2016 C-Max Energi

Consumer Reviews

2016 Ford C-Max Energi

$13,947 - $20,539  MSRP Range
2016 Ford C-Max Energi

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Ford C-Max Energi?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable car

by EloiseR from Orono, ME on Thu Mar 16 2017

This car is ideal for me - a plug in hybrid that is in my price range. I seldom drive more than 15 miles in a day, which means that I almost never use the gasoline engine. The car is fun to drive, easy for me to get in and out of and comfortable. It is generally easy to clear it from snow (I live in Maine, no garage), although the recess for the windshield wipers could be better designed - ice gets stuck in the recess and is very hard to remove. There is limited cargo room because of the battery, but at this point in my life I don't need a lot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

perfect fuel efficient car

by Cotton Thompson from Baltimore, Md on Thu Feb 22 2018

This car is great on gas and meets all of my needs, perfect size, and all the right tech gadgets I need.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Love/Hate relationshop

by Encinorvr from Los Angeles on Thu May 18 2017

The first month of ownership the car was in the shop most of the time for a problem: complete loss of all electrical power. Even the power locks didn't work to open a door. So much aggravation it took away any joy of the "new car experience." The dealership had no solution. At one point the manager told me he has a lot full of c max cars that mysteriously just go dead. They were able to fix my car so it didn't die every night as often, but I bought a portable battery booster, and it is very compact, sleek and reliably jump starts the car every time I get stuck now. I keep the charger in the glove box. You never know when it will be needed. It is almost 1 year since I leased the car and it has less than 5000 miles on it. It is such a great riding car, when it runs, that is. Very high end fit and finish. I can't believe Ford has had this problem for years and years and has been unable to come up with a fix. The MSRP is "only" $37,500. I know some of you reading this are thinking I must be doing something wrong. I get your disbelief. Yes, I contacted a lawyer to file a lemon law claim, but then I was transferred to another state. That's another story.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Performance for a Hybrid

by Testpilot94550 from Livermore, Ca on Sat Oct 21 2017

The vehicle is comfortable, handles well, is quiet and easy to get in and out of. The Sync 3 audio system works nicely

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best of the Best

by Ron B from Flat Rock, MI on Sat Dec 16 2017

This vehicle has all of the comfort features and also rapid response handling. Average MPG of 38 MPG for a driver that accelerates fast and uses passing gear relatively often.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car, EV Range is too short

by KenW from Lake Orion, MI on Wed Jul 26 2017

This is a very nice car. I love that I can plug it in and charge it over night. I would like to see better EV range. Also the battery consumes a large portion of the rear storage area, reducing the car's practicality. This vehicle needs a dedicated platform to allow the batteries to go under the floor. The new Sync 3 system is great. Very responsive, unlike prior Ford systems. The only dislike is the Navigation commands. It is is not intuitive, nor can you use natural language like Google Maps can.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very reliable and comfortable, just poor EV range

by SoCalIf from Simi,CA on Sun Aug 20 2017

Bought one in 2013, now 2016, and for Ford to not extend the EV range, considering other manufacturers EV advancements, baffles me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for local trips

by robbratton from Monroeville, PA on Sat Jun 02 2018

I'm very happy with this PHEV. It's too soon for me to move to an electric. I would lease it again. I'll probably lease another PHEV when my lease is up next year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1