2001 Explorer Sport Trac

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

$759 - $10,435  MSRP Range
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

33 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Omaarh from Quantico, VA on Tue Dec 30 2008

I have had this truck for 7 years now. This truck is versatile. I have used it to tow trailers with motorcycles, transport my canoe, and move heavy cargo in the bed. Remove the bolts in the back seat and wala - more cargo rome... This truck is truly a jack of all trades. The bed is very convenient and the bed cover is a must. The only thing that lacks a little is the bed length. This truck is no speed demon, but it is not built for that. The only gripe I have is that it does not come with the roof rail cross bars. This is a pricey item to get. Overall, this truck is great... A true workhorse. I would recommend this truck to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

52 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good bye old friend

by gaberoo from Boston on Sat Apr 12 2014

Bought this new in 2001. My daughter was 4 years old. 13 years and 177k miles later, she has been psyched to drive it herself. This has been such a reliable car with no work needed besides wear and tear. Until last night. It was totalled with her driving. She was OK. The truck saved her. Thanks Ford, that was a great vehicle. So long Trucky

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DEPENDABLE

by SPORT TRAC LOVER from las vegas on Fri Jul 26 2013

Got my truck @ 43,000 milage, up to now my it runs great, I only have minor repairs so far. i'm on 74,000 miles right now but it still in top condition. the only issue I had was the sensor, but it's because I went to the wrong mechanic.. Now no issue what so ever! I have a good mechanic and just maintain your truck, it will go a long way.. definitely, I'm still keeping it , ofcourse milage for the gas not so great, look? its a truck and its a 6 cylinder what do you expect? gas milage is already given.. so, dont complain bout how it consumes gas. All that matters is the performance..Im happy with it.......awesome!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 Sport Trac

by Ken from Indiana county, PA on Sat Apr 13 2013

So far so good. Have not put that many miles on it yet, but like the ride thus far. Did pu a hitch on it and looking for the right tonneau for it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, plenty of space and great interior

by SportTracFan2015 from Burlington, VT on Wed May 17 2017

Plenty of room for 5 passengers. Also, the half- bed is great for small projects and lumber. No rust due to the design and the great side boards. Great atonal cover for the bed that was hard cover.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable enjoyable vehicle to operate

by Truck enthusiast from Clinton, MD on Wed Oct 15 2008

Vehicle handled welll on highway, confortable seating, loved the rear drop down window instead of the sliding window on most trucks, only problem is he lack of power for this size engine and poor gas mileage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful!

by Mayme from Louisville,KY on Fri Aug 18 2006

Great handling, good ride, very versatile. This is the best truck I have ever owned, easy to maintain, no problems what so ever! I have used it for family vacations and trips to the hardware store to pick up lumber for my husband.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Handles well

by Joelle from Calgary, AB. on Wed May 28 2008

Cant beat it. The truck is 7 years old now, no major issues. Handles great in all weather conditions

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST TRUCK I'VE EVER OWNED

by TREX from ST.MARYS GA on Mon Sep 23 2013

I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK IN 2005 WITH 51,250 MILES ON IT AT THE TIME,IT NOW HAS 266,531 MILES WITH NO MAJOR REPAIRS HAVING TO BE DONE,JUST THE USUAL MAINTENANCE AND I PLAN ON DRIVING IT UNTIL IT DIES..JUST A GREAT OVERALL TRUCK....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this truck has been very dependable

by Terry from Payson on Fri Feb 08 2019

This truck has been the best thing for me! It is a 4 door with 4WD, and will go anywhere! Great for any use. It will tow a good load as well. I toed my 2 large sized four wheeler's without struggle in this thing! Perfect for a runaround vehicle cause it has a bed. Also when it snows you will have 4WD and will not have troubles in the snow. Also does very well off road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4