2002 Explorer Sport Trac

Consumer Reviews

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

$2,882 - $7,878  MSRP Range
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

32 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

AWESOME VEHICLE

by Alissa from Phx AZ on Tue Mar 25 2008

Awesome truck wanna be. It is great when going off roading and the bed is great when needing to haul small items you tipically dont want to put inside the vehicle. One problem as to why I rated it a 4 and not a 5. Gas is outragous these days and adveraging 14mpg and having to drive 60 miles a day will be the reason I have to get rid of mine. You will love it if gas is not an issue for you. ps according to the prev reviews this must be a great dane person truck or something because I have one too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac 4WD

by CTSporttrac from Bethel on Fri Apr 14 2017

Owned this truck for 15 years. She has always been dependable and great in the snow. I used her to tow a 17' boat that weighed 3500 lbs, and she always walked along with her in stride. She was a little light in the rear end and that effected cornering on wet roads in 2WD, but reasonable driving was never a problem for someone who knows how to drive within the design limits of their vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Sport Trac

by Northwoods trekker from Oshkosh, WI on Mon Jan 02 2012

Really like the 4WD on this. Handles great on the snowy and icy roads and in the woods. I have rubber flooring, so it is easy to wash, clean out when I need to. Love the get up and go of the 4.0L. Great truck and it looks sharp. Works for my family!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great used car

by Truck guy from Seagoville,Texas on Fri Aug 23 2013

The truck is wonderful smooth running,a bit larger tank than expected. I love this truck it is cute and sporty enough to drive anywhere, would have had a few different options if I could have afforded and the resale value was wonderful. Thanks for the opportunity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good truck for the money

by mistyeyes494 from Deerfield Ohio on Tue Apr 17 2012

good truck made it great throughthe winter handle great!!! Ihave driven alot of truck and this seems to handle great gas mileage is alittle better then most trucks

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Dependable... In love this truck!

by Nat from Brandon, MS on Sat Aug 13 2011

I purchased this vehicle in Oct '01 and it had 4 miles on it. Four sets of tires, regular oil changes and scheduled maintenance, and 192,811 miles later and it's still going strong. Gas mileage has never been great and the turning radius is very wide... those are my only 2 faults with this truck. I've replaced the switch for the driver power windows, a dash lite is out and the engine light stays on. Other than that... nothing but routine maintenance. I am very pleased with this truck! I hope to put another 100K miles on it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by Veronica from New Mexico on Thu Dec 18 2008

Me and my husband bought this truck and took it all the way from Ohio to New Mexico to live. We have already taken a vacation back home in it, and have had no problems. We brought the truck used, so I expected at least a few things might go wrong here and there, but nothing yet, and we have had it for 3 years now. It is pretty roomy inside, and I like the fact that we can just throw our double stroller and groceries in the truck bed. We have even hauled a washer and dryer in the back. It is a great family vehicle. The only thing that I have a complaint about is the paint. Ours has cracked in some places. That is expected though.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Okay vehicle

by nutcase from Louisville KY on Sat Jul 30 2011

Drives great and is comfortable. Will cost a lot to fill it up and gas mileage is bad for 2011 prices. Side steps have rust issues. Bought it for hunting, fishing and outdoor activities that takes one of the beaten path. Great for that. Poor gas mileage is the only problem that I have with it at todays gas prices.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Versitile SUV

by Travelwise from Murfreesboro, TN on Tue Aug 21 2007

I have hauled and gone everywhere in my SUV. From taking the Great Dane to the vet to the sandy beaches of Florida. Great ride, great handling and value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love Car but Plan on Replacing Motor

by Patoka from Greenwood, IN on Fri Jul 25 2014

Love this truck so much I replaced the engine with a Jasper Engine rebuilt at 125,000 miles. Rumor is they tend to die around this time. Jasper engine lasted for another 75,000 miles before it also died. I hate to put this truck down I like the functionality. Pulls my 19' boat, drives great in winter, I hunt with it and everything else. Comfortable back seats and covered bed is a great toy chest for my golf clubs, camping gear etc.. even in bad weather. Deciding now whether to let it die in peace or put yet another engine in it. Window regulators are beginning to also slow down a bit. Love the truck though.. would never consider swapping engines that many times for any other vehicle I own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4