Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

2009 Ford Mustang

2009 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

57 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Wrap around smile....

by Fast_Auctioneer from Kansas City on Thu Jul 29 2010

I purchased the 2009 Mustang GT knowing a better version was about to be released in 2010. The 4.6 liter V8 mated to the slick shifting 5 spd manual has done nothing short of delivering a smile that would wrap around my entire head (if that were possible). This motor wants to keep pulling and pulling and making a wonderful sound while doing it. This car is comfortable and compliant even on weather-worn Kansas City roads. While it is a solid rear axle car wearing 18 in. wheels and tires, this Mustang does an appreciable job of absorbing the bumps. Road noise is a little higher than one would like, but simply adjust the factory Shaker audio system or drop it down a gear and listen to the sweet music emanating from the dual exhaust system, and you will hardly notice. Interior room and comfort is not bad for a "sports car". Its power adjustable leather seats can be dialed in to fit short and tall drivers alike. Yes, there is a blind spot created by the retro styled rear side window, but the side mirrors are large and offer a great view of objects that are near by. Trunk space is large enough for two over night bags or medium sized luggage. Downside is the interior fit and finish. The "Premier Package" adds a "stitched" leather dash cover and other small upgrades to areas, but the rest is treated to an abundance of textured plastic panels - some with rather sharp edges left from the molds they came from. At this point, I didn't expect to find up-scale German quality, but did expect Ford to try and at least match what the General and Dodge have done in their competing cars. Overall, the combination of retro, throw-back styling, a meaty V8 and all of the glorious sounds it makes, creates a package that cannot be overlooked by those looking for a car like this.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Mustang

by RaeTrumpet from Hampton, VA on Fri Nov 22 2013

I've always wanted a Mustang. just purchased an 09 in cream-puff condition. Great price. A lot of pep with decent gas mileage with this much acceleration, V6. It rides well, Even my wife likes the ride We are 72 and 68. Gorgeous color, dark Candy-apple ride. As they say, "it has eyes."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looks, fun to drive, and I fit well in it!

by paul1966 from Midland, Mi on Fri Mar 11 2011

Being 6'5, and 250# finding a car I fit in is a challenge. Lots of head and leg room. Great car, good feel, and has everything I want. No problems so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gets attention

by Jim from Chardon, oh on Tue Oct 04 2011

Bought a California Special in vapor Silver. I put 20" foose wheels, pypes mufflers and a shelby rear spoiler on it as soon as i got it. This car gets compliments everywhere i go. The ride quality is great for a sports car, even with the 20's on it. I thought about getting the refreshed 2010 body style but have to say, my 09 looks better in many ways...especially the back end. The interior is the only semi-negative point on the car. The newer model is definitely new ford and mine is old ford in that department. All-in-all, i love my mustang.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 2009 GT Mustang is worth every dollar I spent.

by Black Beauty from Colerain, NC on Sun Jun 11 2017

Having owned 4 Mustangs, this one is in a class by itself. I love the way it drives, the mellow sound from the exhausts, music to my ears. To top that, this mustang is a 5 speed manual and 45th anniversary edition. You'd have to drive one to understand what I'm saying.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Sports Car I've Owned!

by StellerMan from Lanham, MD on Tue Jul 10 2018

In my opinion the 2009 Ford Mustang GT is the best sports car when it comes to reliability after owning the BMW M5, the Subaru STI and the SAAB 93 Turbo. It really is "built Ford tough". I've own 3 other sports cars and all 3 of them were constantly in the shop for major and minor repairs. The Mustang GT is relatively comfortable, it's gas milage isn't horrible (18-23mpg) and it is a lot of fun to drive. Plus there are tons of safe and affordable modifications you can make to the car without having to worry about them breaking the bank or diminishing the integrity of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Bang for the Buck

by Danial from Las Vegas on Tue Jul 11 2017

Although not my first Mustang GT, this is my first of the 05-09 S197 body style. EXTERIOR: Absolutely no complaints. Love it. Great retro styling. Mine came with the GT scoop, spoiler, 18" polished aluminum rims, etc. INTERIOR: Lousy glove box and terribly placed cup holders. I like buying a large coffee on the way to work in the morning and the cup placement interferes with my shifting. ENGINE/DRIVE TRAIN: Pretty anemic in the lower RPM bands but it does wake up around 3500 RPM or so. Surprised that Ford hadn't dealt with this by 2009. My earlier GTs had the same issue. Shifter is sloppy but that is to be expected from stock stuff. I will be replacing mine with the Hurst Competition Plus very soon. Same with exhaust - getting rid of the stock exhaust this weekend. It just doesn't have much of a muscle sound. OVERALL: It's not a terribly quick car but it is fun to drive and stylish on the cheap. My vista blue GT gets thumbs-ups from other drivers almost daily.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOTS OF FUN!

by Lisa B from NH on Sat Sep 01 2012

waited and watched for this car a long time. got exactly what I wanted thanks to cars.com! Right color too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Looking Muscle Car

by Carnut from Ocean City, Md. on Sun Aug 04 2013

Bought the Mustang for my wife, and she loves it. I am very pleased with it's performance and finish. It is to be seen if it is as reliable as the Elantra it replaced. I was a bit disappointed that a sporty car like this did not come with some of the items that our "economy car" Elantra had, such as driving/fog lights, and vanity mirror lights, to mention a few. Overall though it is a good looking car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Convertible

by Mustang Enthusiast from Houston, Texas on Mon Jul 02 2012

After several months of looking, I found just the color combination mustang gt convertible. It has low miles and is just like new excpet of $$$$. It is driven primarily on weekends and is great fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2009 Ford Mustang

We haven't reviewed the Mustang since its 2005 redesign, so it was high time to see how this pony car has aged, especially since it will be redesigned again next year. After spending a few hundred miles behind the wheel of a 2009 Mustang GT coupe, some things still impress, but there's clearly room for improvement in other areas.

When the Mustang was redesigned for 2005, it created a sensation in the car world. It was easy to see the car's modern interpretation of classic Mustang design cues on the outside and inside; it took what was great about older Mustangs and brought those elements into the 21st century. Since then, Ford has had free reign in the muscle car realm, but Dodge... Read More