Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Focus

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Focus

$1,400 - $5,960  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Focus

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

37 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Ford Focus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly satisfied

by ortrucker40 from Keizer, OR on Tue Dec 07 2010

I bought this Focus in May 2010. It's a ZTS (4-dr sedan), 5 speed manual, 2.3 liter engine, fully loaded. You wouldn't know it by it's looks, but it's quick. Handling is second to none. The cloth seats are soft and very comfortable. The manual shifter feels smooth. This Focus has tilt and telescopic steering. The car sits higher than most other compacts, making it easier to get in and out. Most buttons and switches are large and easy to find. I do have some minor complaints. The seat doesn't go back far enough for tall guys. The center console gets in the way of the shift lever. The trunk lid is high up, making it hard to see while backing. The battery sits near the center of the engine compartment, crowding out major engine components. Overall, the '04 Focus is a sweet ride and fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

svt focus

by focustech from Dallas, Texas on Wed Apr 27 2011

This is my second svt focus and my 5th focus overall, I have enjoyed all but one of them(2006). The most recent one is an 04 svt 3 door. It has the winter package with heated seats, they need a low setting (they get too hot). The ac blows ice cold but it can be a little loud on the high speed fan setting. The engine has alot of power and shifting through the 6 speed transmission is fun and sporty. It has alot of style and is a great variation of the focus, worth the extra coin if your already looking at a focus. almost forgot I am not a small sized person and would recomend the 3 door if you are a little on the king(or queen) size.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice

by Elaine from Los Angeles, CA on Fri May 06 2011

I really like my Ford Focus. It looks good and handles well. However, I have had to purchase another transmission, which was truly disappointing.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best small car

by st from on Wed Aug 07 2013

Original owner, now with 60K miles. great value with all the SVTperformance package & options included. Fun to drive. Average 28.5- 30.5 mpg combined commuting & around town. Just did the brakes for first time, Nothing else on the whole car replaced. except You do have to be careful on the low profile wheels/tires as potholes can cause sidewall damage and wreck a tire. I switch to regular Focus wheels/tires for winter; they fit OK over SVT larger front brakes. 3 dr. model is easy to get in and out for a 200 lb man. - (one reason I bought the car) plus fun factor for an economy car & HID's lamps and side airbags.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Johnson from Tucson, AZ on Mon Dec 21 2009

I've owned a 2004 Focus for over 3 years now, and I love it. Great fuel mileage, fun to drive, fantastic handling, and excellent reliability -- the only OEM parts I've had to replace besides a window regulator were parts I personally damaged in the first place. However, I have the 130hp 2.0L Zetec engine, and I wouldn't recommend buying a sedan or wagon with the 110hp 2.0L Split Port engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid small car that handles like a european

by Jackfish from Calgary, AB on Wed Apr 25 2007

ZTW package with upgraded suspension and Pirelli tires handles great, but a little underpowered. Pick the 5 speed, a little more responsive. Lots of room for a 6 footer. Great side & rear visibility. Interior is great in leather and the dashboard is more European than the '05 - '07 models. Rear seats down give you a large flat cargo area. Sad to hear the wagon won't be available for '08.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun!fun!fun! And cheap to own I love it!

by love the focus from Oregon coast on Mon Nov 12 2007

It is fun to drive, and cheap to own. I can fit my friend in it without complaining, and still have room for camping gear. I have had no problem with proformence, and infact it's a toughf little car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ford focus

by cc from Swansea, South Carolina on Sun Nov 03 2013

Shopping thru cars.com was easy, useful and I got the car I wanted for the price I wanted to spend, it was easy to shop Cars .com first so I went straight to the dealership to find the car. The dealer even drove the vehicle out to our place so we could try it out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is an Awesome car

by Mustang & SVT Focus Driver from Louisiana on Thu Jun 14 2007

I own the 5 door SVT and I love it! It has everything an expensive sport sedan has and for a very affordable price. The handling is great, and a 6 speed manual transmission gives plently of power and great gas mileage. My car is fully loaded and the Recaro seats make me fell very secure. There is no shifting around, even when taking turns at 35+mph. I always wondered how I would find something sporty enough for my taste when I began to need a four door vehicle, but this covers the need. Great power, great stereo system, and all the necessary features make this one of my favorite cars ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and comfortable

by Rob from West Harrison, NY on Wed Jun 04 2008

I have the zx5 comfort edition with the 2.3l Mazda 3 engine. It also has leather, sunroof, speedhut guages and manual transmission. I have 80k on it and it starts every time and drives like a bigger car on the highway. Gas mileage is decent but below average for a compact.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2004 Ford Focus

Is it souped yet?
Ford and others are making a furious push into the sport accessories market.

Sport compact "tuner" car culture - a la "The Fast and the Furious" - emerged in the mid-'90s when a generation of new drivers began fixing up their beloved first cars, mostly used Honda Civics, Preludes and Accords. These cars, while exceptionally sound mechanically, were about as sexy as corrective headgear.

Kids wanting to invest these grotty hand-me-downs with some style and performance had to rely on their ingenuity, for the most part. High school auto shop classes became crowded with kids laying up their own fiberglass air dams, welding megaphonic extensions to tailpipes and taking cutting torches... Read More