1996 Aspire

Consumer Reviews

1996 Ford Aspire

$646 - $1,898  MSRP Range
1996 Ford Aspire

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Ford Aspire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best Beater I'Ve Owned

by Average Driver from Saskatoon Sk. Canada on Sat Nov 04 2006

I actually just recently bought my 96' Aspire and it is the best beater ive owned. It is perfect for driving around town and it is excellent in parking lots. Ive only done the regular tune-ups and the timing belt. The only time i find these smaller cars lacking is in the snow, but it is still manageable. I think i will buy another aspire when the time comes. I would love to get another automatic but I want a/c.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just keeps going and going and going

by LOVE MY LITTLE CAR from Plains of Colorado on Fri Nov 30 2007

I purchased this car about 4 years ago with a little over 100,000 miles--i think paid 1200 for it--and it is now very near the 200,000 mile mark! 8) I never expected it to last so long, and esp with so few repairs! timing belt, cv joints & fuel pump, thats it, other than an oil change every 3000 miles. what a little gem! If it only had cruise, I would not be looking for another car now! oh and the stereo quit on it, the guys at Best Buy couldnt figure out where the problem was for sure, thought it was in the dash. But I will still keep old reliable, she has been very good to me!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All terrain little car

by inwinter from NM on Mon Sep 14 2009

snow, rain, mud, or the open highway this car is going to get you there. even if it gives out or get stuck it lite, so easy to push. This car has roam the country, all lower 48 states, including greece and a little island guam. The only problem i had with it is fuel pump, and the little bugger mileage is coming at 270000. The secert to a car long life maintenance.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Proven to be a very good 'investment'

by michigan chick from Ann Arbor, Michigan on Wed Oct 27 2010

Bought mine 8 yrs ago for $1,000 bucks (69,000 miles on it). I've never had a major repair -- only maintenance. Gas mileage aroung 29 per. Yeah, it's a weeny little engine, but it doesn't quit. Plus, I haven't had a speeding ticket in 8 years, either. (!) With 150,000 miles on it, my biggest problem is rust that's starting to show. I plan to drive it until it's DONE. Just a really good, scrappy little car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford Aspires

by Chris from arizona on Sat Apr 09 2011

Great cars, I bought mine with 32,000 on it back in 2000. I paid 3,000 for it then. This guys is wanting 3777 for his. Bluebook is only 1500.00 on this car. The car is a great car but you are not going to get that kind of money for it..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car that I have ever owned

by Reliable Car from Omaha, Nebraska on Wed Feb 16 2011

I paid only $1600.00 for this car and I had it for 6 years. This car was so reliable and great on gas. The only work that I had done on it was the brakes, tune-ups, tires and also oil and fluid changes. I would own one of these cars again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable car with an unbeatable price!!!

by Lindsey LA Car fan! from Lafayette,La on Tue Nov 28 2017

This car had all my needs! Reliable, comfortable and stylish. Great for road trips or for just running your every day errands with or without the kids. Not a high maintenance vehicle which is a huge perk, like I said reliable. Comfortable leg room in the front and back and affordable. If you were looking for a basic vehicle to get you to and from work this car is a great option to look into. Ford makes great vehicles and I would recommend this one to someone with a small family or a single person that just needs a good set of wheels and is low maintenance. Ford has high quality vehicles they put hundred percent into every vehicle they make so give it a test run!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1