2001 Expedition

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford Expedition

$1,408 - $6,212  MSRP Range
2001 Ford Expedition

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Ford Expedition?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer

by Ford Expedition 2001 from Aspen Colorado on Tue Sep 13 2011

I recently went to purchase a new Expedition because I love my 2001 Eddie Bauer so much and when I got to the car dealership and drove some new ones, that were of course very nice, I realized my Expedition has NEVER given me any problems, it has over 100,000 miles and is a tank in the snow, safe and is excellent condition. I didn't need a new one yet because mine was still in mint condition. So I left with my old expedition and a fat savings account. My 2001 drives so nice and the leather and heated seats are great, sunroof, so easy to clean and comfortable seats 8. Why spend the money on a new one these old expeditions are built to last and solid safe cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Expedition!

by RadeRad from Tiverton, RI (near Fall River, MA). on Tue Jul 25 2006

SO comfortable and secure to drive! I love the automatic features like headlights and climate control. Wonderful leather Captains seating that move to just about every position you can imagine. The sound system is superb, and the 6-disc CD changer is great. Exceptional visibility all the way around, big side view mirrors (with built in turn signals), wonderful moon roof and rear vent windows for days you don't need the AC or heat. Handles well in the snow; great traction! For the size vehicle, great gas mileage, too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best of the best

by thumperbox from on Tue Mar 08 2011

201k miles and still like new would not trade for the world,best ride i ever owned,options are endless

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY TRUCK

by BossLady from San Diego on Thu Feb 02 2012

I was against buying a truck at 1st but I'm so glad that I did my family loves that we can travel now

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive

by rJay from Jackson, GA on Sat May 17 2014

This is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. I have 225k miles on it and it still won't stop running. I've replaced 4 out of 8 coil packs. The rear wiper has broken. Other than that, it's a beautiful vehicle. I love it a lot. Even at 13 years old, the last 0-60 test I did resulted in 8.8 seconds. It's very comfortable. I'm going to hate it when it goes, but I bet that won't be til after 300k miles. I highly recommend this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vaule for a used SUV

by PyroZach from Drums, PA on Mon Jul 24 2017

I bought one used ,Very comfortable SUV, never had any major issues, with the size and a 5.4 liter V8 gas mileage was the only major set back I could think of. With the 3rd row it would comfortably seat 6 adults and could of been pushed to 8 if necessary. With limited slip differentials it surprised me at how well a large SUV could do in a lot of off road situations too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Trustworthy Family Vehicle

by Richm3i from Charlotte Hall on Tue Jul 31 2018

We've owned this since 2004 and it has been the main family vehicle until 2 years ago since we bought a smaller vehicle (kids are grown). Most wear items replaced since, as I didn't want to part with it, but it spends more time sitting, so want to let it go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car

by Coolguy from Richmond,VA on Mon Jul 16 2018

Great vehicle for a great price. Plenty of style and luxury for the price. Not many issues after purchase. Would own another Expedition. Nice Car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a very reliable full size SUV

by Mikeyfive from Ventura, ca on Sun Jul 15 2018

We bought our 2001 Ford Expedition XLT in 2004 with 40k miles on it. It was expensive at that time, but a very clean shiny car. It is now 2018 and we still enjoy driving it (currently at 110k miles). Very comfortable inside with plenty of room for everyone. Great sound system and a smooth ride. Not the most powerful SUV, but gets us where we need to go. Fuel mileage is not too bad for such a big car. It has been very reliable for the most part. We have had to change the fuel pump, ignition coils, and the transmission was rebuilt (which was expensive), but overall it?s been a great car. We hopefully will be keeping it for another 14 years :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent family suv

by Jennifer from Lockport,IL on Wed Aug 02 2017

This is truly and excellent condition truck ,Gray leather interior in great condition. Cold air intake, air horns,new plugs. Sony bluetooth radio. No rust on chassis or rockers

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2