Standard charger 120 volt will take 24 hours for full charge if you're at 5% or lower. 50% takes 12 hours. However, will be much faster with a 240 volt charger or at a 240 volt public charge station. Battery design adds 600 lbs. to car but it is spread along length and base from front to back making car balanced and handles better because of this. Styling is retro modern with leatherette heated seats, full color LED speedometer and fuel screen. Moonroof opens like it's a semi convertible. Very happy so far, battery has an 8 year warranty, so will see how long it lasts. Comparing to gas version of car, this gets an equivalent of 125 mpg. Safety - 4 star crash test, 8 airbags including knee, steel cage, crumple zone safety. Took the plunge as a first time electric car but really happy with it so far! Read various car websites online reviews and review videos about 500e, most positive and deservedly so. Positives - MPG can't be beat! Electric, styling, pickup, handling, fun to drive Negatives - size is small, don't know reliability yet but battery has manufacturer 8 year warranty standard, 80-100 mile range but if u commute local it's more than enough, charging time

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a blast

by Vnorvi from San Diego on Mon Mar 26 2018

This is our second 500, and our first electric. The car is of course wonderfully styled. It is amazingly comfortable for the size. With the seat folded we can easily make big Costco runs, we are getting use to what is needed with an electric to avoid range anxiety. The range and charging time are exactly as advertised. Our gas 500 was the most reliable car I have ever owned, and this shouldn’t even require maintenance. We have solar so the cost of driving has basically gone to 0. Amazing car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Electrifying! Love driving this thing

by Bluechip from Dover, AR on Fri Oct 20 2017

I am 33 miles with a little over half freeway, each way. I use 58% of my battery each way. Added level 2 16amp charger and now I can be fully charged by lunch, and have all night to top off at 115v athome. Smooth Quiet and peppy. hard to keep under 80 on the interstate, so smooth. Really fun to drive!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kiss paying at the pump goodbye

by itsrixx from Sacramento, CA on Tue Sep 11 2018

If you do most of your driving around town and within 40 miles of your house you can essentially stop paying for gas. Before you consider an electric vehicle, you may have to consider your daily commute length in miles, whether you have a 220v plug inside of your garage or if you do not have a garage, if you have one nearby on an exterior wall. I have neither, but I do have a free charger 1 mile from my house which is not inconvenient to use at all. The best charging network in my area is Chargepoint. I recommend downloading the apps, and driving around looking at utility companies and city facilities to see what kind of free charging options may be near by. I have had no problems always charging for free and in fact in about a month, I've never paid for a charge. If you can charge within 1 mile of your house it's not inconvenient at all and the chargepoint app lets you monitor your charge and lets you see when chargers become available. If you do have to pay for charges, the cost to charge this up 12x at home based on average electricity costs and about 1000 miles a month is about $20 in most of the country, maybe even less. If you live in CA or HI, you can expect double or triple that price. IN CA if you have PGE especially. We got ours used with 16k miles on it out the door for $9,600 as our main car and a gas guzzling 12-14mpg 20 year old SUV as our just in case we need to go far car (which we plan to replace with a 40+ mpg hybrid within 3 years or a used chevy BOLT or Tesla 3) Prior to getting this car I was paying about $280 on average and up to $500 a month for fuel. The payment + full coverage is $180 a month. If I dumped all the savings onto the payment I'd have it comfortably paid off in 3-4 years and then would just be racking up hundreds of dollars in savings every month until the battery breaks. Biggest downside so far: Fiat dealerships are few and far between, they know they don't make money on repairs for these cars because there's not much to break on them other than some suspension and potentially some electrical components. We hit a curb and had to have it towed to a dealership, you have to request a flat bed, some tow truck drivers aren't familiar with how to tow these vehicles, and then the dealership lied to me about and told me the tire I had on the car was no longer produced and that I needed to replace all four tires. Other downsides: FORGET about being able to use the A/C as you please and especially the heater. These two features eat up energy like you would not believe. If you live in a very warm climate and can't get by with the windows down, it might be a deal breaker. Same for very cold places. The seats are heated which is nice in cold weather but if you live in like Michigan or something it might not be enough. The interior is pretty plasticky and the overall fit and finish of the car isn't great. We drove a spark too and just couldn't find one that was as great of a bargain, but the fit and finish is much better and the dealer network for Chevy is much larger than Fiat (at least where I live). Battery cost is prohibitive. Things I've read online place a replacement battery at around $23,500 to $36,000. I did find re-manufactured batteries online for $3500 but IDK. In California, the batteries are mandated by law to be protected for 8 years or 100k miles. If the battery goes bad after that, it may be a big paper weight. The Spark is no longer made, but currently the battery replacement cost per the dealership was $6000. Bottom line: This car is not for everybody, but if you do mostly city driving and especially if you're taking miles off of a car that is very inefficient, this could be the right car for you. There are definite trade-offs but they have been mostly a non-issue.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first EV

by 6Choose3 from on Mon Mar 20 2017

Great styling; looks like a typical 500 unlike other EVs that have more awkward styling. Range is one of the best that I've researched. Only had for a week, and loving it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun electric

by Marius from Brea, CA on Tue Jun 06 2017

Very fun to drive, use it to commute 25 miles each way to work. Need to charge it for about 3 hrs a day. Overall saves $7 on gas per day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

145MPG Oh Yeah!

by Professional Driver from FL on Wed Aug 02 2017

Best way to commute. No gas stops, accelerates faster than most cars. Responsive & reliable. XM radio, automatic temp controls & bluetooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my little Electric Car

by Danamo from Chicago IL on Mon Dec 18 2017

I love this little car, it has great range and is perfect for driving around the city. It seems to be very reliable so far and is very practical for the way I use it. We plug it into 110v night, and it charges just fine. My work round trip is about 40 miles, and even with the heat cranking, I have plenty of miles left when I get home. This car is saving us a ton of money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3