1999 Escort

Consumer Reviews

1999 Ford Escort

$505 - $4,181  MSRP Range
1999 Ford Escort

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

36 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Ford Escort?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Ford Escort ZX2

by Loyal Ford Customer from Chicago, IL on Thu May 18 2006

I purchased my new Ford Escort ZX2 in May of 1999, and am still driving it today. It has been a very reliable car. My only gripe is that my alternator had to be replaced after 3 years, as did my tie rods. Beyond that the only other service needed has been routine (brake pads, tires, oil changes, etc). Overall a good car with good gas gas mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One-of-a-kind

by Joe from Fort Lauderdale, FL on Wed Oct 20 2010

Excellent car, I bought with 37 k miles in 2002, today it has 150 K miles and iots running like a swiss watch, only basic maintenance cost (Oil, tires, one tune up at 100K, wipper blades, not even brake pads). This car runs better than any Honda and it is much more inexpensive to operate. Ford decided to drop the Escort line and replace it with Focus. Why ? Ford made the Escort line look poorly, its is a decision that looks done by the competition. They should pick a name and stick to it, like Mercedes, BMW, Porsche, Audi, and all others top brands. Using alphanumeric (335i, A-4) instead of names is a better idea.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Escort Enthusiast from Chicago on Sat Jan 29 2011

The little Escort is the best car I have ever had. I bought it 7 years ago with 63 K on it. It has now 150k and running without any problem. Not only is not leaking like other old cars, but the oil remains clean after 3k miles when I change it. The exhaust is also clean, sign that all the gas is completely burned. On highways, with a gallon of gas you can make more than 34 miles, if you keep the speed at 55 mph. Very easy and cheap to maintain. Exceptional for commuters, reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by miss Kitty from California on Thu Oct 07 2010

You can fit a LOT of stuff in the back, it gets great gas mileage, it's cheap to fix and insure - I've read that 1997-1999 are the best years for this car. I've had three of them. I'd buy another one!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good everyday car, good gas mileage.

by Ford owner from Temple, TX on Mon Apr 02 2012

I've owned my 1999 Ford Escort LX for 6 years now (From 59,000 miles to 135,000) and like it. It's older now and experiencing mechanical problems due to parts wearing out (e.g. current issue is A/C compressor). It did have to have its transmission refurbished and we decided to keep it until it was dead since it cost us $3,000 (slightly less than it was worth at the time). Gas mileage in town averages 28-29. Highway 30-31 mpg. Road noise increases with speed, noticable at 60+mph. Even at 13 years old it'll do 90mph fairly easily and controls well though anything over 73+mph really kills mpgs. Good car for the do-it-yourself mechanics out there.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Practical & Reliable

by Esmes Wheels from Chesterton, IN on Thu Dec 13 2012

I owned a '99 Escort Wagon for over 9 years. At around 145000 miles the automatic transmission gave out. Later, there was an annoying electrical problem. Nonetheless, this car never left me stranded. Over its life it gave 30.3 mpg (average). Repairs were never expensive (except the trans!).

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable on snow!!!

by ford freak from Chicago,IL on Mon Feb 09 2009

this is the best car on snow!!! and i mean chicago 2008 snow (like 8 inches). this car is small but this is the most reliable car on snow! i strongly recommend it!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i ever owned

by ford lover from columbia il on Fri Dec 31 2010

To put it simple I had a 99 escort zx2. It finaly died after 230,000. I road it hard every day and it took it, and it asked for more. Like the heading best car ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable, economical car

by Faithful Ford driver from Ann Arbor, MI on Sat Feb 28 2009

I bought my '99 Escort used in 2002. It now has 122,000 miles on it and is still a great car. I've replaced the brakes on it twice, but other than that I haven't had any repair issues. Sometimes I get frustrated that the little 4 cylinder engine doesn't accelerate as much as I'd like it to. It's a comfortable, reliable, and economical car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast and Fun

by Escort ZX2 Owner from Denver, CO on Thu Sep 07 2006

Fun to drive, handles great, quick pick-up, very comfortable, great equipment package, runs forever without much maintenance!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4