2001 Explorer Sport Trac

Consumer Reviews
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

27 Reviews
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Omaarh from Quantico, VA on December 30, 2008

I have had this truck for 7 years now. This truck is versatile. I have used it to tow trailers with motorcycles, transport my canoe, and move heavy cargo in the bed. Remove the bolts in the back seat and wala - more cargo rome... This truck is truly a jack of all trades. The bed is very convenient and the bed cover is a must. The only thing that lacks a little is the bed length. This truck is no speed demon, but it is not built for that. The only gripe I have is that it does not come with the roof rail cross bars. This is a pricey item to get. Overall, this truck is great... A true workhorse. I would recommend this truck to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Versatile and Dependable

by domesticated fan from Siloam Springs, AR on December 21, 2016

I purchased used with 200k miles on it for $1500 (seller needed Christmas money). I have paperwork for fresh trans install with less than 100 miles on it. Mine is just a 2wd model, but loaded with leather, cd, power seats, roof rack, running boards, 20" alloys, etc., and I love the rear power window. I believe Ford built this model to last. I have room for three children in the back! I also love the small, (yet just enough) bed space to haul groceries, lumber, tools, shrubs, and etc. I drove over 160 miles to buy this one and enjoy driving it. Fuel consumption is actually better than my wife's 2005 awd explorer with the 4.0 V6. I would suggest this versatile lil sport brute to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good bye old friend

by gaberoo from Boston on April 12, 2014

Bought this new in 2001. My daughter was 4 years old. 13 years and 177k miles later, she has been psyched to drive it herself. This has been such a reliable car with no work needed besides wear and tear. Until last night. It was totalled with her driving. She was OK. The truck saved her. Thanks Ford, that was a great vehicle. So long Trucky

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

DEPENDABLE

by SPORT TRAC LOVER from las vegas on July 26, 2013

Got my truck @ 43,000 milage, up to now my it runs great, I only have minor repairs so far. i'm on 74,000 miles right now but it still in top condition. the only issue I had was the sensor, but it's because I went to the wrong mechanic.. Now no issue what so ever! I have a good mechanic and just maintain your truck, it will go a long way.. definitely, I'm still keeping it , ofcourse milage for the gas not so great, look? its a truck and its a 6 cylinder what do you expect? gas milage is already given.. so, dont complain bout how it consumes gas. All that matters is the performance..Im happy with it.......awesome!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good truck, suv

by GBM from Corona California on January 30, 2008

I bought it new in 2001 and it has lasted so far 236,379 miles. Only complaint is the front brakes. Believe me. Purchase good roters and pads.Every thing else is great.Daily driver. With all my tool's in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 Sport Trac

by Ken from Indiana county, PA on April 13, 2013

So far so good. Have not put that many miles on it yet, but like the ride thus far. Did pu a hitch on it and looking for the right tonneau for it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful!

by Mayme from Louisville,KY on August 18, 2006

Great handling, good ride, very versatile. This is the best truck I have ever owned, easy to maintain, no problems what so ever! I have used it for family vacations and trips to the hardware store to pick up lumber for my husband.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, plenty of space and great interior

by SportTracFan2015 from Burlington, VT on May 17, 2017

Plenty of room for 5 passengers. Also, the half- bed is great for small projects and lumber. No rust due to the design and the great side boards. Great atonal cover for the bed that was hard cover.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Handles well

by Joelle from Calgary, AB. on May 28, 2008

Cant beat it. The truck is 7 years old now, no major issues. Handles great in all weather conditions

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable enjoyable vehicle to operate

by Truck enthusiast from Clinton, MD on October 15, 2008

Vehicle handled welll on highway, confortable seating, loved the rear drop down window instead of the sliding window on most trucks, only problem is he lack of power for this size engine and poor gas mileage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3