2004 Ranger

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Ranger

$2,991 - $10,875  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Ranger

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Ford Ranger?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Overall a pretty good truck

by Nick from Orange Park, Fl on Sat Dec 29 2007

I have the 2004 Ranger Edge with a 4.0L engine. It has very good pick up and can easily haul everything that ill ever need to haul. Although the gas mileage is not the greatest I would choose to drive this than any of those little toyota trucks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by RiderT from Maryland on Fri Jan 09 2009

Bought my XLT new and have loved it from day one. It has never given me any trouble in the 100k I have put on it. Good pickup and good for a couple or single person. I am selling mine to get something bigger though. I need to carpool when I race and the ranger just doesn't have the seating capacity.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle, would prefer it was 15% larger in si

by don from Holland, Michigan on Sun Apr 27 2008

It's been a good truck. I am looking to sell it and purchase another. Looking for a unit sized more like the Dodge Dakota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Ray from Md on Sun Feb 11 2018

My 2004 Ranger 4x4 XLT currently has 308,000 miles on it and does not waste a drop of fluids, engine runs great and is still strong. I would drive this truck cross country today if I needed to. Purchased it new for 18,000, wish I could afford a new one, sadly all trucks are overpriced today.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ideal for me

by WayneM from Georgetown on Wed Jun 07 2017

This vehicle is exactly what fits my needs. I use it for everything from daily driving to towing my utility trailer and fishing boat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2d Ranger I have owned, perfect size and handeling

by Bobby D from on Fri Feb 22 2013

Never any problems with the RAnger pickups. The quality of the product is very good and the overall expectations of the loads that I carry is perfect for me. the fuel mileage runs from 16 mpg to 24 mpg in the way I use this truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Ranger 2004

by CoffeeGirl from Illinois on Fri Mar 31 2017

This truck is reliable and handy. The manual gets 22-25 mpg combo city and highway driving. I used it for moving, transporting things for work, camping, and generally enjoying having a truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It?s never left me stranded

by boiii from TX on Mon Aug 13 2018

It?s slow. It?s old. It gets horrible gas mileage. You can?t comfortably fit more than two people in it. BUT... it?s done everything I?ve ever needed it to do. It?s never left me stranded on the side of the road. Had some good times in it. Would I recommend it? If you?re a young person or you are unable to afford a fancy new truck, it will certainly get the job done.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT LITTLE PICKUP

by DICKS RIDE from DATONA,FL on Sun Mar 04 2018

THIS TRUCK HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN . IT CONTINUES TO DRIVE LIKE NEW EVEN WITH A LOT OF MILES ON IT. I WILL MISS IT ALOT

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable Vehicle

by markallenwilliams from Albuquerque on Sun Jun 04 2017

This 2004 Ford Ranger has been very reliable and dependable since I've owned it. Great on gas being a 4 cylinder truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3