2009 Ranger

Consumer Reviews

2009 Ford Ranger

$4,371 - $18,243  MSRP Range
2009 Ford Ranger

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

16 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2009 Ford Ranger?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Hard Working Truck

by Ford Guy from B.C Canada on November 24, 2009

I got my 2009 Ranger sport 4x4 about 7 months ago. I have had alot of fun with it and I can say that for it's size, its the hardest working truck on the market. I have had many off road adventures and camping trips in it aswell as long free way trips. It gets about 27 mpg on the free way. I live in Canada and this truck is right at home in the snow and -30 winters. Put it in 4low and I can crawl up anything. I am very happy with my Ranger and I'll buy another after I run this one into the ground.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned

by Fordman from Rochester NY on November 16, 2008

This car has been a great work truck?off-road truck. We have hauled up to 4,000 pounds of scrap steel

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

TERRIFIC LITTLE TRUCK

by RANGERFAN from Cape Cod, MA on October 3, 2012

I purchased a new 09 regular cab, I4, stick shift Ranger XLT for its compact size and efficiency. I had a 97 before this one. Unlike the tacoma uncomfortable bench seat, it has split seats with adjustable backs which are very comfortable. Yes, the rear suspension is a bit stiff and can hop but otherwise it drives very well. Consistently get 28 to 30 MPG, and it has plenty of power for my modest truck needs(dump runs, etc.). Love the truck! Will Ford replace it? If so, I hope they can resist making it bigger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tough all over and easy on the wallet

by ilovethe09fordranger from on July 27, 2013

Cant say enough good things about this truck. It's super rugged , from the interior , engine , exterior. Powers thru anything , gas with a stick shift 2.3 engine I'm getting 28-30 MPG. Best part is no bells and whistles , (less stuff to worry about getting stolen or breaking.) Best work, off roading and commuting truck , EVER!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Truck

by hrvarner from South Bend, IN on April 11, 2011

I bought this 09 truck in Feb 2011 with 4865 miles on it. My last truck was a 99 Ranger. The 99 was a beautiful red truck in perfect condition with no problems. Very reliable until a GEICO customer ran a red light and totaled it. This is the second Ranger XLT Sport Supercab I have owned. They are great trucks. They aren't quite as comfortable as the BIG trucks, but with this 4 cylinder engine I get 21 mpg and can tow 5500 lbs, which is plenty for the average guy. The suspension is tough enough that the ride is a little rough on bad roads. The ride is good enough that I have driven from South Bend, IN to Norman, OK a couple of times without stopping overnight. The sound system is good. I recommend the sliding rear window and the pop out side rear windows. That will give you good ventilation for the warm days without the AC on, but on the hot days, the AC is cold. With the remote entry, the styling of this truck, the size and the economy of the four cylinder engine, I really enjoy driving this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Systematic Problem

by Pastor Bob from Twin Lake, Michigan on August 21, 2014

It appears that every Ford Ranger we drove has a squeak in the doors when the driver or passenger windows are down. Other than that it has been a good truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

wish they still made them

by collinsj61 from somerset,pa. 15501 on April 28, 2017

this is my 3rd ranger. i love it. i will buy another one. it get's great gas milage. has all the options i want. the F-150 was larger than i wanted. the previous owner wishes he would have kept it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Quick, beefy, fuel efficient

by Bryce from Oxnard, CA on April 26, 2017

Very reliable, quick, fuel efficient, perfect for throwing my surfboard in the back, camping gear, and hauling whatever else. Only negative is the crammed back seats, and stiff suspension.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ford Ranger pick up is a reliable in the winter .

by tamander7 from Elmora, PA on June 1, 2017

This model is average it has its faults too as any other but is reliable, we had problems with the fuel filter also always replacing it & some other issues, But really liked the model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good little truck

by Mouse4u2 from Kings MTN NC on December 9, 2017

Good little truck for the price. It was well maintained by the previous owners . Drives and handles well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2