2003 F-250

Consumer Reviews

2003 Ford F-250

$3,335 - $19,507  MSRP Range
2003 Ford F-250

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

29 Reviews
79% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Ford F-250?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

great truck with the 7.3L diesel engine

by truck nut from Union, MO on Fri Jul 24 2009

I,ve had a 2003 w/ the 7.3L turbo diesel since new off the lot. Best motor ever. Never had any problems. Had a recall on a sensor. Motor runs like the day I got it. 182k miles, seems like it's just breakin in. On the highway rides like a Caddy. Tough to parallel park, even w/ short bed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Ford F250 best truck yet

by Winner from Georgetown, TX on Sun Mar 11 2012

I have owned this truck since brand new, 250,000 road miles. Only on it's 3rd set of tires, these tires last forever on this truck with a great ride. Changed oil every 5000 miles since new. No oil leakage whatsoever and just starting to use a quart every 1000 miles. I never thought a Ford could be this good!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for all your Outdoor and Towing Needs

by Ford Man from Idaho on Mon Aug 14 2006

If you need towing/hauling capability without bottoming the springs and losing performance...this is your truck. Mileage on my 7.3L Diesel runs about 19 city, and 23-25 highway. The six-speed manual is great for towing and mountain driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fine F250 xlt

by Spp37064 from Franklin, tn on Tue Mar 04 2014

I bought my F250 new in Jan 2003. This is the 5.4 gas/auto 4 x 4. The truck has never let me down in 177k miles. I drive it gently, take care of the service and have zero complaints. I pull a two horse bumper pull trailer and she does just fine. These are great vehicles and I will buy another F250 when the time is right.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MY THIRD FORD DIESEL, LOVE THEM ALL

by TORQUE FANATIC from HOUSTON on Wed May 31 2006

Great truck, tremendous motor. Very torquey. Very reliable. No maintenance issues ever. Only feature I don't like is that auto shifter is finicky about getting car in reverse. Reverse works fine, but shifter must be in precise position.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owned 12 years

by Steve P. from Franklin, TN on Fri Jul 17 2015

I've owned this pickup since it was new. It's a 5.4 gas 4x4 Crew Cab automatic. The truck now has 178 k-plus miles. I am reluctant to get a newer truck because I have had such great service. You need to understand the gas engine does not pull like the diesel. You need to understand the ownership cost of the gas engine is much less than the diesel. If you are looking to buy an older pickup, take a look at the '03 F250 Crew Cab. It will do a great job for you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Strong Work Truck

by Estate from Phoenix, Az on Mon Jun 12 2017

Amazing and Strong motor. Nice smooth transmission. Perfect work Truck. It is my daily driver to the store and around town. But I have used it to pull a 24ft toy hauler from Phoenix to Flagstaff. It runs great even with a pallet of block in the bed of the truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

forget the 6.0, buy the 7.3 or even the V10!

by allhoursservice from Lodi, CA on Tue Mar 11 2014

I've had more Powerstrokes than most people, both as tow trucks, and personal trucks. I happened to buy the 6.0 brand new and what a piece of garbage International came up with for FoMoCo this time! Half the amount of head bolts (leading to blown head gaskets, loss of compression, etc.)! I traded the fine 6.0 in within a week for a 7.3 that now has over 400,000 miles on the original engine! The 7.3 has seventeen head bolts if I remember off the top of my head. And maintenance on it is pretty easy. Oh, and I CAN pass whomever I wish, WITHOUT A CHIP/PROGRAMMER. Remember, they greatly shorten the life of your diesel if you turn them up too high!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Ford F-250

by Workhorse from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Nov 01 2010

This is the best truck I have owned. It is a workhorse - strong, reliable, tough looking with plenty of power, traction and hauling capacity to get the job done. Great on or off road in all conditions: wet, sand, snow. Raw power, great looks! 4x4, V8, Tow Package

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Inexperienced buyer got a 6.0 diesel

by Wayne from Columbus, Ohio on Sun Jun 08 2014

I priced several used F-250 pickups in the $3500 to $5000 price range. This one had the 6.0 diesel. It started easily and sounded OK. During the test drive I noticed that it smoked a lot. The used car dealer said "all diesels smoke a lot, but thats not a problem". After getting home I put injector cleaner in the fuel. The smoking continued. Then, I got on the internet and found out that the 6.0 is a bad engine with dozens of problems. Very few of the problems are normal on other diesel pickup models. None of the repairs are inexpensive or guaranteed to cure all the problems. Skip the 6.0 diesel in 2003 thru 2007 Ford models. Even at a bargain price its "no bargain".

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Ford F-250

Growl, growl, growl, growl.

Anyone who drives a diesel knows that familiar sound, a continuous rolling, rattling reminder of what's under the hood.

Diesels have come a long way in the past decade. They're cleaner, quieter and more responsive, and emit less smoke or fuel-oil smell. For 2003, Ford has a new turbocharged diesel V-8 for its big Super Duty pickup trucks.

In the F-250 SuperCab tested here, the 6-liter Power Stroke diesel provided remarkable torque and brisk acceleration. The on-board computer registered overall fuel mileage of about 17.5 miles per gallon for this 5,600-pound behemoth.

Big trucks are almost the only place where you find diesels in the United States... Read More