Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1992 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

1992 Ford Explorer

$163 - $6,367  MSRP Range
1992 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1992 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

not the best but good

by ridic from Irvington, Al. on Mon Jul 13 2009

bought the car used, drives great when runs. rebuilt engine tranny, brakes as usual. car, like I said runs good but has nit pick problems all the time but is older and lots o miles.Do wish I would have bought her new tho. Would reccomend to a friend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever had

by FordFanFromIdaho from Boise, Idaho on Thu Apr 05 2018

Bought this car when it was 2 years old, in 1994, and 24 years and over 200K miles later it is still running. Outlasted a 2007 Explorer Sport Trac, which constantly broke down. I dread having to replace it, but it is getting old. Great vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best suv ive ever had

by The 1992 bro man on Sat Jan 20 2018

Going on to 900k miles with this thing still runs great and never had any problems with it id say its one of the best out there

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable of its class

by Ford guy from NY on Mon Apr 01 2013

I can't say anything bad bout this vehicle, this is a comfortable work horse...my daughter bought it for me as a gift in 2000 and I never had any major issues with it other than regular wear and tear, mileage is now 276,000 miles and no signs of giving up....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Solid SUV, But...

by Guy with a keyboard from Bainbridge Island, WA on Tue May 27 2014

We acquired a 1992 XLT Model for just $800 about a month ago. We've owned several explorers before this from (White '91 Sport, Green '95 Eddie Bauer, Gold '00 Sport) And they have been solid cars, if a bit underpowered. However, I would recommend being VERY careful of the '91-'94 Explorers with the Automatic transmission. Just a week ago, our new-to-us '92 started puking transmission fluid out of nowhere, and we're fairly certain that it's shot. So, good cars overall, but be wary of high-mileage automatic equipped models.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Utopian from Billings, MT on Wed Feb 16 2011

I recently purchased my 92 Explorer at an auction. I had a 2000 Cavalier that was falling apart beneath me and I felt intimidated around the rest of the larger SUV's, pickups, and cars. I sent my dad, my brother, and my son to the auction to get me a temporary car to last 10 months till I finished grad school and could afford more. I love this car and it is now my permenant vehicle rather than a temporary one. It is comfortable, runs great, started all winter in subzero weather, feels heavy and stable. The only complaint I have is the stereo, factory 92 that still works. I will definitely be replacing that upon my graduation!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Terrible.

by Dodge Man from Las Vegas, NV on Sat Apr 10 2010

I recently aquired a 92 explorer with only 66k miles on it. i thought it would be great. in reality the car was awful. The brakes are horrible, the engine makes sputtering noises and the car creeks and groans upon turning. The car stalls on hills, has trouble changing gears (automatic) and can barely go above 50 mph. There is absolutely no reason that a car with only 66k miles on it should be in such shape. I have a '00 durango with 242k miles on it and strangely enough it preforms better than this horrible ford.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

25 years and it's never left me stranded.

by jimntempe from Tempe, az on Sat Apr 15 2017

25 years and 160,000 miles and in many ways it still runs like new. I wish Ford still made these. Only really weak spot is the AC just isn't up to Arizona summers. Only significant repair was the automatic transmission around 110K.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Oldgirl. Had. Her. 9. Year's 10. Months. 3888. .

by Grennbay from Wilmington on Fri Oct 27 2017

U. Can. Tell. It. Was. Frd. Ford tough. Henry. Ford. Was. Tough. Ford. Thanks. For. All. The. Yeas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1