2003 Explorer Sport

Consumer Reviews

2003 Ford Explorer Sport

$789 - $6,773  MSRP Range
2003 Ford Explorer Sport

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Ford Explorer Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

very versitile

by Vdubracer from Hampton va on Sat Dec 05 2009

I have owned 4 Explorer sports from 91-Eddie bauer 2dr-97 sport & 2 03s my wife and I drive. Aside from the fact that getting into the back seat is a little bit of a chore and the way they changed the back seat on the 03 lowering lever that takes two hands to get the seat down the sport is a joy to drive. It makes an unbelieveable U turn, tows 6000 lbs without a strain, will leave most bigger SUVs in the dust from a light,comfortable on the interstate & with the back seat down can carry 8 suv wheels and tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford explorer

by Mustang Jakey from Boston Massachusetts on Fri May 05 2017

My ford explorer was the most reliable car I've Owned .it started every time I turn the key it was great in the snow it never broke down and I could climb a rock by far the best I've owned

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury SUV

by Mark from Tucson AZ on Sat May 27 2017

So far its a great vehicle. A plesure to drive and lots of power. 2017 is the vehicle year. the drop down didn't give me the option , only went to 2003

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfection of a vehicle

by Marlon from San Jose ca on Thu May 11 2017

Excellent vehicle , love this brand , good gas, god a road, good system. Perfect colors 4fgklkhhvbbggcvhhhjkkkmmvvxfjklmoppgfsswtpljbffkljbhhh

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by 2003 ExplorerSport Owner from Milwaukee, WI on Sat Mar 14 2009

I've had my Explorer Sport for two years now. It drives wonderful in the winter snow, and it is the perfect size to pull my boat. I used to drive a malibu and I got rid of it for this truck and it's the best decision I've ever made. I'm definetly keeping it till I run it to the ground. Like the reviews say, it's a truck so it gets a little bouncy going over bumps on the pavement. Other than that, I have no complaints.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Strong Car

by fordfan from GA on Wed Jan 18 2012

I bought this car brand new in 2003. Today is 01/2012 The car has never been n the shop for mayor repairs 135000 miles. only breack and batery replacements one time. O pay 17,000 brand new manual shift. I want to buyt a new car but I need for this one to broke as noone will pay mopre than 3000 for it. I think im out of luck as this thing dont break :) Obama want it to change as a Junk car? jejejej

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I've owned

by SueJG from Port Elizabeth, NJ on Wed Apr 18 2018

This 2018 vehicle has a smooth ride. Turns on a dime. It is comfortable. I like the rear camera for backing up. the heated side view mirrors and that the rear windshield wiper has window wash. And I can adjust the seats for space as needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Mostly nice looking. Needs some things

by Peggy K from Fort Worth TX on Mon Nov 13 2017

a lot of car for the money, for someone who is mechanically inclined. A gold mine for someone who has time to part it out, or still some good usage for someone who is able to get repairs done.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Sound Vehicle

by Happy Customer from Chatham, Virginia on Mon Sep 18 2017

This is a great vehicle, with all the "bells and whistles" on it . It was a very good driving experience, and as a result, I ended up buying the vehicle. The seats were very comfortable, and the interior has more than enough room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great comfortable little SUV! Love it!

by JessicaC from Kansas City MO on Sun Aug 20 2017

Great car for me! It's not the smoothest or quietest ride but love all the features! I actually got a 2017 but wasn't an option in drop down for some reason.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 Ford Explorer Sport

The practical appeal of Ford's Explorer Sport Trac was perfectly clear when I needed to haul an inflatable moonwalk for my grandson's birthday party.

Part SUV, part truck, the Sport Trac has a full-size back seat that is big enough to hold two or three people. When you need to haul something big, like a pile of canvas that puffs up to be a moonwalk, you've got a bed that can be expanded to be almost as large as one in a pickup.

Pricing starts at $22,880 for the two-wheel-drive and ranges to $31,615 for the test vehicle, which was the XLT Premium Pioneer Edition. This special model is a $1,295 addition to the premium sport group, and it included a 485-watt Pioneer stereo with custom subwoofer, rear-window... Read More